Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Marion Gebhardt
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ed, I don't make my own rulings, but in a club game when both opponents practically shout you just said “play”, I thought it best to just let it go. Maybe I should have called the director to protect the field, but it is not viewed that way by most players. They think you are just being nasty.
Feb. 26
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't remember whether I said play or play the, before the distraction, but I definitely did not say Club. So on this line of reasoning, since there were three other suits on dummy, I could have been calling for a card from any of the three. I am still not sure about what would be ruled if you just say play and there are multiple suits available. I know I always ask what and don't assume that declarer is playing the suit previously played. It was obvious in this case that I intended to play clubs as I needed to take the immediate discard. Partner has a bad habit of putting his hand on the card he thinks I am going to play next. I had cautioned him about this and that is what distracted me. Still no excuse.
Feb. 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It was a club game.
Feb. 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I could have called the director, but this was a club game and I thought if the opponents were this opportunistic it was better to just let it go. I didn't want a scene. It is my practice in this kind of situation to tell the opponent to play the card that they intended to play.
Feb. 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree it is distracting. Thanks.
Feb. 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Craig, if the bidding goes 1NT-2C-2H do you bid 3S to show shortness and slam interest. If so, you can no longer find whether a void or singleton. What would 2S be?
Feb. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Excellent comments by Craig. Responses like this is why I post on Bridge Winners.
Feb. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks for the comments. I like the 2H transfer to spades followed by 3H to show unspecified shortage.
Feb. 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Kieran, that holding would make 6S cold. What should North do?
Feb. 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
With KQ109XXX he maybe still thinking. Probably would pass.
Jan. 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
North responds 4S (one w/Q) TO 4C.
Jan. 30
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
North bids 4H over 3S. What next?
Jan. 30
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Greg, I didn't understand you comment: “I think Bergen and some others covered it.”
Jan. 30
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Only problem is partner remembering even when it is written on his card. I always go over my card before I start a session, paying particular attention to the more esoteric bids that seldom come up. I don't remember missing a bid in the last six months. Zeke Jabbour said that reading his card over before he started a session saved him more match points then any other action.
Jan. 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Three diamonds is not undisciplined (“middle of the road”). Actual results on the hand were:nine @ 3N-1, one @ 6D-1, three @ 5D making, one @ 4D making five, two @ 3NT making. The North hand was JXX-XX-AJ1098XX-X. IF partner bid 5C(two with the Q) over 4C, I would want to be in six.
Jan. 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Special Keycard??
Jan. 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
4C is the bid I would have made. I learned this bid a long time ago. I seems that not many people are conversant with 4C Special Keycard. Maybe because it rarely comes up, maybe once every 6 mos. I can't fathom bidding 3NT.
Jan. 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Would like to see some comments from those who bid 3NT.
Jan. 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What is the 4C bid?
Jan. 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks, good comments.
Jan. 28
.

Bottom Home Top