Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Marion Gebhardt
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So what bid do you suggest with my hand since partner cannot have a strong hand with 5-5 in the black suits as we play Leaping Michaels. I could understand an argument that pass after 3 clubs (without the alert) by partner was a logical alternative. You and others were so focused on a raise to 4 Clubs, driving the hand to 5 Clubs, that you forgot to consider the LA. The director never asked about our agreement regarding Leaping Michaels nor did he give this info to those polled. If the director had ruled that 3 Clubs was a LA and given us a result of down one there would have been no further discussion.
June 2, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I related earlier that I once told a lady, who was scared to death of her husband (partner), to pick up a dropped card that would have allowed me to make an impossible contract. The lady thanked me, but my partner was upset that I did this.
June 2, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Calling this a major UI infraction seems a little farfetched. A few people responding felt that 3nt was a reasonable bid, particularly with RHO'S interest in the 3 Club bid. As John Holmes said, calling the director to ask for an undeserved result, “is despicable”
June 2, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I have asked numerous players whether they would ask for a score adjustment. The response was almost universal,“No”. I for one do not want to play against people that game the system and I have seen people quit the game after being subjected to this kind of ruling. Several people on this forum commented that 3NT OR 4 Clubs were reasonable responses. The PRO could see that 3NT was a contract that his partners would be in, probably making, so he had nothing to lose by asking for an adjustment. The pro also knew the match was close and could swing on this board. Again, the mentality of win at any cost. If that is what it takes to win, I don't want any part of it.
June 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks for your well thought out analysis. I don't think I gave anything away with my reaction to partner's alert of 2NT, however an expert can pick up on even the slightest hitch. My partner did not appear to have picked up on anything and passed smoothly over my 3NT bid. When the pro went into the tank and said he still had a problem with the bid, my partner said 2 NT may have been just invitational. This was the first time my partner and I had played a tournament and when partner looked at AJ OF HEARTS in his hand opposite a 2NT bid by me he was worried that this was some kind of undiscussed Lebenshol situation. Unfortunately, this was incorrect. I see know reason that the Pro should be rewarded with an illogical result that as Spencer said, “The Pro was experienced enough to see how to try to manipulate the situation.”
June 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Whether our score adjustment was appropriate is a matter of debate. But I believe there should have been a corresponding penalty assessed for inappropriate questions. RHO had no reason for any questions:“His hand certainly doesn't support that thesis…” What question does it support??
May 22, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Were there mitigating circumstances?? Absolutely, RHO's action clearly damaged his side. Why, should they be rewarded for unwarranted actions. Had he not asked about alert and followed up with saying, “I still have a problem with the bidding”, before making his final pass, his partner would never have defended the way she did. Why don't you do a poll about his partner's lead against 3 NT with the alert and RHO questions included?
May 22, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Absolutely RHO had no reason to ask about the alert. After the hand was over he realized that a low club at trick one would have set 3 NT, not an unreasonable lead from his partner absent the preoccupation with the alert, etc. Now since he had caused the mis-defense, he had to try to recover by asking for a score adjustment. I doubt whether RHO'S actions were relayed to the people asked about what they would bid on the hand. I agree there was UI but I think it was a travesty to reward the opponents after the at best questionable action by RHO.
May 21, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes there was UI, but RHO had no reason to ask about the alert. To ask for an adjusted score is something most reasonable bridge players would not think of doing. If he had not asked, maybe his partner would have found the low club lead at trick one. I am sure his partner was convinced that he held 4 clubs. Why else would she have defended this way.
May 21, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't think I can alert 3 clubs when I know the alert of the 2NT is incorrect. This would have just told partner that I had a real NT bid. With the actual hand RHO held, what possible problem does he have? Maybe he is trying to convey that he has a strong holding in spades. In any case his partner got the message wrong. No one has commented that a low club at trick one would set 3NT???
May 21, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“but I don't believe this in any way affected my final bid.” You are telling me you wouldn't take a shot at a 9 trick contract. I think that is baloney.
May 21, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No one said NS was blameless. When RHO calls the director before passing and says, “I have a problem with the bidding”, with the hand he held, I think John Holmes is right. It “smacks of gamesmanship or worse”. I have seen this kind of action result in people never returning to duplicate.
May 21, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That was exactly my point. No question my partner gave UI when he alerted the 2NT bid, but I don't believe this in any way affected my final bid. No way would I ever try for a 11 card contract, particularly with RHO'S intense interest in the 3 club bid. If they can run 5 diamonds and set the contract so be it. The other people responding apparently don't agree with you.
May 21, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
After RHO made the final pass, I corrected the mis-explanation of the 2NT bid, plus my partner said when the director was called before RHO made the final pass that 2 NT was probably just a NT invitation.
May 18, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Which tactic “is improper”?
May 18, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Partner's response was that 2NT is a relay to clubs??? What other reason could he have for asking the question??
May 18, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Exactly why didn't the director ask what the question was about. The only logical reason in my mind is he was looking at something like AKXXX in clubs. I reiterate I am convinced from his partner's lead and continuation that she thought he had 4-clubs to the queen.
May 18, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
He asked the question as my partner did not say what the alert was for–i.e. correct procedure
May 18, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I wouldn't ask for a score adjustment as I could see that I am not entitled to a fluke score based on an opponent's momentary “brain lock”. It seems that the people responding have no such sense of fairness. I was in a situation several years where a top level pro pair did not alert a Stayman response(they were playing that if they were 3-2 in the majors they could bid the 3 -card suit). We lost our 4-4 fit in that major. I sent the hand to Eric Kokish who knew their system and he responded that they absolutely should have alerted. We won the match anyway. I didn't ask for a score adjustment.
May 17, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why should I ignore ill-advised questioning by an opponent. Again, the only reasons I can see for the questions are I have clubs. Sometimes opponents provide a roadmap with questions that shouldn't be asked, usually to their benefit, but not in this case.
May 17, 2016
.

Bottom Home Top