Join Bridge Winners
All comments by John Portwood
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
4 - If I'm lucky this will only go one off (TIC) (sorry couldn't resist that)

What would 2N show/ ask for? If partner has 6 to the AQ then 6 looks frigid. If partner doesn't have the AQ then 6 or 6 could be going off even if he holds A so the problem boils down to: how can you find out about these two cards?

If 3 agrees diamonds and is a cue bid then that could work out well. If partner bids 4 then we can cue 4 and if all we get from partner is 5 then at least we can bid 6 with a fair amount of confidence (that partner realises we have spades after all). If partner cues 4 or 4 then we settle for 5.
May 2, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Over 3 I think 3 is clear, you have 8 possible tricks and just need a spade stop (and J) for 3NT

If partner bid 1N (which I think promised a spade stop) then 3 probably describes the hand best (good hand 5-4 in minors) - remember you don't know about the diamond fit.

If partner bids 2 then again 3 - 3N might not be making and you must tell partner what you have so he can decide.
May 1, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I have a partner, he didn't bid clubs, probably has some defence to 4 but not sufficient to double. My KQ are useful.
May 1, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Since the hand will be safe in 3, we might as well tell partner the key feature, keep the bidding low. At the moment I have eyes on 3NT and I like playing the hand! If West supports spades then 3 pretty well defines what we have
May 1, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes - my constructive pre-empts (and weak 2s) only apply in 1st and (particularly) 2nd position - in 3rd as they say, anything goes (provided suit quality is OK - you need that trump suit to be good as oppos won't double without trump tricks). In this case the aim is pre-emption rather than construction so it is merely an assessment of risk V reward and the oppos look as if they will only just have enough for game so it won't be easy to bid it.
April 30, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Eric - the terms of the 3NT overcall have been changed - it was for the minor suits.
April 30, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Pass seems obvious - if partner goes 4 or 5 down in 3NT then it won't be a disaster (and could be cheaper than going 3 down doubled when they get forced and forced and forced). If he gets doubled and doesn't bid himself then I can redouble and he'll get the message that it is up to him to pick the escape suit.
April 30, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I bid it half jokingly - don't worry about undos or anything - however I do like to open people's minds up to think outside the box.

Opposite a passed partner (where game is pretty problematical) I think that 2 strikes a reasonable balance between offence and defence. As a general rule I consider a 1-level overcall safe on an 8-loser hand and a 6 card suit can always be bid at the 2-level. On this hand there are 7 losers or so. (Holding a 6-card suit there are 7 out, the most likely distribution is 3-2-2 so partner reckons to have 2 card support - to those who believe in it, The Law protects me.)

Personally I think that there is far too much barrage bidding which causes problems for partners when they do have a fit for you or reasonable defence. All my pre-emptive bids are constructive in nature! How else can partner work out what is happening?)

You may like to see what T Reese had to say on the matter: http://www.bridgeace.com/Lessons/BOLS/1992_Reese_Idiocies.pdf
April 30, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
1. Advanced
2. Not in ACBL
3. Usually none

EBU NGS ranking = “Q” (57.92) this means there are 39,600 players of lower rank, 1754 the same rank (57.00 - 58.99) and 1795 of higher rank. https://www.ebu.co.uk/ngs/?stats=1

EBU rank = ***** Master (low rank due (I hope!) to not attending congresses etc, play exclusively in club)
April 30, 2013
John Portwood edited this comment April 30, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You could bid 1 and then claim it was by mistake. These days no one plays penalties of suit bids at the 1 level so this seems to be a 100% safe psyche.

However you do have an above average hand and a reasonable suit. The fact that partner has passed doesn't mean that he has a Yarborough. It is quite possible that the final contract will be a bidding war between 2 | 3 and your 2. (Hearts could be breaking pretty badly as well which would jeopordise 4

So you might as well bid 2 then let the opponents have all the problems.
April 29, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Trick 2 ruff club, draw two rounds of trumps and lead KD ditching a loser.

