Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Kurt Schneider
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If partner would bid 4 with Qxxx xxx KQxxxx -, then you might consider 5, but odds heavily favor your partner having the SA. I bid 6.
April 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ronald - you would never open this hand with 1 - you would pass. And if you opened this hand with that ugly spade suit and only 10points, I would retire you as my partner. The offsuit Aces are just as wonderful on defense.
April 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
<Moved>
April 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
1) You have pre-empted the opponents
2) Your partner knows the situation
3) You may drive them to game with any additional bidding, especially in view of the hesitation.

Pull out the pass card.
April 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
And you are not worried about driving them to a make-able game?
April 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This is not an opening hand in every commonly played system (SA, 2/1, Precision, ACOL) UNLESS one plays a mini-1N.
April 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
To me you have bid your hand already. 1N in this range is a pre-empt, and I've always eschewed the idea of bidding a pre-empt twice.
April 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That's a 1 opener for me. I rule out penalty double for a simple reason - any hand with which I feel I can make 6 spade tricks on my own, would have been opened 1 or 2.
March 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm punting - probably some form of Lebensohl. I simply cannot conceive of a NON-opening hand or NON-2 pre-empt, doubling for penalty. So what did the bid mean?
March 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“Makes no sense to attempt a 3-level contract in an 8-card fit when we know we hold less than half the power.”

Who says 8-card fit? I would expect partner to have 1=2=(55) for this bid, preparing to sacrifice over the expected 4 (or higher) contract. If opener has something like 3=5=(41), then a 5m sacrifice may be a winner

“Nor does a penalty double require holding 6 trumps here. Offside values are defensive ticks defended passively. KJ109 x K10xx K10xx might be more than enough.”

That's an opener for me, and I suspect for many others.

PS - I'm just trying to explain away an inexplicable auction that has been posted…
March 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Kit – so as I understand it, in response to 2N, you use 3 as a minimum and use 3 otherwise. And after 3, you use 3 with a game forcing hand to ask for shape, else 3 to play.

What would 1-2N-3 show?
March 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thank you for the response. Would it be possible for you to share your 1M raise system? As a Strong Club player myself, I play a system that includes mini-splinters, 2M+1 as a limit raise or better, and maxi-splinters.
March 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm a passed hand. Hence I need 6 spades to effectively penalize 2, since I do not have the necessary HCP, and I can't count on partner to have more than 1/2 defensive trick.

If I had enough spades to effectively double 2 with less than an opening hand, I would have opened 2.

Hence it must be T/O for minors with delayed heart support, planning on a sacrifice if my answer is to his/her satisfaction.
March 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm curious as to the benefit of using 3 as your “weak” response. This can be doubled for lead directing reasons and if responder is only a limit raise, he is obligated to bid 3. Would it not be more efficient to bid 3 with a minimum and let responder pass with a limit raise?

This allows both 3m bids as different avenues to force to game. Off the top my head, 3 could show a MAX with an unknown singleton, and 3 a MAX otherwise.
March 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Kickback?
Feb. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Partnership agreement. Forcing - we play this as asking for a heart stopper. Opener has a long club suit. 3N or else 4
Feb. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Can't see this as penalty - I have too many spades. And I have absolutely no defense. 3N might be passed out for a big minus. 4 is our safest landing spot.
Feb. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The only time I would consider under-leading an Ace in a trump contract is when I have a very strong belief that: a) the K is with LHO (perhaps s/he opened a strong 1N, 2N or 2C and RHO is declarer; or RHO pre-empted), I have AQJ(x…), and am confident that partner has a doubleton; or b) a very strong belief that partner has Kx.
Feb. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Dreadful in IMPs perhaps, but in MP, making 8 tricks in notrump beats making 8 tricks in spades. It’s critical that dummy have outside entries, hence my comment on spade quality. Crappy spades, then notrump plays better…
Jan. 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Experience.

I had virtually the same hand yesterday (except I had a spade void) - made 3N and the room goes down in 4. Notrump plays remarkably well with singletons opposite each other, provided you have good communication in the other two suits. This is what I remember:

ATxxxx
x
Jxx
AJx

-
AQxxx
AQxx
Kxxx

Auction went 1-1; 2-2; 2N-3N

Move a club into spades in my hand, and the result would have been the same. There were 3 spade losers and a diamond loser in a spade contract.

It really comes down to the quality of the spade suit - and the 2N bid by me allows responder to reflect on that and rebid 3 with a quality suit.
Jan. 31
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13
.

Bottom Home Top