Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Marion Gebhardt
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ed would you elaborate. I was stopped cold by the director and new enough not to argue further.
April 13, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't understand your comment. There was no issue of break in tempo.
April 13, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That is exactly what I thought. North was happy with his 5 Diamonds J10XXX plus the King of Clubs.
March 12, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
John, thanks for your contributions. I am interested in your thoughts on why 1S less likely with the alert.
March 12, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“The facts are they didn’t rule 3no trump down 1 they split allowing the 2 hand s holding 25 highs to play 5 clubs down 1 half the time and 4 clubs making the other half.” This is worse how could the director rule that we were down one at 5 clubs and you were allowed to play 4 clubs, making. Had North (who was a man) bid 1S the bidding probably would have gone 2S by partner, 3S by South, pass by me (I now effectively have a nine HCP hand with 2 Spade losers) 4 Clubs by partner, P-P-P.
March 12, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My reason for posting this article was not to cast aspersions on the DIC or the opponents but to see if anyone else had every experienced this. As I said, this was a first for me in over 50 years of playing bridge.
March 9, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't understand your comment. Are you wanting me to name the DIC and opponents.
March 8, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Given the situation that occurred maybe I should have asked the question, what lead would you have made holding the South hand? Obviously North must hold something that got him all fired up when told that the double should have been alerted. Is it a heart card or is it a Spade suit? If it is a Spade suit why didn't he just bid one spade?
March 8, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My partner wasn't sure, but I have always played this as support double.
March 8, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
North did not ask what the bid meant as he had played many times against me and knew for certain that it was a support double. As you say, if he thought otherwise he should asked. He was happy with his 5 diamonds and the club king.

The DIC never offered to speak to me about the overruling or why.
March 8, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Exactly, and the table result would have been either 4 Clubs making or 5 Clubs down one. Since 4 Clubs making was a possible table result, it seems that 3NT-1 is beyond the pale.
March 7, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ed is correct, I was not in the room when the DIC made the decision to overturn the first director's ruling. A teammate at the other table was told of the decision and that we could appeal. I was so appalled by this that I elected not to pursue the matter further.
March 7, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
A responder above said 90% of ACBL players do.
March 7, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
North has about 11000 MPs and is in the top ten of Dallas players-the players polled were definitely his peers.
March 7, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This was a first for me. In over 50 years of playin bridge I had never seen a director ruling based on a poll overturned. I have asked several frequent tournament players if they had every experienced. None had.
March 7, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We don't know..
March 7, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We don't know as both opponents were taken away from the table. It was only after the hand was over that North argued that he would have bid 1S had he known that it was support double. I don't know of anyone at this level who would double for penalty. As someone commented, 90% of people in ACBL land play this as support double. My wasn't sure so didn't alert.
March 7, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“Perhaps the players, including the ”world class pro“ were not peers of the North player at the table, so the DIC decided that the original poll was invalid.” As a one of the top 15 players in Dallas, I don't think there was any issue with the players polled being my peers.
March 7, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I thought once a claim was made that the hand is over. My partner and didn't argue with anyone. That was the reason I called the director. I didn't want to argue with the declarer.
Feb. 28, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It was clearly more than a second. Declarer had laid down the three small cards from his hand and dummy started to fold up his remaining cards. Dummy knew the claim was wrong so why did he start to fold his cards?
Feb. 27, 2018
.

Bottom Home Top