Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Lars Andersson
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 22 23 24 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Just a guess. What card does south play on the T lead ducked in dummy? If you solve that, the hand basically plays itself.
Oct. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I know Peter, never doubted that.
Oct. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I wondered about the non-bridge material in this article. When I googled the author I realized he belongs to the extreme right in Denmark and has an anti-immigration agenda. I would prefer if we stick to bridge in this forum. I have hence flagged this article.
Oct. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Assuming west never falsecards from J9? Granted there are not a lot of players who would.
Sept. 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There is no guess if the 9 appears in front of the Q.
Sept. 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Assuming lead. Win ace, cash A K and discard a club. You now have 2 more discards on the . Play on Trumps. A and a low . The J drops. West wins the K and plays a high . You ruff, pull the last trump w the T. Counting time. West has 3 5 3+. Seems odds on to run the J now. It wins, you play a to the king. 2 discarding spades. Dummy is left w A and a .
Sept. 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It sure is. St Petersburg is a gorgeous city among other things.
Sept. 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The Baltics swept the rest of the world!
Sept. 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sounds like a better English team, especially if you get Hydes in there with someone
Sept. 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You probably get one part of the answer looking at the butler scores since Opatija 2014.
Sept. 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Greco-Hampson were +.34, Fleisher-Martel +.05 and Lall-Moss -0.62 on the Butler. It is available in the Monday bulletin. 2 years ago FM were -0.45, Moss-Grue +0.86 and Rosenberg-Pepsi +0.30. I am talking Round-Robin here.
Sept. 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The results in the last 4 rounds for Italy was 7.45 vs Poland, 6.48 vs the Netherlands, 4.62 vs New Zealand and finally 18.33 vs Argentina (where Madala is born)
Sept. 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
BTW Sweden selecting the Netherlands as opposed to Italy does not make a lot of sense to me. I hope the swedes prove me wrong.
Sept. 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If only counting meetings between these 8 we get:
1) Netherlands
2) Norway
3) China
4) Sweden
5) USA
6) England
7) Poland
8) Italy

Remarkably Italy lost to all top teams except Norway(!) whom they beat handily. This is a small sample but Italy and Poland severly underperformed whilst Netherlands and Norway did well. If Norway gets through Italy I think they will win this: 19.25 vs USA, 19.93 vs China and 17.59 vs the Netherlands is very impressive.
Sept. 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“The US State Department announced earlier this year that they would require most visa applicants to list their social media accounts for screening.”
Sept. 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I read someone else visited Russia in the 80s. https://www.politico.com/magazine/story/2017/11/19/trump-first-moscow-trip-215842
July 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As I mentioned before, at the Transnational teams in Chennai 2015 team Zimmerman got a ruling on the following hand when declarer claimed without stating a line of play:

http://db.worldbridge.org/repository/tourn/chennai.15/Microsite/Asp/BoardAcross.asp?qboard=024.03..1133

The ruling was that declarer should not notice the potential block in and thus was forced to go down. Different strokes for different folks apparently.
June 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As I was the club leader I can confirm that declarer did not state any line of play, just tabled his cards. He was not aware of any problem until the director was called.

Does anyone have a reference to the Team Zimmerman appeal against a claim in a WBF event a few years ago? Maybe the transnational teams 2015 or 2017?

edited: some stupid spelling
June 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This comment has been marked as inappropriate by the moderator(s).
May 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I will definitely buy it Mats! After reading I will donate to a junior who did not get her/his own free copy!
May 24
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 22 23 24 25
.

Bottom Home Top