Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Larry Sealy
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
They are Vul vs. NV. 5m is -1. 4 makes if they drop the K offside, which is not all that far fetched, given the shortage of dummy entries. However, opener only had AQxxxx Axxx A xx. He doubled the actual 3 bid, but I doubt he would have risked 4 over 4m. 5 is off 2 fast tricks and a trump trick, minimum.

We actually got to 5 -1 (not doubled) for 20% of the matchpoints.
Dec. 14, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I thought I was barred from bidding 3N. I actually bid 4, but I'm thinking 4 would have been better. If you bid 4, partner will bid 4, most likely. There was no discussion of Last Train, so I don't think he would risk 4. He held x K10xx xx J9xxxx. 3N, which I thought unethical, results in going minus. 4 makes 5.

Even slam in hearts is a good result (-1 vs. 3N-2).
Dec. 14, 2013
Larry Sealy edited this comment Dec. 14, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would then be wishing for the pre-Zero Tolerance days….
:-)
Dec. 13, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Let's agree to disagree.
Dec. 13, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think balancing is so clear that if partner takes a year to pass, you have to act.
Dec. 13, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Partner had an easy 2 rebid with that hand - free since he has 3 spades; showing values in his “second suit” instead of none (3); and keeping the bidding lower. You could raise s and he bids 3. He clearly should have bid 3 over 3 once he misbid the first time, but was probably enticed by the charms of 3N. He probably figured the JS would keep the opponents off a lead.
Dec. 13, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you pass or RDBL, partner bids 4. Do you raise?
Dec. 13, 2013
Larry Sealy edited this comment Dec. 13, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That's not exactly a news flash.

If he has 4 s, you get to 4 by bidding 3 then showing 4 hearts. You also win when 3N is better than 4 when partner has 3.
Dec. 12, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You're right given the conditions. I had BAM in my head for some reason.
Dec. 11, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If partner has Q9x of (would he encourage with only 3, knowing the 13er - if I have 3 and not 5 - would set up?) and Kxx of to go with the A, I need to continue clubs. I think it likely he would have shifted to the Q, or a higher spot, if he had that card and not the K. If he needed a spade back, he should have shifted to a high .

yes, he could start with the K with the holding I'm playing him for, but that requires that I have the 10.
Dec. 11, 2013
Larry Sealy edited this comment Dec. 11, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
3 is not only best when partner has 5 s, but also when 3N is better than 4H on a 5-3 fit.
Dec. 11, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I chose 11-13 because I thought it was closest to the spirit of the question, which is does it show extras or not. Could be more than 13, as Peter states.
Dec. 7, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My head it hurting.
Dec. 5, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Presumably you meant 2 (not 2). Yes, 2 is an overbid, but 4 is misguided.
Nov. 28, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I probably open 2 less than 95% of bridge players. But it is a 3 loser hand with a convenient treatment to show the hand type (I would play it as showing 6+ s). 4 on the other hand, when partner rates to have a stiff, is totally off-base, IMO. South actually has a pretty good hand for North. I would bid 4, and over 4, I'd cue 4. I think I just convinced myself to change my vote.
Nov. 28, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I might be able to attend, depending on day/time. I don't start play until the first Sunday, though. I might be able to drag Jim Munday with me. Sue will likely be working the bulletin if it's after the second session.

Correct me if I'm wrong, Jim.
Nov. 27, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't disagree. But the OP was asking a question within the context of his system. If we want to suggest a better system, great. But I think we still owe him an answer to the question as posed.

A question worth discussing is how good is good enough, as far as trump quality goes (essentially, how many trumps does responder have)? For Stephen's 4 bid or for a direct raise to 5. Is AQJxxxx or KQJxxxx good enough? This assumes responder has a stiff. So, if responder has the nuts with a heart void, he might think twice before using this bid. I would think that you would evaluate in the context of a small singleton, if for no other reason than frequency of occurrence.
Nov. 27, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There was no mention of 4m being anything other than F1, so those are ruled out for this problem. Not sure what 4N would be. Since partner can't have more than 2 KCs, seems something other than std. RKC. But if it is just RKC, then you have a problem when you get the expected 1 response, esp. if playing 0314. How do you know if the suit is good enough to play for 1 loser. If 4N is just Old Black, it also does you no good.

5 asks for trump quality. Since he promised 2/3 top honors, then he'll need a 1 loser suit (opp. singleton) to carry on. Yes, we may go down when trumps go 4-1. If so, maybe this will cause a change to 4 = KC as Steve described.
Nov. 26, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Nice bid, IMO.
Nov. 25, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think an insufficient bid might have fared better. :)
Nov. 22, 2013
.

Bottom Home Top