Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Jordan Lampe
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Partner has a boring looking 3523 hand with some strength in the black suits. If I play 2 as GF then I want to go back in time and make a non-GF bid. if 2 is just strong with but not necessarily GF, I pass.
Oct. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The question isn't what you bid here, it's whether South has used the UI of North's incorrect alert to make a fishy bid.
Oct. 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well, this has all been very educational for me. I played a discouraging 8 on the theory that I really wanted partner to lead a club. Partner duly led his singleton club, and my Q won as declarer wasn't in on the joke (presumably hoping to cut our communication). The 8 back A ruff, and despite the 8 signal, partner now led a diamond on the premise that if I'd had the A I would've made a positive signal on trick one, and they made 10 tricks.
Oct. 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sometimes people get derailed by the bidding and instead of answering the interesting question about defense say things like “I'd never be in this situation because I would've bid xxx”, or in this case, “I'd never ever ever play with a partner who wanted to play this kind of system”. Those options were for you.
Oct. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
run a simulation?
Oct. 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
also an extra ‘s’ in “disstribution”
Oct. 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How much of this nuance are you required to inform declarer of?
Oct. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That looks sensible except there's no way for Responder to make a penalty double.
Oct. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Use 2 for Flannery and then keep your weak 2
Oct. 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Can I assume it's IMPs because at matchpoints I would have a clear 3 bid?
Oct. 6
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm pretty sure I wasn't invited to the party.
Oct. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That makes it sound like you believe 3 is less accurate. Or perhaps that you don't trust your Partner to use his brain.
Oct. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2 is the systemic response to 1NT forcing after starting 1 with 4=5=2=2. This particular hand you might upgrade to 2NT, but subtract a jack (say make the hearts AQTxx) and you just bid 2 and … it's fine. Worst case is Responder had 3 spades, 1 heart and 4 clubs … then 2 is a perfectly viable bid with the 5 card suit.
Sept. 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Page 5 “Even if declarer started with Axxx of hearts” should be “Kxxx of hearts”
Sept. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What does bidding spades and then raising hearts show for you? xxxx in spades ? For me, bidding spades twice indicates you pretty much can't stand any other trump suit unless pard's willing to fly solo.
Sept. 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What is 2-2-2?
Sept. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The three rules for a 4-card suit overcall at the 1 level are: 1. You have opening strength 2. There is no other applicable call 3. The 4 card suit is very strong.

1 and 2 clearly apply. Is AJ9x “very strong”? Not for me, but it's not insane to judge it so. However, we can see from the voting that the BW community doesn't think 1 is viable.
Sept. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I can see showing the good spade suit before showing the heart raise, but bidding it TWICE without showing the hearts?
Sept. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
East's failure to bid implies shortness in majors, so maybe partner is trying to show 4-4 majors? Quite a leap to take undiscussed, though. I can't think of anything better than Davis' comment above.
Sept. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Double is the only way to get to 3NT, and you can bid clubs over any spade bid CHO attempts to make.
Sept. 18
.

Bottom Home Top