Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Kevin O'Dea
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Even though this is a very poor strong NT, a Strong 1NT opening has the advantage of being preemptive.
17 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I got confused between the title of this article (Finding the 9 of ) and Oran's article (Showing the 9 of )
19 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Agree Richard. This reminds me of the old Irish Joke “If I was going there, I would not start from here”
20 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
and Partner passed my 2 bid
22 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My hand was:Q75 KQ72 A8763 Q
My 1 opening was 3+ and I rebid 2 over 2
23 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
With a terrible suit in a 5332 hand, 2NT would seem to be the standard rebid.
With a terrible suit in a 55(21) hand, it depends on what extra values (if any) that a 3 level bid would show. e.g. 1-2/2 is easy with a red 5-5 but what do you rebid after 1-2 with 5-5 in & ?
Dec. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
and if the bidding goes 1-P-1-P, do you rebid 2?
Dec. 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Tx all. At the table, partner responded 2 and we lost the fit. Just wondered…
Dec. 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The North hand was
Q96 K862 A87 A92
13 tricks were cold in or , but not easy to bid 7.
Dec. 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
AT:
You said above “But not everyone is that familiar with the major/minor penalty card”.
This may be true of Club or even Regional competitors. However, as I understand it, the Blue Ribbon Pairs is a Major US National competition. Eligibility to play in it is limited to top class US/International players.
Declarer might (reasonably) expect that all eligible players in this competition are familiar with the rules for major/minor exposed cards. They should be.
Dec. 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
At the table, the bidders/doublers win.
EW make 1NT+1. NS can make 3. Partner held
Q985 A74 Q52 T43
Dec. 6
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Am I missing something? How do you know that the declarer was going to run the 10 ? Since partner immediately covered with the Jack, declarer's intention is unknown. Maybe declarer was going to rise with the King if partner played low?
Dec. 6
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Tom, I was quoting Law 43A1a (Dummy's Limitations)
Later Edit:The Laws of Duplicate Bridge 2017
Nov. 29
Kevin O'Dea edited this comment Nov. 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It seems to me that NS have agreed here
Nov. 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Tx all. At the table, I bid 2 and declared 2-1. At the other table, NS played in 2+1. 5 imps away. I never considered X, but it finds the fit.
Nov. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I see some votes for 5NT. What is the standard meaning for a 5NT response here?
Nov. 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Tx all. I knew I could depend on you for responses.
Nov. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What is an STaC game?
Nov. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Partner's hand was
AK3 8 KQJ975 AT3
7 and 7 were cold, but not 6
Nov. 12
Kevin O'Dea edited this comment Nov. 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Peg. Last Saturday in a Mixed Pairs event, my partner opened 1 and RHO bid 4. I passed, LHO responded 4 and RHO bid 4, passed out, and making +1.
4 was explained as Gerber by both opps :)
Oct. 25
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
.

Bottom Home Top