Eventually you exit with A and Q and ruff your remaining loser with 4

After A lead west must switch to a heart to defeat the contract.
April 28, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
South's bid is undisciplined - he has a partner that hasn't spoken and pre-empted him with this ludicrous punt.

North can assume that partner has a running minor suit (Diamonds!) but there is no way he can deduce whether South has club protection or not. (Give South QXX instead of QX and 3N looks pretty solid)
April 27, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Pass - I still have a partner. This must show a minimum hand.
April 27, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In Acol you have the 4NT opening bid asking for specific Aces - it would be nice to get a 6 or 5 reply and you can convert 5 and 5 to 5. I personally play 2 as a more precise instrument. So I have to assume this question is posed by someone whose system doesn't allow for Ace responses over a bid.

You may consider passing 1st time round - with 4 Aces somewhere and two KQs there is a good chance that, especially in today's aggressive bidding, someone will open and this would give you chance to estimate where are the Aces. The danger of this is all to obvious - but it makes a good magazine article when it comes off! (This hand would not even equal the record for the hand with fewest losers to pass 1st time round)

Perhaps a good bid would be 5 - at least if partner has A you will be in 6.

April 27, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Can anyone explain what is the point of the 3 response?

If partner has 7 reasonable diamonds then 6 looks solid - lots of controls, nice suit to set up (at worst having to ditch clubs on spades) so I create a bid and ask him. (Actually I play 4 of the other minor is a general slam try opposite a minor-suit pre-empt)

Of course if you play wider ranging pre-empts then you may find you get too high, but it is unlikely. (even XXXXXXX may play for 2 losers only!)

http://www.bridgeace.com/Lessons/BOLS/1992_Van_De_%20Pas_Play_Yourself.pdf
April 27, 2013
John Portwood edited this comment April 30, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think the West hand is too weak offensively to consider 5 - yes you have 2 Aces and a singleton club, but you have nothing else. Suppose that you make your two aces and a club ruff (OK here you don't but you know partner probably only has 2 clubs) where will the remaining 8 tricks come from?. Give partner his 5 hearts and you need 3 more - but if you take those 3 more (and they can only be from strength) then they should score against 5C! In which case there is a good chance of 5X going 4 off. If you can only make 1 or 2 more then 5 and 5 are going off and you have indulged in a phantom.

Here is the original BOLS tip: http://www.bridgeace.com/Lessons/BOLS/1987_Manfield_Five_Level.pdf
April 27, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We didn't have any agreement - In theory yes we should have been playing forcing pass situation, but in the absence of such I felt a double was the best way to show doubt. Partner of course has a whale of a hand compared to what he might have had and some voters have recognized it. It would have been nice if he had bid 6 - if only for the amended diagram that would have appeared!
April 25, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Now for the gruesome bit (a tale against myself).

When the hand came up South was dealer - but North tried to open the bidding out of turn with 1! I saw this, forestalled it and decided to waive the penalty. Bidding then reverted to South. Of course I thought my partner had seen this action by North (Authorized Information) so that I had to be showing a strong 5=5 major suit fit. Unfortunately partner later confirmed that he hadn't noticed the attempt to open out of turn!

Partner passed the double and led a diamond, which ran to declarer's Queen. Declarer led a trump which partner won with the Ace and led a Spade to my AK (on which declarer played the Queen).

I stupidly tried to cash the A - and that was -550 as declarer ruffed (QX - QXXX QJXXXXX) drew the last trump and ran the diamonds. I say stupid because anyone can see that partner can't have more spades than hearts so the second spade must have a better chance to stand up!
April 25, 2013
John Portwood edited this comment April 25, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Pretty good: yes AKJXX AQJXX X XX. I doubled 5 as I had 2 club losers (partner could have had a flat 4-3-3-3 for his bid) but 6 does make as you can see - providing you drop the Q offside.
April 25, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well done - on your defence you are going for - 650 as 5 X makes +1.

To be fair when you put down the A you see the following dummy. It might make you change your defence at trick 2.

TX J43 AKJ753 K8
April 25, 2013
.

Bottom Home Top