Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Jordan Lampe
1 2 3 4 ... 10 11 12 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There's beginner bidding and there's expert bidding. If you are trying to emphasize to your students certain basic rules of life like not bidding NT with a singleton and not rebidding 2 with only 5 clubs, then you teach them that with 5-4 in the minors sometimes you bid your suits out of order to solve a rebid problem.

First remember the rules, then learn when it's okay to break them.
Aug. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Too many aces for me to want to preempt.
Aug. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I recently invented a gadget for this sort of hand, but it isn't battle tested yet, so I'm not sure if I can recommend it.
Aug. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It's okay to have more than one way to invite, but having 2 show invitational except for when it's GF seems like you are asking for trouble.
Aug. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The OP specifies BWS, not “majority NYC style”. I assumed BWS referred to Bridge World Standard, and it seems to me that http://www.bridgeworld.com/indexphp.php?page=/pages/readingroom/bws/bwscompletesystem.html#IVG , which is where I quoted the above from. I agree that the quoted line f is unclear about whether “invitational” means “in my suit” or “in the major suit”, although I personally take the negative inference that all the other artificial raises (2NT, splinters) explicitly mention the size of the major fit, and further note that Bergen raises usually define different strengths to 3 and 3 which the quoted line does not.

If my analysis is wrong, then I apologize.
Aug. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I assumed it was a standard 6 card suit without support for the opening major. In fact, I thought everyone played this in 2/1.
Aug. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why not 3 originally?

“(f) a jump-shift to three of an underranking suit is invitational;”
Aug. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Are you planning to Pass the hypothetical reopening Double as well?
Aug. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Our thinking is that after P-1M-1NT, we will almost always find a 7 card fit after 2m, and have a decent probability of finding an 8 card fit. Simulations show that 8 card fits at the 2 level play much better than 1NT and 7 card fits break even, so it's just an attempt to improve the contract.
Aug. 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I read it. It didn't tell me the answer.
Aug. 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The rules are unclear. As evidence, I point to the fact that none of the answers has scored >50%.
Aug. 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well, the idea is that with a limited opener opposite a hand that couldn't open, the odds of getting to game are now quite low, so we are less interested in having a nice constructive auction and more interested in getting to a positive scoring part score and keeping the opponents out.
Aug. 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Nobody should ever be required to play against another player with more masterpoints than themselves.
July 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How about Kxx Qxxx Axxxx Q in west, QTxxx JTx KJ Txx in east, and they lead a heart?
July 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No, I mean partner led partner's suit, declarer won and led their own suit (smith echo), won their suit again and you had to play an honor, and then a trick or two later declarer won their own suit a third time.
June 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So you never show count in the opponents' suit?
June 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In the first two rounds, I had to make a Smith Echo or I had to make an attitude signal or I had to play an honor card or …
June 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This session is shot, are you up for a drink afterwards?
June 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You should absolutely give up the bid with this partner. There may or may not be benefits to mini-splinters, but they are small. Any convention will get you to a better contract than the alternative bidding sequence a fairly small percentage of the time. Call it 10% or 25%, I don't have an exact number. But a “I forgot” disaster gets you to the wrong contract nearly 100% of the time. That's not a good trade off.
June 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So do you lead the J from QJx(x) (and therefore T from JT I guess?)
June 19
1 2 3 4 ... 10 11 12 13
.

Bottom Home Top