Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Jim Fox
1 2 3 4 ... 48 49 50 51
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Turns out (according to the Bulletin recounting of the appeal) that the question of interest was the tendency of the responder (of 1H) to raise with 4.

That inquiry seems a little off-target if opener can have the same point count (10 with singleton K) and open 1H with 6. Seems roughly equivalent to respond to 5 card suit with 4 or respond to 6 card suit with 3.
May 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm starting to wonder if “so many people got sick” at all Nationals now. At Orlando, I could not believe the amount of coughing toward the end of the tournament.

Could it have something to do with average age and/or general health of players?
May 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Steve, WADR, not sure why you are responding (stating what is already known). I was just bolstering the opinion that the point of the hand is whether 5-card or 6-card heart suit.

The question would be whether or not it would be “standard” for the East/West partnership to open West's hand 1H or 2H (or multi if they are playing that).
May 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As a point of interest, it is my understanding that at the table where 3N went down, a director ruling rolled the down 1 to 3N making. Then that ruling was overturned by an appeals committee.

If that is the case (and I sincerely apologize if something about that is wrong), I am guessing that the point of contention had to do with disclosure of E/W tendencies in bidding Weak 2's (or multis).
May 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ah….. When the schedule says “no score comparison”, I guess I took it too literally. :)

So, theoretically, the pairs in the open room could know the score of the 8th match before completing the 9th?
May 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Last time I saw his Lehman rating on his site, it was not too great. But that was over 10 years ago.
May 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So what, it was obvious that Matt Clegg was not a bridge player either, and that did not stop him. :)

However, I do believe that led to some of the failings of his original founding/ownership of the site.
May 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Holmes, how do you account for the “abomination” of all the businesses and people who bought/buy and effectively used/use “MS Windows”? They were all just “abominably stupid”?
May 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Guess it may depend on how long ago “a number of years back” is. :)
May 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
All,

notwithstanding JM's apparently false statement, how many millions does the group feel that Gates and Buffett should donate for a “recreational” activity considering all the known serious problems afflicting the world.
May 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The 680 result makes this make a Lot more sense than 620 did. :)
May 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How can anybody judge what a result SHOULD be without all four hands?
May 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
OK, could it have been, “OK, I am playing X for the Club ace; down 1 if wrong” (before cashing last diamond).
May 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
David, you would still make them pitch would you not.

Probably, the Vugraph was incomplete :)
May 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
On board 22, at the table I watched, the Vugraph said that the 3-suit squeeze position was reached and declarer accepted down 1 BEFORE the pitch.

Does anybody know what really happened?
May 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Oh, Gene, I think, Kit can (and probably would like to) speak for himself with no need for your rephrasing. :)
May 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How can you know whether or not 6H or 6S should make without knowing other hands?

Key word is should. :)
April 28
Jim Fox edited this comment April 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Can we get all 4 hands?
April 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Robert, re-posted for no particular reason:

A bridge-playing chicken could not decide whether hen wanted to play in the open pairs or the womens pairs.

Hen could not decide whether hen was a hen or whether hen was a rooster.
April 27
1 2 3 4 ... 48 49 50 51
.

Bottom Home Top