Join Bridge Winners
All comments by João Faria
1 2 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Pass can be right of c. This is a typical situation where I admit that on different days I may bid different. All depends on the risk/reward you want to bet on. Clearly pass offers a better reward but also I think a bigger risk. Bidding 2C may find the hand you quoted but on the whole I expect a smaller variance in the final result. Thanks for sharing
Dec. 9, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If 2C goes for a number I'll
kindly explain partner when to double auctions 1M p 1Nt
Dec. 8, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Clear cut as a diamond, as usual.
Aug. 6, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This must have some meaning that I'm missing…
Aug. 6, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
With my reg partner, after 2, 2 shows a very strong support either in or in , conventional sequences follow. The idea can´t be that bad, since it's coming from Meckwell. Me and my p worked on it :) I explain bellow what happened in real life
Oct. 15, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm trying to present a blend between what happened and how I would bid with my reg partner. With my reg partner I would really colect less info. Playing with a casual partner I got 2nt after opening 1. could bid some but tried to know about bidding 3. After 3 followed k card asking and got what I told. There is an extra chance if partner has Q…
Oct. 15, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ok. End of story. I doubled on the idea I never made a more clear lightner double. I had the A and an obvious, I thought, void… Leading the K resulted in 6 x +1 :(
Sept. 17, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
To tell the truth I thought this was a really non-problem, problem :)
By the split of the answers I'm not so sure now…
Sept. 16, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Lead was really crucial to defeat the slam …
Sept. 16, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Congrats for a great show and a fantastic result!
Still wondering about the thrilling last board.
There must be a diference between Bilde direct double of 3 and the OR pass.
Duboin decided not to “take risks” and bid a “safe” 4
Going for the kill in a part score doubled contract has anything to do with score after third session, or was it a sound decision to be taken in a even score?
Aug. 3, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What's wrong with 1 bid?
May 29, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Just to close this nice help I got from all of you.
I really get excited when there is some slam inv in a suit where I have AKQxx
In this case it could be only game inv
But if it was slam inv, I was almost sure the grand should be a nice bet.
So… against the agreement I had with my partner I decided to cue on my void
Being a passed hand I knew partner could not expect more than I had.
After several talks about the hand I think 4 is some nice alt, as cueing on a short showed by partner may be this kind of hand.
cue was, in this case, a winner:
J9xx AKQx A AKxx was my partner hand.
We both broke the rules.
He bid a short on a big honour, I cued in his suit with a void.
Any comments welcome
I think we both did the right thing :)
April 26, 2017
João Faria edited this comment April 26, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
4 is surely an “educated” rejoinder :)
I think that 4 shows:
In case of mini I want to be in game, no cue available
April 25, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The “decision” is precisely my problem. With xxx and stiff ace in the majors what would you bid after 3 ?
April 3, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I like the idea but…
April 3, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Does 2 promises a real suit?
It's possible that 3nt is the right game to play, I would go slow and start with a cue to find out the best game to play
March 15, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hi Boye,
“Going forward I think the burden of proof - like with doping - should be on the players' side”
After reading this period for a couple times I still cannot understand the meaning of it. In doping cases, the burden of the proof belongs to the athletes???
I firmly believe in the principle, in bridge like in court decisions of innocent till proved guilty.
Believing that it's better to free a criminal than to punish an innocent.
For me it keeps being a mistery to find out someone cheats when he is an opponent and “forget ” to discover it when he plays on my team.
There is a decision took by the competent organ.
Let's live with it
March 12, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree that 4 is really too big. As it happened, in a jr training match, there was a plus in one room for EW when W decided to pass with the red suits. In the other room EW ended up in 6D -2. Unfortunately 4H is also down opener getting just the stiff ace. Wrong or right is double totally out of question? How happy would W feel if E passes double? Also if E bids 3nt, would 4D now, from W be forcing? Weaker or stronger than a direct 4D? Thx for your view.
Feb. 14, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
4D is leading for the moment. But…. does 4D really show a new suit?
What if W feels too strong to bid an immediate 4H, possibly without a S control?
As I think that 4D is clearly a GF bid, I wonder if there is a possibility to show the power trick of the hand without creating some “out of control” situation.
More to follow
Feb. 13, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As my partner refered to me, it's time to discuss the diference between a direct 3 H and double followed by 3H. We came to some agreement that double followed by 3H, together with the initial pass, shows a “monster” with a 1 suit H hand. It's great to be in tune with your partner when it comes to intricate charades like this one. :)
Oct. 12, 2016
1 2 3
.

Bottom Home Top