Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Marion Gebhardt
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 18 19 20 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes, over the course of a day long event.
May 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
3-4 times during one SWISS TEAM EVENT; 3RD SEAT NON-VUL 1NT on 4-5 HCPS; 1 H over call with 2H AND 4-5 HCPs; 3rd seat non-vul 1 Minor on 5-6 HCPS. I admit the times I have been fixed is when my partner's trust the opponents more than they do me. I had an opponent open 1D 3RD seat with I believe 4HCPS. I doubled. His partner bid 1S ON 6HCPS. Partner with 10 HCPS and 5 hearts only bid 2H. I QBID 3D and he only bid 3H which I raised to 4, making six. We lost the match on that board. He said well the pro OPENED THE HAND AND HIS PARTNER BID!!!
May 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
People don't like having to fill out a recorder slip, particularly in a team game. I have done informal polls on this and the majority say they don't use the Recorder System. I proposed to Rob Gordon that the ACBL develop a simple log for recording psyches. He blew it off saying the directors were too busy. I have filled out Recorder slips on psyches and have never once gotten any feedback. I quit playing bracket Swiss events because of rampant psyching and the directors ignoring it.
May 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks for all the constructive comments. This was an interesting hand. I held Q-A63-AQ974-AKJ6. Although, given the vulnerability and the strength of my hand, I didn't expect more bidding from the opponents I bid “where I live”. I fully intended to bid game but wanted to see what partner would do next (he passed!!!). Over a 4 heart bid I have an easy bid of 4 spades. No one got to slam (makes six in either minor).
May 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks Ed, good advice on how to handle this kind of situation.
May 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks Ray. I have had people playing a system where 2C is GF and says nothing about clubs and they don't alert. The problem arises when you are holding a good club suit behind the club bidder. If you start asking you get accused of giving partner information.
May 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I am not clear. If the two club bid is GF and can be short as two is this alertable?
May 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I should have had a third page. What do you bid if you hear 4 Spades (Opponents silent) by partner over your 4 heart bid?
May 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I use 3NT to show a hand with 5 spades and 4 hearts, so I transfer to 3 spades and then bid 4 hearts showing a hand with 5-5 in the majors.
May 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you play two-over one game force you don't say game force after 2C UNLESS THERE IS MORE TO THE BID OF TWO CLUBS, e.g. partner could have as little as two clubs.
May 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why no alert for the 2 Club bid??
May 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Nor would I. Not knowing the rule at the time, I questioned the director's call based on pure logic. I assumed that when he went away and came back later he was correct that he had consulted the rulebook.
May 6
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Of course cards have been dropped on the floor, but I have never (that I can recall) had a card ruled a penalty card.
May 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think an appeals committee is a moot point. If the director doesn't know the rule what are the chances that people on an appeals committee would. I asked several people who I consider to be competent directors about this situation. They all hesitated and said that while they didn't think it should be a penalty card, they would have to consult the rule book. This just shows that this a very unusual situation. As I said, it was a first for me in over 50 years of playing bridge
May 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Good to know, but I never appeal because it just makes directors tab you as a trouble maker.
May 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ed, remember this was a club game (NO APPEALS) and no big deal for me. I just wanted to know for sure the rule.
May 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
First I want to thank all of you for commenting as I did not know the rule, although I thought based on logic that it should not be a penalty card.

I was not aware that a card had dropped out of my partners hand until declarer said “that's a penalty card” (It is possible that declarer may have thought that my partner hadn't realized that she had dropped a card and is why declarer looked). Any-way, the card apparently dropped near the right table leg of partner. Partner called the director and wisely left the card laying where it fell. The director came over (saw that I couldn't possibly see the card) and said it is a penalty card. I said I didn't think that could be correct (logically it didn't make any sense to me). The director again said, It's a penalty card, play the hand. Partner picked up the card and placed it on the table. About half way through the hand the director came back and said he had checked (didn't say how or who with) and the ruling was correct. The ruling allowed declarer to make five on the hand with all other declarers making four. Even knowing the card (queen of spades) declarer could not make five. But holding three to the King of spades opposite three to the J10 on the board it was easy to hold the spade losers to one.

This was a first for me. In over fifty years of playing bridge I don't ever remember this happening.
May 3
Marion Gebhardt edited this comment May 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
South's hand was QJXXXAKQXXXXX. Should South have bid 2H and then 4NT, assuming North jumps to 4S over 2H?
April 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Very good hand for a simple overcall. Double and originate possible alternative
April 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Its like Henry said, “Way to strong for a weak jump shift”
March 25
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 18 19 20 21
.

Bottom Home Top