Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Larry Sealy
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I was mainly referring to more recent times and outside of the DC area. Lublin, known as “The Iron Man,” was given a different moniker by Hoffner, who nicknamed many of the DC area players. They both had unique senses of humor. “Snake time,” Lublin would announce when leading a diamond-back.
Nov. 15, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That team also included one of Mike's regular partners from the late 70s/early 80s and one of the best players that many people have never heard of, David Hoffner.
Nov. 15, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I played with Mike in Nationals for a year or two in the early 80s. He was a very imaginative player and dangerous opponent. Recently, we kept saying “let's play again sometime.” I guess, to paraphrase John Fogerty, “Sometime Never Comes.”

Mike, may there be bridge games, poker tables, cigars, and models where you are now.
Nov. 15, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Without agreements to the contrary, I would assume that 1-1N-3-3-4 implied short clubs and (at least initially) assumed to be a fragment in . It's possible it could be 5-4-4-0 (looking for best fit) or 6-4-2-1 (and very strong). However, I also play 3 shows 5, so those would not be possible for me. Unless opener knows he wants to play in spades opposite a possible xx, 4m ought to be natural-ish. I wouldn't want to rebid 3N with a void or low stiff minor.

I play Power 2N (1M-1N-2N ~ forces 3), which I use for jump shifts with 4 or 4 (among other things), so 4 would tend to be 5-5-3-0.
Nov. 14, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You could play 4 is a strong raise and 4 is a strong raise. I don't agree with the statement that a 3 card limit raise cannot have slam aspirations opposite a jump shift.
Nov. 12, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think the option “wants to play 2N” is too strong. Is willing to play 2N, but wouldn't mind balancer rebidding a side minor.
Nov. 11, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
At these colors, 2 is likely to be 4 with many people. Depending on partnership style, maybe 5 bad. The weaker that advancer is, the more likely balancer has only 4.
Nov. 11, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I expected 5 to get most of the votes. But thought there might be some sentiment for 4. Sort of a Last Train/Bluhmer-ish good raise to 5.

Partner had:
x, x, AKJx, AJ109xxx

4 would fetch 6.
Nov. 11, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Something is obviously fishy. I have a primed out, 4 loser, 17 count. I'm supposed to rebid 2? I think a low stiff heart was transmogrified into the Ace. :)
Nov. 11, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes, added.
Nov. 11, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
On this hand, the 2 bid was magic. Partner should have splintered with 3.
Nov. 7, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Some people play that 1-1N-2m-3 is a strong minor raise (3m being weaker).
Nov. 7, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Do you play Rusinow? If you don't and your partner leads the K, you can have problems signalling. If you encourage with a doubleton (hoping for AK), partner can get Bathed. If you encourage with Jxx (playing partner for KQ), you might let declarer score a trick with Qxx.

Some people that nominally lead A from AK lead the K if they are about to shift to a singleton. But this is a situation where they are not wanting imput from partner, are trying to distinguish between a doubleton and a singleton.
Nov. 6, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes, enc. with 2, discourage with longer. Essentially, attitude based on count.
Nov. 6, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As is my wont, I hit the wrong button when voting. :-) Corrected now.

I also just noticed it was a club game. IMO, club games are where you teach players about active ethics. I think this is best done by the director (or someone knowledgeable and respected) taking them aside and explaining what is acceptable and what is not. If these players do not understand why they were wrong, there will be hurt feelings, and/or anger, and they will end up repeating the same type of things - or not coming back. Making scoring adjustments when appropriate - accompanied by and explanation of why - is fine. But I think that giving additional penalties is how you run a club game into the ground. The exception I might make is if the players are not only experienced, but also considered experts - thus they should understand their ethical obligations.

There are many “experienced” players and partnerships at my local club who do much worse things than this (ex: 20 sec hesitation followed by balancing at 2 level with 5 count - and this was one of the directors). Most of the time, the better players just sigh and shrug it off. If it is blatant and the players are not novices, I'll call the director. But there is little, if any, education in this area for these players. The directors just want their games to grow (or at least not shrink). Maybe if there was more emphasis on teaching active ethics to newer players, these things would not happen as frequently.
Oct. 30, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree with this. However, if this pair has a history of questionable ethics, I would at least submit a recorder form. I don't know if previous, unethical actions can influence a ruling on this hand, though. I'm guessing no.
Oct. 30, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'll have to do that as well.
Oct. 24, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would have made a T/O dbl to begin with. Then, I could go quietly without a thought if partner passed.
Oct. 21, 2013
Larry Sealy edited this comment Oct. 22, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
shortly after I started playing bridge (mid-70s), I heard a folk story about how someone led to dummy, ran the clubs, discarding from his hand, then came back to his hand and ran some more clubs. Opponents: “Here come those damn clubs again.”
Sept. 13, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Too likely to miss a slam in OR when you open 2N or 2-2N, IMO. Way too strong for 2N in any event.
Sept. 12, 2013
.

Bottom Home Top