Join Bridge Winners
All comments by John Portwood
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Because players (especially novices) don't like changing direction at different tables in different rounds - believe me - I've tried it!
Oct. 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I've run this through on Jeanie - if I am right (big if) you do best not to arrowswitch table 3. This gets a balance of 72% (compared to a 11 table hesitation which is 81%).

(We usually get 6 or 7 tables so run a share and relay (bye-stand) with one arrowswitch or a straightforward 7 table Mitchell but play only 6 rounds with one arrowswitched.), but I agree that 18 boards is enough for a novices and a hesitation is much more easy for them to use.
Oct. 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I suppose it depends where the office is. I have the computer about 6 feet from where I sit (I usually have the round monitor options shown so I can spot slow tables and know when to call the round - usually when two tables are still in play).

I don't like using the suspicious scores feature - the problem being that I will get extraneous information about the hands. Which means that my partner is unlikely to be able to play the board. Since I am usually playing with a pick-up partner when directing, I believe it more encouraging for them to enjoy playing the whole event. (Sometimes of course the suspicious score turns out to be nothing of the sort). This is one reason why I like the enter-opening-lead option enabled.
Oct. 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I find that:

1) Players have readily accepted entering opening leads.
2) It prevents incorrect scoring.
3) Entering the lead hardly takes any time. My only request is that North makes the opening lead (when their turn) before entering contract details into the bridgemates
4) We use duplimating machines so can upload the file to the bridgemate server (through EBUScore) (this also allows me time to review the hands the novices will be playing on Monday)
5) This Monday we have switched to pbn format from dup format so there will be a hand analysis function (I hope) working.

Maybe in the UK we are more accepting and tolerant of change and technology.
Oct. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Last night in a spade trump contract declarer led the KD from KJXXX. Partner (holding the Ace) - ducked assuming declarer was trying to set up the suit. Declarer then led a low diamond and my partner went up with the Ace, aiming to block the suit - but the LOL ruffed.
Oct. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
EBU guidelines quite clearly assume that asking a question can legitimately wake-up opponents - so obviously means it is AI.
Oct. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
An ‘extremely serious error unrelated to the infraction’ to be precise (or a gambling action which this clearly wasn;t).

ESEs are often indicated as other breaches of the laws e.g. revokes, LOOTs or e.g. bidding on in a suit that has been doubled for penalty.

IMHO we look at “What would NS have done with the correct information?” rather than ‘NS should have worked out the incorrect information".

Can’t see any reason at all to award a split verdict. There may be a weighted verdict in that NS are more likely to finesse the Q given correct information, but were not certain to do so. Say 75-25 in favour.
Oct. 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Personally, I think that there is no need to disclose the traits of your partner - to read law 20

“During the auction and before the final pass any player may request7, at his own turn to call,an explanation of the opponents’ auction. He is entitled to know about calls actually made, about relevant alternative calls available that were not made, and about inferences from the choice of action where these are matters of partnership understanding.”

I would do so if I was going to ‘field’ the misbid, but purely to avoid a possible misexplanation call.
Sept. 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Whilst the OP definitely made the right call, I don't think he was ‘super ethical’. Ethical certainly - but you can't heap extra praise on someone for merely following the rules of the game.
Sept. 26
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Will USA 1?

Of course they will! Mind you Norway have been very impressive.
Sept. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You might say that, I couldn't possibly comment. I am cetainly not going to hang, draw and quarter him on this site. If that puts me in the ‘dear hearts and gentle people’ camp then so be it.
Sept. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It is not as easy as that: if the TD decides to award an adjusted score under law 16 D (extraneous information)

© allow completion of the play of the board standing ready to award an adjusted score if he judges that the extraneous information affected the result;
(d) award an adjusted score (for team play see Law 86B).

he has to look at law 86

1. Single Result Obtained
In team play when the Director awards an adjusted score and the result at the other table
between the same contestants is clearly favourable to one side, the Director shall award an
assigned adjusted score .

So if South heard the call AND the TD judges that the EI affected the result then South will not get average plus. His side will lose some imps depending on whether the TD regards the 7 contract as being ‘clearly favourable’ to the other side.

Note that this is NOT a UI situation - law 16B and Law 73 do NOT apply. i.e. South is not constrained about logical alternatives.

If West IS trying it on (I don't know) he could have asked whether South agreed he had UI from the delay in bidding 6 by North.

I do agree with Tom the TD should have been called by West when he heard the comment.

We won't go into PPs (notionally the player who made the comment (if there was one) is liable for a PP) and the West Question might ipso facto deserve a PP.
Sept. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What are the carry-forwards?
Sept. 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Bill, I assume the reason is that it is far simpler to have a straightforward “double of a suit contract is for take out, double of a NT contract is for penalties” as non alertable rather than “double of a NT contract when it is a limit response to a 1-level call, is for takeout” being added onto the definition.

You no doubt remember the ER25 Blue Book rule - players at the highest level got caught in the definition.

ER25 was

16+ points
points + longest two suits >=25
8 ‘clear-cut’ tricks:where ‘clear-cut’ meant certain tricks opposite a void and against the second best trump break.
Sept. 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why not complete the set 36,41,46,51? Would save much time debating.

And lots more people can be world champions - which can't be a bad thing.
Sept. 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We do - it's called the Bermuda Bowl.
Sept. 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Only third time of asking?
Sept. 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
And why did the director roll back the contract? You play the board to the conclusion and only then do you ‘roll back the contract’ and only then if there is a breach of law 16B AND damage has occurred/
Sept. 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think this article is fantasy - the punchline is at the end

"Although they never met with Westburg on Tuesday, some of the senior citizens played bridge despite their suspension.

“Nothing bad happened,” Duseau said."

As I said - pure fantasy.
Sept. 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Goldfinger cheated at golf - just proved what a cad and bounder he was.
Sept. 20
.

Bottom Home Top