Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Lori Smith
1 2 3 4 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks for the response Liam. I imagined that Susan's thought processes were just as you described because I have found her to be very fair and generous as an opponent (and altogether incredibly lovely but this isn't about Susan, it's about the bidding sequence).

However, I do think it is worth noting the international rules given the context of this having occurred during the playoffs for the Australian Women's Team.

When representing Australia, a similar scenario (especially now that it has gone on the public record) could be harshly penalised could it not?
Dec. 11, 2019
Lori Smith edited this comment Dec. 11, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There is a good discussion around this on the open forum
Dec. 11, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I withdrew my earlier post because I am a relatively inexperienced player having only taken up the game 5 years ago and felt what do I know.
I found the psyche and the fact that it had actually determined the whole match, very disturbing. I was mainly concerned by Susan's pass.
So here is an excerpt from the EBU's 2019 White Book:
1.4 Psychic Bidding
1.4.1 General
A psyche or psychic bid is a deliberate and gross mis-statement of honour strength and/or suit length. A misbid is an inadvertent mis-statement of honour strength and/or suit length. A deviation is a deliberate but minor mis-statement of honour strength and/or suit length.
A psychic bid is a legitimate ploy as long as it contains the same element of surprise for the psycher’s partner as it does for the opponents.
Systemic psyching of any kind is not permitted. A partnership may not use any agreement to control a psyche. For example, if you play that a double of 3NT asks partner not to lead the suit you have bid, you may not make such a double if the earlier suit bid was a psyche.
Players are required to disclose their agreements, both explicit and implicit. If a player believes, from partnership experience, that partner may have deviated from the system this must be disclosed to the opponents. If a player properly discloses this possibility, the player will not be penalised for fielding it, although there may be a penalty for playing an illegal method.
Frivolous psyching, for example suggesting a player has lost interest in the competition, is a breach of the laws. (Law 74A2, Law 74B1, Law 74C6).
There is not an EBU regulations that a player may not psyche a game-forcing or near game- forcing artificial opening bid.
1.4.2 Fielding
1.4.2.1 Red Psyche
The actions of the psycher’s partner following a psyche – and, possibly, further actions by the psycher – may provide evidence of an undisclosed, and therefore illegal, understanding. If so, then the partnership is said to have ‘fielded’ the psyche. The TD will judge actions objectively by the standards of a player’s peers; that is to say intent will not be taken into account.
As the judgement by the TD will be objective, some players may be understandably upset that their actions are ruled to be fielding. If a player psyches and their partner takes action that appears to allow for it then the TD will treat it as fielding.
A partnership’s actions on one board may be sufficient for the TD to find that it has a concealed partnership understanding (CPU) and the score will be adjusted in principle (see §1.4.4). This is classified as a red psyche
Dec. 9, 2019
Lori Smith edited this comment Dec. 10, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Might deter a spade lead tho
Dec. 2, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sorry I've posted the experts' table by mistake.
Actually playing the 10 and then the K doesn't save you a trump loser because South will win a trick with the S5 when she trumps a diamond anyway.
Double dummy said 2 off on a heart lead.
Oct. 31, 2019
Lori Smith edited this comment Oct. 31, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hi Kate, Therese and I can keep posting board 10
Oct. 9, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yay!
Oct. 8, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hi Kim, perhaps I should have jumped to 4H after 3C to show this hand. I will await suggestions.
Sept. 18, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Very well played!
Sept. 12, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
i can do board 1
Sept. 10, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Passed out at our table to our gain as NS
Sept. 10, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks Barb and Kate.
Disappointing to get the green line after the hand viewer link has worked consistently for some weeks.
Here it is: https://tinyurl.com/y69xc68s
When opener bids 3H she could also be 0454. After 3S she would need to bid 4D I think. Responder could still bid 6C but harder to find 7.
Sept. 10, 2019
Lori Smith edited this comment Sept. 10, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I bid 2S as South and West doubled. North bid 3H and East passed. Because I had forced partner to bid I now passed and West raised to 4S which was passed out.
Aug. 22, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
West opened a Precision 2C at our table and North bid 2S. East raised to 3C and I raised spades to 3. However, I should probably have made a game try with 3D instead. Both West and North passed and East came back in with 4H. As South I competed with 4S. I wanted partner to know that I had a bit more and that I didn’t have a double of 4H. Partner had only overcalled and so I should have kept quiet and given her a chance to respond. 4H makes as it happens. West now bid 5C and partner doubled for penalties, which can go 2 off but we only took it one off.
Aug. 21, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We play 4 level transfers still on over interference and Lebensohl to show an invitational hand. 2S would be to play,
Aug. 14, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What did North lead?
I play journalist leads so couldn’t lead the C9. I lead the C5 and discarded the 9 ASAP to discourage.
I think that I probably should have lead a heart because partner is marked with 4 of them on the bidding.
Aug. 13, 2019
Lori Smith edited this comment Aug. 13, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes I knew that LOTT allowed me to bid to the 4 level but I downgraded
Aug. 13, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks for putting up the match today Kate. Mondays are the best time for our team to play.
Aug. 11, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As North, I liked partner's pass. I passed West's X and East bid 1NT making 8 tricks. This was a good result for North South.
Aug. 10, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I got the S7 lead and won in dummy with the 8.
I then ran the 8H, won the D10 return and played hearts from the top making 12 tricks.
However, I was only in 3NT and so hadn't put too much thought into it!
Aug. 9, 2019
Lori Smith edited this comment Aug. 10, 2019
1 2 3 4 5
.

Bottom Home Top