Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Marion Gebhardt
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Kit is correct. If partner opened 1C and I held xxx-xxxx-xxxxx-x, I would bid 1H and pass a 2D bid by partner, hoping to survive. When I said I wouldn't pass I was thinking about a hand where I had a legitimate 1 level response. Sorry.
June 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree with you, 2D is 100% forcing. I play Lebensohl after a reverse, so 2H shows a hand with less than 8 HCPs and a Spade suit not suitable for rebidding. I wouldn't be happy with a partner that took 45 Secs to bid 2D-but what can you do.
June 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When the directors don't do it, I guess you are saying let them get to a sectional or regional and find its a different world.
June 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Michael, I never call the director for a BIT at the club. I was not upset in the least. I simply thought it was a teachable moment.
June 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When is the last time you had a 45 sec BIT in an auction of 1D-1H-BIT-2C. I don't ever remember this happening.
June 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What is poor East to do after being put in an impossible position by West. Sometimes you try to get your point across in an indirect way, rather than a full frontal assault.
June 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
To understand what the bridge community does in regard to BITS. Paul said that there is an informal agreement among the better players at his club to not call the director. Maybe a bulletin article by KIT or someone else would help.
June 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks to Roland for his thoughtful discussion on the topic. I don't know what the answer is as I have had club directors get hostile when I called them about a BIT. So I haven't called the director about a BIT in a very long time. That is the reason I try to counsel the players about a BIT. It is often received graciously, sometimes not. I know its not my job, but whos is going to do it.
June 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As Paul said, as one of the top players in this club I do not ask for rulings on BITS. I used to ask if we could all agree that there was a BIT, but I quit that after almost always getting a negative response. Louis, I didn't mean West might get a PP, but that the pair might receive one.
June 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That's life. I knew that West's hand was something like 16-17 HCPS and probably 3-card heart support. I expected it to be something like X-AXX-AKXXX-AQ(J)XX versus the actual hand of AJX-AXX-AKJXX-XX.
June 11
Marion Gebhardt edited this comment June 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I didn't mean it as an admonition, I was simply trying to educate West. I know that West can do what he wants at the club but when this happens in a tournament it becomes a different story. I wasn't looking for an adjustment nor did we ask for one.
June 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Has 1000mp and has played for 6-8 yrs. Experienced????
June 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No bidding by the opponents.
June 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
West now bid 3H.
June 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Good luck at a club
June 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No score adjustments in a club game. I said, “You can't do that”, to try to help West understand that in a tournament the director would be called and they could be a PP. West didn't want any help!!
June 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No just a West hand with 17HCPs and 3 hearts. Also two small clubs. The bid of 2C was non-forcing. West is an experienced player. No director call as this was a club game. After the hand was over I carefully said to West you can't do that. West said, I was trying to think what I should bid."
June 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't understand the comments. This what I read from Matt's ruling:“Everything you write makes it clear to me that the score should have been adjusted. All the elements of Law 16B
(Unauthorized Information: Extraneous Information from Partner) were present. There was an unmistakable hesitation, that hesitation suggested the 3 bid made by West, and pass
was a logical alternative. Once those conditions are met, Law 16 refers the director to Law 12C1 (Director’s
Discretionary Powers) for how to assign an adjusted score. 12C1© states: “An assigned adjusted score may be weighted to reflect the probabilities ofa number of potential results, but only outcomes that could have been achieved in a legal manner may be included.”Law 16B1(a) states: “A player may not
choose a call or play that is demonstrably suggested over another by unauthorized information if the other call or play is a logical alternative.” So 3 was an illegal choice, and any score resulting from that 3 bid may not be
included in any weighting. On the information you provide that
eight tricks in hearts are automatic, the correct ruling would have been 3 by North down one. If, however, 3 might make some of the time and go down some of the time depending on the lead
and the play, it would be appropriate and legal to assign a weighted score to reflect those probabilities. Those are possible scores that could have been achieved legally. But the result of the illegal 3 bid may not be considered in any way by the director when makingthe score adjustment.”
May 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Chris Hasney commented on the Bridge Winners content Break In Tempo:
________________________________________
Perhaps Bridge Bulletin May 2018 “Ruling the Game” by Matt Smith would shed light on this. (p. 33)
________________________________________
Using this logic then the director should have given us (NS) the wieghted score of the five NS that played 2S-three making and two down one. This is what I suggested at the beginning of this blog.
May 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ray Yuenger's poll-only one vote for 3C. Wow!!! Pass 58%.
May 23
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11
.

Bottom Home Top