Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Jeff Roman
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This one seems pretty clearcut to me…if N said “5-7 any” (prompted or gratuitously), then 3nt ends the auction. If no mention of the meaning of x until after the auction, result stands. The problem with Kit’s proposed poll is that S’s knowledge or lack of knowledge about his x is irrelevant once N describes his understanding and jumps to 3nt. Now it’s “opposite 5-7, I wanna declare 3nt”. A side issue in this particular case…I take a VERY dim view of not knowing what our bids mean in routine situations in 1st rounds of auctions. You simply can’t agree to play Precision and not know what it means when we x after they overcall. What!? They overcalled?! Inconceivable!!
June 14, 2018
Jeff Roman edited this comment June 14, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ed, not only would I pass 100% of the time in such a situation, I personally believe that such bids get rolled back by definition. An invitation was issued and partner declined it. You’re done, end of story. So you understand the depth of my feelings in this matter, in this particular case the issue is UI from the failure to alert 3c. Suppose instead partner alerted 3c, got asked, and said “well, it’s a mixed raise of spades. I’m gonna sign off, but if he has club values, I’d like him to bid game”. In my view of bridge, bidding 4s there and bidding 4s after partner fails to alert 3c are exactly the same.
June 13, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I’m with Kit on this one. There isn’t a competent director in the game that wouldn’t roll 4s back to 3 should it happen to make.
June 12, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This business of “if there had been screens”…if there had been screens, it would never have crossed your mind to bid 4s. Doing so here would be egregious.
June 12, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks!
June 12, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Jeff, you just brought the story back to me! The last hand, shortly before his death, he’s defending 6s with 10x of trumps. Dummy, to his right, has AJ, and declarer has K-7th. Declarer leads to the A of spades, calls for the J, and our hero plays the 10. Declarer squirms in his seat, knowing full well that Grosvenor might do this with Q10x, and positively ITCHING to cram one of these…well, to turn the tables on him. He convinces himself to play low, and goes down in a cooler. The yelling starts, the declaring partnership dissolves forever, and 3 days later our hero is dead. :)
June 11, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hugh Grosvenor was my regular partner while he lived in the States (really miss you, brother) and he gets asked ALL THE TIME if he’s THAT Grosvenor. lol For the record, he’s not. The source of the Grosvenor Gambit is a fictional BW article from the ‘70s.
June 10, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would call those people intermediates, not beginners.
April 28, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
These are completely valid questions, and there are many factors at play. All I can say is…you just know. For myself, there have been plenty of times where my opponents were plainly cheating and I very cheerfully said nothing at all. These would be the aforementioned people where you’d be happy for them to swap their hands back and forth and then play them for money. Then there have been times where I took one or both of them aside after the game, laid out the hand, and tried to gently educate. It just…depends.
April 28, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This thread, and some of the answers in this thread are just…wow. Explain UI to beginners? People who may or may not benefit from being allowed to swap their hand back and forth with partner before the bidding starts? Some of you need to think back to when you were beginners. The first thing that bridge is, is a social grace. UI comes much later.
April 28, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ed, this is exactly the point I was trying to make in my post above. I wouldn’t say you should feel filthy at all! The ACBL says cuebids are self-alerting, end of story. For myself (and Linda, and I’m sure others) the feeling is that sometimes the Alert (and Announce) procedure is wrong (inadequate?) so we alert, thinking that full disclosure is the Law Of The Land. As far as I’m concerned, you’re following the rules of our game, so there’s nothing for you to feel bad about.
April 27, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I’ve always disagreed with this ACBL rule. In times where I have played that cuebid to show a 2-suiter other than both M, we alert it. If I’m playing that a 1c opening bid might be 3352, before we take our cards out for the first hand, even in a 2-bd matchpoints round, we tell them “1c could be short, and could be 3352”, because just saying “could be short” seems seriously inadequate (and we can’t alert, because then they get to assume it’s strong).
April 27, 2018
Jeff Roman edited this comment April 27, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When I called him Mr. Walvick, he said “you can call him (thumbs over to other side of the table) Mr. Lapides…I’m Walt.”

Kathie, you and the family are in my thoughts. <BIG hug>
March 6, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I didn’t read the entire thread, so I apologize if this has been covered, but “kind of a support x and/or showing extras” is unplayable (support x can be made with a minimum). S should’ve bid 2nt over 2s “kind of” no matter what their bids to this point meant.
Jan. 28, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My partner held 0-0-6-7 at all red and when his rho opened 2c, he overcalled 4nt. Like the awful partner I am, I held 5-7-1-0. When we went back to our teammates, they said “if you went for 2300, it's a push.” :)
Sept. 15, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Seriously, Tom? You can't recall ever passing over an opening bid and then doubling 1 (3?) nt for penalties? It's not like this is THAT rare. My last one was not that long ago (but not Toronto) with Leo Bell, and also involved the diamond suit. They decided to try our K109xx (Leo) opposite stiff Q (me) of clubs suit instead (not that they had any good options).
Aug. 6, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I guess what made my head explode on this one was my belief that double shows a trap of 1d, as opposed to the 3rd (1 for each of us so far) chance we get to make a takeout x of 1d. At the end of the day, this hand isn't an excellent example, because the pollees overwhelmingly passed. But it got me to thinking…what about the same hand with one less diamond and one more spade? It wouldn't change my feeling one bit, but there's some chance that the “peers” who didn't pick up on on the trap of 1d problem would nearly routinely double.
Aug. 5, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In this situ, I would say that if anybody passed, then this player must. I'm not saying that would be my view in all cases, but here? What I really wanted to do was slip this person a deal where the auction goes the same, but they have a weak nt with AQ109x of diamonds. Then when they balance with dbl…ahHA!! GOTCHA!!
Aug. 5, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I was going to get to this, Dave, but since you got the ball rolling…to me, this double was ch…egregious. A flagrant use of UI. The thing is, all that happened was polling. Yes, the polling went my way. Yes, I filed a Recorder form. But in my head I was screaming “polling? POLLING?? How about a 1/2 board procedural penalty…and then The Rack?”
Aug. 5, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Suppose literally every player would double because matchpoints is about “frequency of gain” rather than “amount of gain” and they literally unanimously judge dbl to be a 53% action. For this particular player, however, it's a 100% action. Yes, that seems wrong to me.
Aug. 5, 2017
Jeff Roman edited this comment Aug. 5, 2017
.

Bottom Home Top