Join Bridge Winners
All comments by John Portwood
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Or Helen Sobel http://www.kantarbridge.com/humor_stories2.htm (near the bottom)(sorry for the pun)
Sept. 16, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would have opened 5 as I have seen better major-suit holdings.

As for the 4NT response - I think that 5 is the best policy - the void may be worthless and could force a 6 contract off two cashable honours.

(Who knows, partner may have been after a GS)
Sept. 14, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Easy for me : in the UK you ‘announce’ your 1NT bids - ours is “12-15 could include a singleton”. I gather there is no announcing process in the ACBL?
Sept. 14, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
'Skid' Simon complained about this back in the 1940s.

It is perfectly ethical to take advantage of opponent's hesitations - but it is not ethical to randomise your hesitations to prevent declarer spotting the important ones.

All you can do is try and anticipate what may happen during a hand and have your plan ready-made. That is what the pause at trick 1 is for.

(There is also an amusing Bolls Tip about shuffling your hand after the play - before such became recommended)
Sept. 13, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Do North South have a system for conventionally opening strong hands. I would regard a 3 loser 21 point hand as strong (although I would have preferred to have had the 5 instead of 4)
Sept. 12, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
-100 got us 6 on a top of 20 (in UK we double MPs so no halves)

(4S only goes 1 off on DD play although in real life one play was doubled for -500)

look for durham bridge club on bridgewebs for the full scores.
Sept. 11, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes - a good idea - unless partner took the bid as being a super duper accept with a doubleton spade.

Had I the chance I might have done it - or even bid 3NT (which makes comfortably on a Club lead however holding QJ95 North might have led a diamond - for one off.)
Sept. 11, 2013
John Portwood edited this comment Sept. 11, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think that we can count AKQ as equivalent to a 4-card suit.

Looking at losers (7+) this seems a reasonable raise to 3 playing standard system - instead of Bergen. (In general when raising a major I bid the number of tricks I can add to the party - here it is definitely 3)

(It also stops east from playing silly b******s with a minor suit overcall)
Sept. 11, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I was being a bit slovenly to save typing:) Here is the definition of Amber - if you feel this is contradictory then all I suggest is that you e-mail the EBU.

Amber Psyche
A TD may find that whilst there is evidence of a CPU it is not sufficient, of itself, to justify an adjusted score. This is classified as an amber psyche. In particular, if both partners psyche on the same hand, then a classification of at least amber is likely to be justified.

For full information search for “ EBU white book psyche ”.

These rules are to protect players who may not be aware of psyching or when it could be best effective from being taken advantage of by ‘stronger’ players.

Being aware that partner could have psyched and making a bid to take that into account is not ‘Just Bridge’. Unfortunately in BBO, as I understand it, there are no TDs to appeal to for equity - it is the law of the jungle. (Please advise me if wrong)
Sept. 11, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Unless there are any agreements I'll play for partner to have a singelton spade (after all he couldn't raise my overcall).

If there appears to be no chance of a ruff then I'll review my options (could be for partner to have K or K). Choosing between the A or 3 - either could be wrong.
Sept. 11, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Does the 2NT show anything?
Sept. 11, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I I will quote from the EBU ‘White Book’ - I will admit that this may not be how psyches are handled in ACBL country. But it certainly isn't left field in the UK.

1.4.2 Fielding
1.4.2.1 Red Psyche
The actions of the psycher’s partner following a psyche – and, possibly, further actions by the psycher himself – may provide evidence of an undisclosed, and therefore illegal, understanding. If so, then the partnership is said to have ‘fielded’ the psyche. The TD will judge actions objectively by the standards of a player’s peers; that is to say intent will not be taken into account.

As the judgement by the TD will be objective, some players may be understandably upset that their actions are ruled to be fielding. If a player psyches and their partner takes action that appears to allow for it then the TD will treat it as fielding.

A partnership’s actions on one board may be sufficient for the TD to find that it has an concealed partnership understanding (CPU) and the score will be adjusted in principle (see §1.4.4). This is classified as a red psyche.
—-
After a ‘Red Psyche’ there is a procedural penalty. There are two other classifications:

“Green” - no problems
“Amber” - intent not proven BUT 2 “Amber” psyches = 1 Red Psyche
Sept. 11, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Exactly - why can't the 1 opening bid be a psyche?
Sept. 10, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
But the whole point is that if there is evidence that a psyche has been made (incomprehensible auction) you cannot take any action that assumes that the psyche has been made by your partner - otherwise this is an undisclosed understanding.

(There is of course a lot of difference between a psyche and a misbid)
Sept. 10, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Is it as specific as that - suppose you reach a bidding position where it is well known that a psyche is possible. Even if partner has never psyched in that position before you must be aware that he is more likely to do so.
Sept. 9, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would have thought that the diamond lead was safer - have I missed something?

Anyway - I am playing for spades to be 5-4-3-1 with East having 4 spades. Partner rates to be quite strong 10 points or so - so why hasn't he doubled or bid 2NT or something at favourable?
Sept. 9, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Maybe he didn't realise spades were 4=4
Sept. 9, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
IF 2 was a (psychic) lead direction bid then it is pretty obvious that it was not fielded if a spade was led. So no further problems.
Sept. 9, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes - even though there wasn't a psyche East has bid based on the assumption that partner has psyched - and has therefore (tried to) field it.

(Unless East is deliberately coffeehousing hoping to get doubled in 4 when he ‘sacrifices’)
Sept. 8, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So why couldn't 2 been a Fit Non Jump e.g

AQJXX
XXX
QXXXX
-
Sept. 8, 2013
.

Bottom Home Top