Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Marion Gebhardt
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Unfortunately I did not see the bidding or play up to this point.
Jan. 6, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The diamond play was illogical as declarer would have guaranteed his 3NT contract by playing the Spade 8 and could and did go down one by playing the diamond 8. I think declarer just had a slip of the mind
Jan. 6, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Agree 2NT was incorrect.
Nov. 8, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“1. Both you and partner have suspicions that conditions are ripe, before you sit down.” Do you think there could have been a discussion about tactics during the lunch break???
Nov. 8, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Excllent and think that a 3 Heart bid by me should have been made. Unfortunately my partner said he would bid 3nt. What do you do then?
Nov. 7, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Agree, but passing 2 dias doesn't help. Over call of 1 NT might work if East suspects a psyche.
Nov. 7, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
East hand was:J10X-KJXXX???-X-QXXX. South had psyched a heart. Was there anY realistic way to expose the psyche. South is a world class player and at the lunch break in an eight board match they were down 23 IMPS???
Nov. 7, 2016
Marion Gebhardt edited this comment Nov. 7, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks for taking your time to try to add some clarity on this issue. It is helpful.
Oct. 24, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I have several directors about this and they don't seem to know whether there is a violation here. You are probably right that club players should be “aware” that the third hand can be really light. Being aware is the problem when there is nothing on the card.
Oct. 24, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The group of experts this pair associates with are known to open third hand non-vul ultra light. I would guess that they have heard how effective this is against relatively inexperienced players. They had nothing marked on the card. I myself, being an experienced tournament player, am not bothered by this tactic. I do worry about use of it in a routine club game where players range from novices to near experts. It is still not clear to me that there is a violation of any rule. But it is like Bob Hamman wrote several years ago that there was no place for use of Multi-2 Dias bid except possible one of the major team games. A routine club game is probably not some place that this tactic should be used.
Oct. 24, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ed, I am not sure that ACBL GCC Item 6 (DISALLOWED
6. Opening one bids which by partnership agreement could show fewer than 8 HCP. (Not applicable to a psych.)) applies. Opening 1 Dia in their system could be as much as 19 HCPs. If opening 1 Dia in third seat specifically could be less than 8 HCPs, then I agree. Thanks any way. The pair involved are near expert class and play with experts. I am sure they have had in-depth discussions about this tactic. My partner, who ended up playing 3 NT, is relatively inexperienced and managed to go down 2 on a had that he should have made 4. No excuse except the average player in a club game has never run into this and can easily lose their focus.
Oct. 23, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Is there an ACBL rule? I know there is a World Bridge Federation Rule but I wouldn't think it applies to a local club game in the US.
Oct. 23, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Should the partner with the above hand take a call?
Oct. 23, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Partner of the 3RD hand opener held:KQX-1098XXX-10X-KX and did not peep over my partner's 1NT overcall???
Oct. 23, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree with John. The director came back to me several days later and told me, “I guess you knew I had made an error in my ruling”, and thanked me for being courteous at the table.
Oct. 22, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Excellent idea. The director in this case couldn't seem to find the rules that applied.
Oct. 21, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Actually the director is a very pleasant person and tries very hard to run a fair game
Oct. 19, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The director said she couldn't find anything in the rule book. I was almost positive the ruling was incorrect, but chose to let it go as it didn't afect our 2nd place overall.
Oct. 19, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That is the question. I hoped to get some kind of answer. A local director told me that he would double and let the “cops come after him”.
Sept. 26, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There was a definite break in tempo. My partner had 11 HCPs and a 5 card spade suit. We were cold for 4 spades and /or no trump. I spoke with the director later and she told me that this was not the first time this pair had psyched a NT under these conditions and I should have called the director at the time it happened.
Sept. 22, 2016
.

Bottom Home Top