Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Marion Gebhardt
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Excellent analysis Ray. If West had that hand why didn't he bid 3S(preemptive) at his first opportunity to bid.
Jan. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No suit lead transfers after an over-call of partner's opening bid. Partner was confused. A simple N-S auction where East took a bid that she thought she would get away with not being doubled. She is used to most people not doubling. North is not your average club player.
Jan. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No explanation given.
Jan. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't know what universe you play in but if 3D is forcing then I guess I have a lot to learn about this game.
Jan. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Certainly North's double was meant for takeout. On the bidding the hand belonged to N-S and South can pull to 4C or convert with the hand she held. East had no business taking the belated call as West could have raised with a much weaker hand.
Jan. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The 3D bid by South was assumed to be a game try showing a solid hand with 10+ points. North rightly so judged that it would take a perfecto to make 11 tricks. Bidding game on hands like this is losing bridge at the club level (take it from someone that averages close to 60 percent in club games). So with East seeing the bidding and knowing that the 3D bid by South should be a mild game try, why would you as East chance a 3S and either get doubled or possibly push N-S into a making game.
Jan. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
North doesn't have a game going hand, but is unwilling to sell out to 3S
Jan. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
South explained before the lead that she thought she was showing a constructive diamond raise. When the director arrived North explained that South was confused and that the 2C bid was assummed to be a hand with 5 clubs and 10+ points. E-W had the same info.
Jan. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree N-S should not keep the score of +470, but what is fair. I think East thought with the Heart stack that they were getting +300 against a highly doubtful game.
Dec. 19, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
East complained vehemently to the director after the hand was over???
Dec. 18, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
60/40 seems reasonable given the actual results on the hand.
Dec. 18, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I have had more than one person psyche 1S against me in this situation. In fact some people say they routinely double a 1S bid by responder to counter a 1S psyche.
Dec. 18, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No, just play the hand out.
Dec. 18, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I never questioned the legality of the bid. When people are being taught a system where 2C is a game force bid (with less than 4 Clubs) and they can have a strong 5-card and they aren't told this is alertable something is wrong.
Dec. 13, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What kind of mistake? They said this is their system and they forgot to alert. My first question was what system?
Dec. 12, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
See Kit Woolsey's comment below.
Dec. 8, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't know. I do know that in one instance I was involved in the director verbally polled the “experts”.
Dec. 8, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I believe the practice of polling “experts” is seriously flawed. The “experts” often know what conclusion the director is seeking. “When the director approaches is the question in writing or does he rely on verbally relating the information?” Does the director relay all the facts? There used to be a process where a committee was formed to review an appeal and each side could answer questions. Apparently this is no longer used.
Dec. 8, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
David gives a good explanation of what is misinformation and what is a misbid. The problem arises as to when does misinformation and/or a misbid constitute UI. Does a mistaken alert in the bidding sequence 2H-2S-P-2NT-(Mistaken Alert by 2S bidder)P-3C-P-3NT-P-P-P constitute UI? If it does in that case why not in this case? And why shouldn't the score have been adjusted to 3H down one?
Dec. 8, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I thought this was MI at the time and is why I called the director. I was quickly told this was a misbid and tough luck.
Dec. 7, 2018
.

Bottom Home Top