Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Jane Eason
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Bravo!
Sept. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks, Larry. I'll give it to you in Tunica.
Sept. 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Larry, can you guide me to a write up on 4-suit xfers after a 2NT rebid? The only article I found requires Office, which I don't have.
Sept. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm curious about the result at the other table.

I don't believe I could determine what the result would have been with N-S having the correct info.

I would toss the result and give the offending side a penalty. One IMP seems okay to me.
Sept. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Bill, can you have a split score in a team game?
Sept. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why, Richard?
Aug. 26
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Playing 14-16 no trumps, I pass.

Playing 15-17, I bid with two aces. I like the shape of this hand, too. I bid Stayman and a heart game with a fit. With no fit, I invite no trump.
Aug. 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks, Tom and Ed. I have further questions, but have run out of time.
Aug. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
A separate problem for me is that I don't understand a director saying that a player was slumbering during the auction. Was she privy to info we don't have?
Aug. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ed, I understand what you are saying, but I can't get it out of my head that the non-offending side was damaged here. :)
Aug. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Kit, you may be right that East is in a no-lose situation, but if he is, the opponent who misinformed put him there. And the director who didn't change the score to 4Sx, left him there. And that is different from being there by choice.

As east, if I had said that I would have doubled 4S, given the correct info, I would have assumed the director would rule that the contract either stood un-doubled, or that she would have changed the contract to 4Sx. And further, if 4Sx made, I would get -590 or -790. So, it wouldn't occur to me that I might be in a break-even-or-gain position.

Besides, whether or not I had thought I would set 4S, with lho having six trumps, I would be way more confident with spades on my right.

It's possible E-W has a game or even a slam and that west or north-south would actually pull east's double to five of a minor. We really don't know west's had or what he might do. East has said that he would double if N-S pulled to 5C, but I doubt the opponents would be allowed to pull to 5C in light of the UI in this case.

As far as I can tell, the director will have no idea what the other three players would have done until after the hand has been played.

I liked the days when rulings seemed simpler. I think the director would have ruled that the contract was 4Sx, based on east's statement, or the result would be A+/A- if the director thought there was no way to determine the outcome.
Aug. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Kit, I would rather double 4S when North has spades than when South has them. And I think North is more likely 5-5 than 6-5 since South probably has five clubs on the auction and I have three.

Another advantage is that I am on lead to choose whichever defense I think is right-the pump or going for partner ruffing with his stiff trump and getting a possible heart ruff myself.
Aug. 15
Jane Eason edited this comment Aug. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Dan,

I would say it is easier to double 4S when rho has a black hand than when lho has a black hand.

On the un-alerted auction, South has six spades.

If the auction is alerted and explained and they end in 4S, North has only 5 spades…easier to pump–easier to take a couple of spade tricks.

North must be 5-5. He can't be 6-5 on this auction when South has a mixed raise, unless they raise on a balanced hand with four clubs because East is looking at three clubs.
Aug. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't understand this ruling.

I know my post is long, but this type ruling has bothered me before, so I really want to express all my thoughts and see what some of you think about them.

Brian said that as East, had he been given the correct information, he would have doubled 4S, and he would have doubled 5C, had they run. And he said that before the play.

And who wouldn't double 5C, with four quick tricks, plus, when everyone holding his cards would make the same bid? We may only have a one-trick set, but I can't really imagine the contract making.

If I were East, and if I knew South did not have long spades, I would not worry that I would fail to get a spade trick. And I would think that at least a couple of my red cards would cash or that I might even pump declarer and cause him to lose control because they are probably in a 5-3 fit.

From the East seat, on the actual auction, with no alert, I picture South with a totally black hand, probably 6-5, but he could actually be 6-6.

I don't know the vulnerability, so I am not going to try to figure out why partner is not in this auction. Nor would I try to bid his hand because I have a good partner. Clearly he has no hcpts, but it surely sounds like he is all red. The auction sounds fishy, but I have no idea what makes it smell.

On defense of 4S, I would expect to get a spade trick, but that is not 100%. My club trick is definite.

So, I need another two tricks for a one-trick set. What other known tricks do I have if lho has at most two red cards and I can't pump him but twice?

I expect declarer to take an easy five spade tricks and an easy four club tricks. He may have six spades and four clubs, for an easy ten tricks. And since when must we double for a 1-trick set if our double might help declarer place cards and make a contract that would fail undoubled?

I really don't get that a player's statements shouldn't be self-serving. Is this term in the law book? Whom should they serve?

Every player who calls the director is trying to serve or protect his own side, isn't he?

And why should a pair that fails to alert their agreements be allowed to escape Scot free, while the opponent they confused is required to guess to take the same action without the correct info that he obviously would have taken with the correct info?
Aug. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't remember where I got my hints, but you may be able to use some of them.

When balancing over an opening one-level suit bid, doubling actions require a king less than in the immediate seat (doubling and passing or doubling and raising), so second seat needs a king more for responding actions such as jumps in a suit, no trump responses and q-bids.

Balancing no trump ranges are wider over one spade than over one club, and most play their one no trump systems on over their balancing one no trump bids.

Jump over calls now show good six-card suits and a strong minimum hand. Two no trump now shows an opening two no trump and systems should be on.

When both opponents have bid, I think it's important to balance when they have a fit, but to leave them be when the bidding suggests misfit.

I'm sure ACBL has a lesson on balancing that you can print and take hints from.

After a bid and raise, if you push them to the three level, don't save them by competing further. Remember, they did not want to play there.
Aug. 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you feel you no longer have a bid, I think your partner has barred you.
Aug. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Several people here think a non-expert has no right to bid with the east hand, but that an expert does have the right.

At our club, I can think of nobody who would sell out with that hand. And since I'm playing Saturday, I'll poll some of our non-experts to see if that's the case (without the huddle because they may think they are barred from bidding after their partner huddles).

I hope some of you will do the same. I'll only be polling folks in an open, stratified game.
Aug. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Michael, I'm with you. East's call is clear cut to me, so if my partner did call the director, I would have to side with East. And in this situation, I would advise partner of that fact.

Whether or not he called after that exchange, I wouldn't play with him again.
Aug. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Amy, only a few mentioned that they would be not mind such a ruling. In my opinion, any director who ruled the call was not allowed should take bridge lessons.
Aug. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
3D is logical. Other calls are not.

When dealt a take-out double, partner's first job is to get us into the auction. His second job is to show his range by passing with a minimum or bidding with extra values And once he shows a minimum, my job is to compete for our side.
Aug. 11
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11
.

Bottom Home Top