Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Joseph Viola
1 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sorry that I missed the recent post about this. Thanks for the link.
Nov. 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks, Michael. You summarized the choices well. (I might consider opening 1 even in 2/1.)

I think that without the ACBL rule disallowing 1NT with a small singleton, I would consider that bid. Would some players consider that the least of the imperfect choices?
Nov. 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
And then with 5=5=2=1, no game interest, partner prefers .

Of course, you play reverse Flannery, so no problem.
Nov. 1
Joseph Viola edited this comment Nov. 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The problem hand IMO is 1=4=3=5 15 HCP, playing 5-card majors, 1NT 14-16 or 15-17. For example, x-AQxx-AKx-Qxxxx. What do you bid after 1-1? Even if you upgrade the stiff to the J, you still are not allowed to open 1NT.

Any suggestions?
Nov. 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
On this hand, s are 2-2 Qx behind KJ, A is onside, and s behave, so 6 makes.
Oct. 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When we played this hand, my partner led the K (our usual agreement is A from AK). I played the J, and she switched to 2. I won the Q but didn't catch the alarm clock (no excuse) and returned a , so 4 made 5.
Oct. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Being in a 6-1 fit is not a bad day. Being in a 5-1 fit is a bad day. With a weak hand it is often right to bid 2. If opener has 3, great. Otherwise, your long may take tricks in 2 but not in 1NT.
Nov. 17, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I haven't seen Peter Schneider mentioned. Disney vice president. Bridge world champion – 2005 Transnational Teams.
Nov. 10, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sounds like a splinter to me. 2 gives room for partner to show a stopper. Your partner should have opened 2NT (and gone down 2) like I did.
Aug. 20, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Of course, the 3rd place team would not appreciate being unable to move up in the last match. Since the first place team had a significant lead after five matches, a match between the 2nd & 3rd place teams (who hadn't played each other) would have been more interesting and meaningful. We all know that your team would not have stood a chance.

I do agree that it was a fun event. The unit does a great job. Maybe we will play against you next year.
Sept. 19, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
After the auction, if our side declares, should I tell the opponents about the misbid?
Sept. 25, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Is 2 natural alertable?
June 15, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
One partner suggested:

1m-2 = constructive raise
1m-2 = reverse Flannery, 5 & 4|5 4-8 hcp

This sounds good to me, but it hasn't come up enough for me to have a strong opinion.
May 24, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I posted this because I may have created a BIT problem for partner. I was the 4NT bidder, and I broke tempo before bidding 5. My hand was 9xx-Kx-AKxx-AKTx.

I carelessly thought that partner may have zero KCs. But then he opened with no As or Ks. Could I have no KCs? Maybe, Qx-Kxx-KQJxx-Kxx.

My partner bid 6 since usually I would have at least 1 KC and I'm worried about him having zero. But the 30% vote for Pass looks like it is a LA.

This was a Bracket II Compact KO. The opponents didn't say anything. Should I have called the director on myself? When? At the end of the auction or after the play?

My partner went down in 6, so the opponents were not injured.
Sept. 17, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I was the 3NT bidder and held Kxx Jxx AKxx ATx. Partner passed and after a lead away from the A, I made 7 for above average.

I agree with partner's pass.
April 28, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What would you bid with x-Kxx-Kxxx-Kxxxx. I would be tempted to splinter on my way to 5. Of course, partner's void may lead him to the right conclusion.
Dec. 28, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
On the ACBL website there is a document entitled “All Events General Conditions of Contest”. On p. 3, item 4 under Play states, “A pair must have a carding agreement listed on their convention cards.”

The 2013 version of this document was more expansive, but essentially said the same thing.
Dec. 26, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks. Do you intend to pass 2 or bid 2? With my partners if I correct to 2, I show a hand too big to overcall.
Dec. 7, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Another reason for alerting is that (at least in my Precision partnerships) this may be bid with only 2 clubs.
Nov. 21, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't understand the votes for the middle option. If the ruling was OK, why the lecture? With a slightly different hand – AKx-xxx-AJxx-AKQ – 7H is not a logical alternative.
April 23, 2014
1 2
.

Bottom Home Top