Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Kim Gilman
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thank you Debbie.
April 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I often lead a trump after a Stayman auction, in an attempt to reduce declaring side’s advantage of being in a 4-4 trump fit.
April 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hello everyone, thank you so much for all your votes and illuminating comments. I just learned that in consultation with the DIC, the club Director has reversed his decision and changed the score to 6H making 7. Well, yes maybe it should be 6H making 6, as a majority who played the hand took only 12 tricks – but as it makes no difference to our overall results, I am thankful at least that he “saw the light.”

I have learned a a lot from this discussion – really appreciate everyone's input!
July 2, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Match points.
July 1, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Added 3rd poll choice.
July 1, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I want to thank everyone for their votes and comments so far. This happened at a club STaC game and the Director was the owner and has been directing for decades. It is difficult to process such a non-standard ruling. I admit to being disheartened, but all your feedback offers solace as well as some educational points – much appreciated!
July 1, 2018
Kim Gilman edited this comment July 1, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Joe, the 5N bid confirms all the Aces as it's a grand slam try, but yes the 6H bidder can't know about the HQ and although he reasons that his partner has a concentration of values in hearts and clubs, can't be sure about the HK either! Thanks for your comments.
June 30, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Kevin are you agreeing or disagreeing with Mark?
Jan. 11, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
He also won an Open Sectional Pairs event in December, and scored 78% at the club this week!
Jan. 5, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Several commentators have expressed the view that Stayman, followed by a jump to 3NT, can be a reasonable action even without a 4-card major, so there's no intent to deceive. Let's say there are players out there who WANT to deceive. Why wouldn't they bid Stayman every time the auction would otherwise have gone 1NT-3NT on a good 8 or 9-count? They can always use the justification given here, “well, I was going to invite, but when I found out my partner had no 4-card major, I figured we had minor-suit fits and decided to give it a shot.” If your intention is to deter a major suit lead with a weakish hand, no cards in majors but a good minor, why not always bid Stayman? Nothing to lose except when you can't tolerate a 4S pull by opener. When someone takes this action, most of the time the opponents have no idea if it's a deceptive psych or a judgment call, and when the two can't be distinguished, it doesn't seem fair to the opponents.
Sept. 14, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Wow I never knew that, thank you Ed!
Sept. 14, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As Robin's partner on this board, I saw it all happen. I would call it a “deliberately false” alert and explanation rather than gratuitous. Despite some mumbo-jumbo from North about “getting excited by my hand halfway through the auction,” the skeptic in me (after reading about all these cheating scandals) thinks he could very well have decided to stretch to 3NT right away. But to deter a major-suit lead, he bids 2C, SELF ALERTS 2C (!) and SELF EXPLAINS as “Stayman or limit raise.” When his partner bids 2D, he jumps to 3NT. So now opening leader, who probably would have drawn the conclusion on his own that dummy has a 4-card major, makes a suboptimal lead. Sure, the 2C could have been a psych and we have to live with it, but how can it be fair to psych Stayman and ALSO self-alert it in the process, just for extra emphasis? Had it gone 1NT-3NT, our side leads our best major for a normal matchpoint score rather than a poor one.
Sept. 14, 2015
Kim Gilman edited this comment Sept. 14, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I really enjoyed this article! Couldn't agree more.
April 3, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Eric Leong while we seem to be in the minority I do appreciate your comment. I was the partner and my hand in fact was KT9, AKQxxx, KQx, x. I did choose 3D and when partner bid 4D, I thought he was denying 5 spades so I never supported them. It does appear the majority would not rebid their spades, which still puzzles me. In any case, we did have a disaster and ended up in 6H -2 when 6S was the spot. Thank you everyone.
Jan. 21, 2014
.

Bottom Home Top