Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Jordan Lampe
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
An 1100 in the hand is worth a 1440 in the bush
Feb. 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The interesting thing here is that I thought “unusual vs. unusual” was quite popular, but most of the answers don't seem to reflect that.
Feb. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2 if you want a 50%. Pass if you are just out of contention and need a swing to get there.
Feb. 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My rule of thumb – and you can verify how good it is by checking how many national championships I have to my name – is that I want 10 HCP for a 4441 takeout, and each “flaw” requires two extra points. Here I have 11 HCP which is not enough to overcome the single flaw. You might upgrade the AQ to “two tricks” because of its favorable position, but I also want to downgrade it – honors have value not only because of their direct trick taking potential but because they often help us win tricks with “x”s in those suits. There are no “x”s in spades to be set up.
Feb. 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If my partnership opens junky 10/11 counts then 2 is enough. If the opening bid is sound, then I choose to risk 3.
Jan. 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It's clear partner was thinking of something, but it's hard to tell whether it was a side spade suit (going to bid 4), an extra diamond or something (going to bid 5) or perhaps a side club suit (going to bid 4NT or 5).
Jan. 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Except you never need to used a mixed strategy in a game with no hidden information, but it is (almost certainly) a requirement in a game with hidden information. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Strategy_(game_theory)
Jan. 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2NT, hoping to hear 3.
Jan. 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Is there a web site you could link to?
Jan. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The team that doesn't want to be bumped down can ALSO write a larger number of match points on the form than they actually have!
Now we'll be okay unless like half the teams all want to play up … but if that were really a problem, we wouldn't have bracketed or flighted or gold rush events in the first place.
Jan. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It sounds to me like 50E3 is setting up the following thought experiment: You were sitting in the other room watching TV, and now you are suddenly called in to play West's cards, told the auction, the play to the first trick, and that as of this point, there is a minor penalty card on the table.

So, for me, the question is: is the penalty card “on the table” during the play of trick 2? Is the fact that it WAS a penalty card immediately UI the instant it is played, or does it become UI after this trick?

I feel like “on the table” probably implies “in the state of a card which legally restricts E/W's card play options” and that if they meant my latter meaning they would've written the laws as something like “is UI after the completion of the trick it is played”.

As an opinion, I feel like my second meaning is closer to restoring equity (West gets to guess which suit to return) than the variant where West is “forced” to return a club.
Jan. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The answer is simple: If you are good enough to be competitive in the middle bracket, not good enough to be competitive in the top bracket, and have too few MP to get out of the bottom bracket, the ACBL hates you.

Left as an exercise for the reader is why letting a flight C masterpoint holder play in flight B of a flighted event is ever allowed.
Jan. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes. If there cannot possibly be a hand with 4 spades, less than 4 hearts, and slam interest opposite Partner's 1NT opening where you would start with 2 Stayman, feel free to say so.
Jan. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The hand with 4 spades and slam interest opposite a 1NT opener.
Jan. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That's the normal meaning of 3 over a 2 multi?
Dec. 30, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't understand why North's one and only bid should be 6. At his first opportunity to act, all he knows is that his partner has a decent hand with diamonds … not a very strong hand with diamonds and, by the way, 4 spades and a very useful singleton in the fourth suit?
Dec. 29, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If the auction continues over 5, I have options. If the auction continues over 4, I am stuck.
Dec. 19, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“I wanted to play 2-X” seems like … I would try to make a better agreement than that.
Dec. 19, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If I wasn't prepared to Pass a 3NT call here, maybe I should've passed the previous round.
Dec. 19, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Without discussion, I'd take it as “I have no preference between your two suits”, and since my clubs are somewhat better than my hearts…
Dec. 19, 2018
.

Bottom Home Top