Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Jeff Roman
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2d isn’t what I would do, but South’s pass over 2h is incomprehensible (as is East’s pass over 1d).
April 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Any time you splinter with a singleton honor you run the risk of partner misevaluating his hand (generally because your honor fills in his suit). In my own experience, I don’t mind splintering with stiff aces, for sometimes that gets cleared up with RKC if it matters…it’s stiff K’s that I have had bad results with, so I tend not to splinter with them.
April 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Without getting into issues of methods (which isn’t what the op asked about) for me this is simple: 4d told N “we’re off 2 black aces”.
April 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks, Chris.
April 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks, Michael. I have to say, I am less certain that we got the right ruling now than I was right after we got it. I am still extremely comfortable that my pass of 6d was the obvious thing for me to do, but the factor I didn’t fully absorb was this business about my 3s bid. I wrote on this thread that if I had alerted 2h and then jumped to 3s that I felt certain that H would’ve figured out what was happening, but when I asked him, he said that while if we were behind screens he would’ve 100% gotten it, in the scenario I described (alert 2h and then jump to 3s), he wasn’t sure. Easy after the fact, but he said he just wasn’t sure what he would’ve ultimately decided I was doing (anybody who has played with knows that one of my “things” is I simply don’t make stuff up thinking “well, he’s just GOTTA know what I have”…because I’ve learned that they never do.) Therefore, I’m not sure where we would’ve ended up. I want to echo something Huub said in here…and that is to apologize to our opps that this happened. We certainly weren’t trying to get away with anything.

Melanie, I’ve reached out to a few of the most respected committee minds in bridge, and I will report here what they say when they weigh in.
April 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Wayne and Mike…no, we weren’t behind screens, and honestly, I don’t remember if Huub alerted 3s or not. I THINK he didn’t, but for sure no one asked any questions. I hear what you guys are saying…I really do…but here’s my bottom line take on this. If I HAD alerted 2h (perhaps intending to say along the lines of “we used to play Kokish, but…” and then jumped to 3s…Huub would’ve worked it out because there is no such thing as bidding 3s.
April 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Wayne, if we were behind screens and the tray came back revealing my 3s bid, I would say the odds of Huub both remembering that we don’t play Kokish AND playing me to have a splinter raise of hearts to be somewhere between 100% and absolute certainty.
April 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“…those who say that North is allowed to “wake up” to his own error when South bids 3s are quite wrong.” David, that is absolutely not my understanding. In fact, the single most likely factor in a partnership being allowed to survive one of these misadventures is that things are rolling merrily along (but each partner is on a different page) and one of them makes a bid which simply doesn’t exist in the conversation the other one thinks they’re having. If the BRIDGE of it (as opposed to alerts, non-alerts, or tempo) clears a players mind, that’s allowable, and it’s exactly my take on what happened with Huub and me on this hand (the 3s bid for him, the 6d bid for me).
April 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“As usual, the idea is to look for reasons not to do what the UI tells you to do…” This is exactly right. My pass of 6d took quite a while, as I searched for any justification for bidding 6h. Sartaj suggests that had Huub alerted 3s and bid in tempo that I would always correct to 6h. No…in that scenario, I would pass 6d more quickly.
April 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sartaj, in the parallel universe where Huub alerts 3s and makes all of his bids in tempo, I guarantee you THAT me would also pass 6d.
April 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No screens, and if 2h was Kokish, I wouldn’t bid 3s no matter what my hand was.
April 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No bids were alerted, no questions were asked.
April 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You’re right. I misspoke. I noticed, but I had nothing to think about at any point prior to the jump to 6d. My 2d, 3s, 4d and 4nt bids were all completely automatic. All I can say is that passing 6d had nothing to do with tempo or bids alerted or not alerted. The bid simply doesn’t exist, end of story.
April 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No screens.
April 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Matthew, not at all! I’m always willing for my actions to be scrutinized, and I certainly take no offense.
April 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Michael, he thought it was Kokish.

Mike, Kokish not on the card matters because in undocumented situs, we lean heavily towards misexplained rather than misbid. As for the rest, all I can tell you is that some of these you survive, and some you don’t. They open 1nt and you overcall 2h (h+m). Unpassed partner alerts, says both majors, jumps in spades and gets x’d. You look down and find a dbleton spade…well, you’re just done. To bid would be egregious, so you take your lumps. In our hand it was neither tempo nor alerting nor not alerting that “woke us up”, and THAT we get to do.
April 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As I explained, we open 2d with gf hands with any 2 5-cd or longer suits, and this 6d bid simply doesn’t exist in this auction.
March 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“Despite the lack of detail…” (or really any idea at all what I’m talking about…) I’ll just post this ignorant rant. Very nicely done, David.
March 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No. I never ever said that 6d was an offer to play.
March 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There’s also the part about how neither card says Kokish, but they do say Spiral Scan.
March 31
.

Bottom Home Top