Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Jordan Lampe
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If it's to the disadvantage of the other team to reveal that they drew you, and they were blabbing about it, I don't see where the UI is.
May 6, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Good point. I somehow thought the contract was notrump.
May 4, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't understand what happened in the spade suit on the second hand. The opponents led the A and then later a low one, and then you “cleared the suit”, but you don't have three winners. But you seem to be on lead after clearing them, so does that mean you ducked the second round of spades and then won the final two? If so, couldn't you have made your life easier by cashing the K, Q, and exiting the 4th spade, which is safe as we are pretty sure they are splitting 4-4, and the opponents are forced to break the red suits for you?
May 4, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How would we rule if the claim had been translated as “Trumps are out, and the rest are high”?
April 25, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Partner actually has T9 AT952 J93 J54. I don't know what call is winning on average, but on the actual lie of the cards results would be as follows:

3 probably gets 3NT from Pard, and 3NT gets a pass, and 3NT is down 1 as the opponents run 5 top spades, for a bottom.

4 will get a pass, and making 5 (the K is onside) gets you an average.

5 gets a pass. 4 also gets 5, and assuming you pass you get a near-top for +400. If you push to 6 then you tie the 3NT bidders for a bottom.

Double beats the contract by 4 (!) tricks for a top. If you Pass, partner will Double and you get the same top.
April 21, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Maybe I am missing something, but I don't see that East/West did anything wrong at all. Where's the MI? Why didn't North ask what the bid meant when it was alerted?
April 8, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Wouldn't showing a stopper but asking about 's be logical also?
April 7, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Okay, that makes sense. Thanks.
March 11, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The trick that turned the corner for backgammon AI was indeed Neural Nets. But I would argue that backgammon IS well suited for Monte-Carlo techniques. Every expert in the world uses them when they use computer programs to study - except in backgammon lingo we call them “rollouts”.
March 11, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You may be right. My question is: what does Double here mean? I've already shown my 3 hearts, so if I want to express 5=4 in the minors, can't I just bid 2? If I want to express a flat hand with a spade stopper, I can bid 1NT. If I have a flat hand without a spade stopper, I can pass. So, if Double isn't some kind of cooperative penalty Double - showing 4 good spades and suggesting that it might possibly be where we want to play (Partner surely won't expect me to have KJ9xxx of spades on this auction) – what is it?
March 11, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If I am worried about trump control, AND I don't know what to lead after I cash the high trumps … why do I go out of my way to cash the A so early?
March 3, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Partner had Q10x xxx – AKQxxxx so 7 or 7 makes but 3NT is down on a diamond lead.
March 2, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm not at all confident we can beat 1NT by 2 tricks, much less 2, but I am pretty sure we can make 2, so I'll take my sure plus.
March 2, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It always matters :). In any case, my first instinct on this hand was that 3 was NF and just an attempt to rescue us from a 3 down 4 undoubled but vul. type of disaster. After reading the comments and thinking about it a bit, I still think it's NF, but seeing how great my support is (I didn't have to have any, after all), I now think 4 has to be the percentage bid. No guarantees, of course.
March 2, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
From LHO's silence it seems like Partner must have some points. A really bad hand might be AQ10xxx xxx - xxxx, but if I have to stretch to think of bad hands that only make 9 tricks, I guess it seems like the odds favor 4.
March 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why am I on opening lead if I am sitting South and West is declaring?
March 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Maybe I don't understand the statistic being presented. It looks to me like you are saying you had 42 Spiral auctions, 21 of them you got a top, 17 of them you got an average, and 4 of them you got a bottom. If I have understood the reporting correctly, then we now need to distinguish between the two hypotheses “Spiral gets us to The Right Contract more often than the next best thing” vs. “Ed is a much better player than average, and would be scoring 70% even without Spiral”.
Feb. 26, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That's great that you always have great results when you use these. Have you also kept track of the hands you would have been able to bid better with the next best alternative to Spiral Raises?
Feb. 25, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I often see people rise with the King opposite a singleton here, so that is the subterfuge I would attempt.
Feb. 23, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I have little experience making up bidding agreements, but I would think you lose a lot by not being able to make normal, constructive or overcalls. Like, wouldn't you like to bid with, say, Kx AKTxx xx Kxxx ?
Feb. 19, 2016
.

Bottom Home Top