Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Marion Gebhardt
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I should have had a third page. What do you bid if you hear 4 Spades (Opponents silent) by partner over your 4 heart bid?
May 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I use 3NT to show a hand with 5 spades and 4 hearts, so I transfer to 3 spades and then bid 4 hearts showing a hand with 5-5 in the majors.
May 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you play two-over one game force you don't say game force after 2C UNLESS THERE IS MORE TO THE BID OF TWO CLUBS, e.g. partner could have as little as two clubs.
May 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why no alert for the 2 Club bid??
May 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Nor would I. Not knowing the rule at the time, I questioned the director's call based on pure logic. I assumed that when he went away and came back later he was correct that he had consulted the rulebook.
May 6
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Of course cards have been dropped on the floor, but I have never (that I can recall) had a card ruled a penalty card.
May 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think an appeals committee is a moot point. If the director doesn't know the rule what are the chances that people on an appeals committee would. I asked several people who I consider to be competent directors about this situation. They all hesitated and said that while they didn't think it should be a penalty card, they would have to consult the rule book. This just shows that this a very unusual situation. As I said, it was a first for me in over 50 years of playing bridge
May 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Good to know, but I never appeal because it just makes directors tab you as a trouble maker.
May 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ed, remember this was a club game (NO APPEALS) and no big deal for me. I just wanted to know for sure the rule.
May 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
First I want to thank all of you for commenting as I did not know the rule, although I thought based on logic that it should not be a penalty card.

I was not aware that a card had dropped out of my partners hand until declarer said “that's a penalty card” (It is possible that declarer may have thought that my partner hadn't realized that she had dropped a card and is why declarer looked). Any-way, the card apparently dropped near the right table leg of partner. Partner called the director and wisely left the card laying where it fell. The director came over (saw that I couldn't possibly see the card) and said it is a penalty card. I said I didn't think that could be correct (logically it didn't make any sense to me). The director again said, It's a penalty card, play the hand. Partner picked up the card and placed it on the table. About half way through the hand the director came back and said he had checked (didn't say how or who with) and the ruling was correct. The ruling allowed declarer to make five on the hand with all other declarers making four. Even knowing the card (queen of spades) declarer could not make five. But holding three to the King of spades opposite three to the J10 on the board it was easy to hold the spade losers to one.

This was a first for me. In over fifty years of playing bridge I don't ever remember this happening.
May 3
Marion Gebhardt edited this comment May 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
South's hand was QJXXXAKQXXXXX. Should South have bid 2H and then 4NT, assuming North jumps to 4S over 2H?
April 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Very good hand for a simple overcall. Double and originate possible alternative
April 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Its like Henry said, “Way to strong for a weak jump shift”
March 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In deciding whether to bid 1S or 2S you must take in account where is the heart suit. When West bids clubs over what ever you choose and partner supports spades you now know what to do.
March 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No one seems to have touched on other considerations on this hand. Where are the hearts? The opponents have at least 9 hearts between them, maybe ten and East didn't overcall, presumably with at least 5 hearts, maybe 6 or 7. East must not have many points. West didn't double with possible shortness in spades or a double and originate hand. So what's going on. Once partner supports spades via a cuebid of 3C (if you choose to bid 1S) how can you not be in game. If you bid 2S and partner bids 3S over 3C, you have to bid game based on the same reasoning. Partner's high cards setting behind West must be working.
March 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“You're not the white knight so you can stop talking backwards.” I don't understand the comment.
March 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Agree. What do you bid after it goes 3C by West and 3S by North?
March 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sorry for the mispost.
March 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I apologize. I posted the problem as East bidding. East passes and the question was what do you bid as South?
March 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“2nt ogust sry meant asking bid, and if u open 1S, what r u going to do when prd insist to defend some oppos contract doubled?” I'm confused???
March 23
.

Bottom Home Top