Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Jane Eason
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When I learned LTC, British players used it and ACOL books explained it. Americans did not use it

I should have qualified my original statement. When using the LTC to decide whether the five level is safe or whether slam is a good bet, I am speaking of hands where partner has shown an opener. I forget that some of you don't actually use the system. And I might add that you don't give up using point-count bidding to use the LTC. These tools, and the rule of 20, work together.
Oct. 5, 2015
Jane Eason edited this comment Oct. 5, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm no expert, but I use the LTC for double checking light opening bids and all levels of suit contracts. And you don't need to do all the math of adding and subtracting. With a fit and 8 losers, I am confident in inviting game. With 7 losers opposite an opening bid, I want to be in game. Six losers means the 5-level is probably safe if you want to investigate for slam and 5 losers means slam is a good bet. I love the LTC and have used the basics since the early seventies. (It does not work for NT contracts.)
Oct. 5, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Looking at both hands, I feel sure that most of us want to be in 6NT. And that is how I answered the question posed here.

However, since many players would reign in with North's shape, I don't believe that failure to reach a slam is weird. And it is easy to construct lots of balanced 17 hcpt South hands with no play for six.

It's good that we are keep aware that cheaters exist and it's good that our organizations are willing to address the problem. But if that fact makes us overly suspicious to the point that we suspect players who evaluate a hand a bit differently from our own evaluation, the game will suffer. And the former attitude of our organizations is somewhat justified.

In another post related to this hand, most posters think that missing slam on this deal is absolute proof of cheating, incompetence, or a lucky accident. Any other point of view means you are hopelessly naif.
Oct. 5, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
With this 17 hcpt hand, KQx AQx xxx AQxx, how many of us want to be in slam if the CK is offsides? And this one? KJx AQx xxxx AKx And I'm sure we could construct some that have no play for 4NT, should North invite with his square hand.
Oct. 5, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Failure to reach slam on this deal is not evidence of cheating.

Not all Norths would invite with a square 16.

If I were South and partner bid only 3NT, I would worry when dummy hit, because looking at both hands, I'd slightly prefer being in slam. And I'd surely hope that whoever was playing my cards was in the same contract as I on this deal, if 6 were cold.

But while playing the hand, I'd pray the CQ was not doubleton or singleton, the SQ was on my left with length, and that West wasn't 5-5 in the pointed suits. (And for anything else that you might see that I don't see here.)
Oct. 5, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Dave, did you mean to say that North was the responder? The hand at the top of the page says North was the opener.

If North wast the responder, fewer pairs would reach slam than if North was dealer.

I can certainly understand how some pairs would fail to reach slam because North would not always accept an invite with a square 16. And he would not necessarily invite with that square hand, either.
Oct. 5, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What was partner's hand?
Oct. 4, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Good bidding, Larry!

I assume my 4NT is checking to see if pd's control, (if that is all he has), is an ace. And after his 5C shows his control to be a king, I chose 5H, forcing pd to bid 5NT. Then over pd's 5NT, I would bid 6C and assume that to be suits up the line. Anyway, we would also land in 6C unless pd converted, and I can't see him doing that with the hand you gave here.
Oct. 4, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2C bidder is also declarer in 6C, so any tenaces are protected.
Oct. 4, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Who wants to avoid a NT slam with 33 hcpts, all the aces and kings, and all sorts of chances to make?
Oct. 4, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
lol
Oct. 4, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Uhoh. Can I delete this problem since it's a duplicate?
Oct. 3, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I like the 4D bids, but I thought 4D promised AKQxxx or better. Is the modern treatment a 1-loser suit?
Sept. 22, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks, all! Lots of great info here.
Sept. 19, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I miss the days when we had time to play, get the scores, eat a good meal and relax a between sessions. Our main pairs events are now run at 10:00 AM and 2:30 PM, with the tourney furnishing a cold sandwich to eat in the playing area.
Sept. 17, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks to all of you for your input. I'll get partner to read this thread and then we'll discuss all of your methods.
Sept. 17, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Good question, Bob. And great for another post. I'm not sure what I would do with that hand. I can't raise with only three cards in the 4th suit, and I can't bid NT without a stopper. I haven't heard of bidding 2S, so that bid wouldn't occur to me. I think I'd bid 2D, which seems to be the smallest lie, but what I know of the hand may be influencing my decision.
Sept. 14, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I do play that 1S shows five here, so I passed. Had partner not been a passed hand, I would have chosen 1NT, but either call can get us in trouble.
Sept. 7, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Larry, to which question are you answering no?
Sept. 7, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My husband (Bill Eason) taught me the LTC in the early 70's. I believe it came from England. He and partners from college days at GA Tech used it. And that would have been in the late 60's.
Sept. 7, 2015
.

Bottom Home Top