Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Joe Stokes
1 2 3 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes, declarer had a rare blindspot (hard playing 4-handed in this event). Also, in addition to the false count 9 from West, East led the queen of spades from KQ, playing standard honor leads. Not that it mattered: unlikely to have led Q from Qx(x..). Thanks, Oren; a great report on an interesting round, and congrats on a good finish.
Dec. 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
At the risk of being petty, looks like you are asking about responder’s double. Advancer has yet to bid.
Nov. 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
A few precautions minimize the risk, especially when each table is in a separate room (typical in later stages of USBF and major ACBL team events): kibitzers must be at the table at the start of the session and if they leave, they may not return; players leaving the table during a session are accompanied by either an opponent or a director (insert juveniles jokes here); and, of course, the VuG computer screen is not visible to players or kibitzers (privacy screens help).
Nov. 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If takeout=responsive, this poll may be (close to) unanimous. I can't imagine not playing this double as responsive.
Oct. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
maybe “showing spades and any other suit…” would help clarify
Sept. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Good information, nice tone. Thanks. Good luck.
Aug. 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I missed this the first time; thanks Ron and Ai-Tai. Very well done piece and great publicity for the game.
Aug. 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Congratulations, Matt. Well deserved. I'll echo Steve's comment that Matt's the best at restoring calm rationality in a potentially-explosive situation.
Aug. 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think that is correct in ACBL events, unless I am out of date (nah, couldn't happen). One cannot bar kibitzers from his/her table, but each player may bar one specific kibitzer without cause. (Probably are some interesting stories that led to that rule.)
July 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks, Oren. Fun to see these hands again. Great writing as usual. GL to you all in Toronto.
July 17
Joe Stokes edited this comment July 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I was suggesting that 2 followed by 2 can show 5 hearts (or 6 weak) in an unbalanced or semi-balanced hand, with 2 followed ny 2NT showing 5-3-3-2 invitational. Sorry I wasn't clearer.
July 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
another option is for the slower route to 2NT to promise 5 in responder's major; with only 4, bid 2NT over 1NT (assuming that is not the way to get out in 3).
July 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
And now the article has a correction: (July 11, 4:10 p.m.): An earlier version of this article incorrectly said that artificial intelligence was better at bridge than the best human players of the game. That reference has been removed; the best humans are still better than the best bots at that game.
July 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
And congrats also to a fine group of young players who led for much of the final session and finished a close third: Di Franco and Manno (in their 20s); Palma, Poon, and Loo (30s); and Goldberg (who looks young herself but is probably a bit older). I'm sure they were disappointed with the finish but hope they recognize their significant, impressive accomplishment.
Dec. 5, 2016
Joe Stokes edited this comment Dec. 5, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Does Sabine have any Ron Andersen stories? I'm sure she has hundreds. How many she can tell here is a different question :-).
Oct. 4, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
where is the “dislike” button when you need it?
Sept. 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I was wondering whether there was any history of suspensions or bans. They have been around a while, having won the World Mixed in 1998; he played at a high level on open teams in the 1970s as well.
Sept. 1, 2016
Joe Stokes edited this comment Sept. 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I stand corrected A more careful reader than I found that in 2010 in Philadephia, when the Youth World Championships were held alongside the Rosenblum, in at least one place the WBF referred to the Rona Cup as the “young ladies” teams. (I still think that was an anomaly.)
Aug. 10, 2016
Joe Stokes edited this comment Aug. 10, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I dont think they were called “young ladies” by the WBF, who has always used “girls,” as far as I know. When the USBF mentioned the teams, we may have called them by the unofficial “young women.”
Aug. 10, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The championships in the even-numbered years (like this one going now) are the premiere events in the youth calendar: World Youth Team Championships. The Youth events in odd-numbered years typically do not draw as many teams. Budgets are limited.
Aug. 10, 2016
1 2 3 4
.

Bottom Home Top