Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Koos van der Vegt
1 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
With my regular partner, pass in his seat means he has no problem. Redouble with me would mean i have doubt in . I don't have any problem so I pass.
Nov. 1, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm just going to play advocate of the devil here. South bid 3 with the meaning of a game try in , at that moment he should have alerted per WBF rules. Although 3 is natural according to their methods S did not know that at that time. S clearly committed a failure to alert.

Still I think W made a gambling action and should not get his score back. NS on the other hand might get 3 making against them.
Oct. 13, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Maybe it's just me, but shouldn't you report this player to the recorder. The fact that he demanded you to stop speaking with the TD seems, to me, a clear violation of ZT at least.
July 10, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This reminds me of a hand a few years ago, where my partner held 4 aces and heard me opening 4. After a long pause he finally bid to the just making 5. 6 had no play.
June 18, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I can't remember the exact auction but it went something like this:

1 (2) 3 (4)
5 (p) X a.p
Jan. 6, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Article 75B gives an example of MI. IT deals with a bid of 2.

B. Mistaken Explanation
The actual partnership agreement is that 2♦ is a natural signoff; the mistake was in North’s explanation. This explanation is an infraction of Law, since East-West are entitled to an accurate description of the North-South agreement (when this infraction results in damage to East-West, the Director shall award an adjusted score). If North subsequently becomes aware of his mistake, he must immediately notify the Director. South must do nothing to correct the mistaken explanation while the auction continues; after the final pass, South, if he is to be declarer or dummy, should call the Director and must volunteer a correction of the explanation. If South becomes a defender, he calls the Director and corrects the explanation when play ends.

For me this says that he shouldn't ask his partner to leave the table because that shows partner that he believes there was MI. Players are also expected to remain at the table during a match unless they have permission from a TD to leave the table.
Dec. 3, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Partner has a monster hand, if you bid 5/5 you will get doubled and make 11 tricks.
Partner has:
xxx
AKQJxx
x
xxx
Nov. 13, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In the Netherlands we call it a Belgian q-bid.
Oct. 26, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The weirdest convention I can think of is an invention of two of my regular Junior teammates. It mainly consists of a 10-17 NT opening, any position any vulnerability. We've changed the responses from Stayman to our own versions. This method is able to produce the most random results imaginable especially when both sides are bidding. For this randomness they decided to name it after me: the Koos NT.
Oct. 26, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Nick, I never used the word cheating because I don't think it's cheating. But I do feel it's unethical. Your partner obviously still has the chance to bid 4NT but you put the partnership in an awkward spot. The fact that the main reason is that partner bid a quick multi, suggests for me that your using UI. I don't like that and even at the club I would call a director.
Oct. 25, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well if somebody would do that at my table, I would call a tournament director, because this is a clear violation of the rules. You don't need to concern yourself with the fact that other players don't play ethically. You have to make sure you do, and instruct your partner to always wait a small amount of time before opening 2D.
Oct. 21, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I can give a slightly optimistic bidding sequence to 7 in south:
- 1 (strong)
1 2 ((semi-)three suiter with short )
^
|
(FG either flat or both red suits)
2 (relay) 2NT (true 3 suiter)
3 (relay) 3 (4405, 4504 or 5404)
3 (relay) 3 (4405)
4 (relay) 4 (7 controls)
4NT (relay) 5 (A/K of , A/K of and by inference AK of and denies the Q of clubs)
5 (relay) 5NT (no Q of )
6 (relay) 6 ( Q, J no J)
6NT (relay) 7 (no J)
7 (sorry partner I got a bit excited) p
Sept. 25, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Brilliant article, it's always nice to see the way statistics can be abused.

“There are lies, damned lies and statistics”
-original author unknown
Sept. 13, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
With 6 point in partner will almost always double, so I think it's a fair bet to count him for at most 5 points in which case he needs to have the A. With a fit it will virtually always be 7.
Sept. 12, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
By the way my BBO name is Koosvdv.
Sept. 12, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Maybe my youth partner and I are interested, I'll ask him. We also play a similar system and I think we are decent players.
Sept. 12, 2015
ATB
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think East is at fault here, he misses 3 aces and I think that's too much to gamble partner to cover those losers.
Sept. 12, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Wouldn't redouble be doubt showing, I certainly have doubts about the suit.
Aug. 28, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Shouldn't east just double for t/o his partner has shown 5 and double should lead to the right strain.
Aug. 21, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I have to confess that I'm not entirely sure of the American alert procedures, but I am aware of the Dutch system which in my experience works great.
In the Netherlands the rules are quite short and consist of the following:

Calls that have to be alerted:
1) You have to alert calls which you think the opponents will misinterpret. This is the main rule.
2) Calls that have an artificial meaning.
3) Openings of 1 and 1 if they don't promise at least 3 cards in the bid suit.
4) Natural 1NT openings that can have less than 14 or more than 18 HCP.
5) Redoubles that show something other than strength.

Bidding agreements and habits that may not be alerted:
1) Any bidding made at the 4 level or above, with the exception of the first round of bidding starting with the first bid or artificial pass.
2) Doubles should never be alerted unless stated by the main rule.

Lastly players have at least a bit of responsibility if there was or wasn't an alert where the rules say there should or shouldn't be one. For example if you suspect something should be alerted it's your own responsibility to ask if you want to know what it means.

If anybody has any questions about the Dutch system I'd be happy to answer them.
Aug. 21, 2015
1 2
.

Bottom Home Top