Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Marion Gebhardt
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No but at least four in a major, otherwise we have another “kettle of fish”.
Dec. 7, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“Why assume you would be getting to a 5-2 heart fit opposite a 3rd seat opener?” I don't understand the comment. The 2D bid showed 4-card heart support.
Dec. 6, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Peg, I agree with Phil that a player memo should be used for more important matters. In regards to my post : “You Suspect a Psyche by Marion Gebhardt Nov. 4”, I have had this conversation with several ACBL officials including Robb Gordon.
You can see from the reply that the ACBL doesn't want to be bothered. When you are playing Swiss teams it can be difficult to fill out a player memo as you have no electronic record of the hand.



Attn: Robb Gordon
Robb, I have been having this conversation with Charles McCracken (District 16 Head Director) about a way to monitor psyching at tournaments. I believe requiring a player memo to report a psyche is a misuse of this mechanism. Further most players aren’t aware that when they call a director over to report a psyche that no electronic record is kept of the incident. Also the reported psyche could be lost in verbal communications with other directors who may or not be present at that time in the session. I have proposed that a simple electronic log be developed and its use be required for each session. This log could be used for noting a myriad of incidents, none warranting a player memo. As I told Charles, if there is no effective way of monitoring psyches during a session, why have a policy against excessive psyching.

If you are not the ACBL official I should be communicating with on this issue, please let me know who it is.

Thanks,

Marion Gebhardt

Dear Mr Gebhardt –

Sorry to not see this and respond sooner. Because we have no way to enforce mandatory recording of psychs and because the definition of a psych is somewhat subjective, no good purpose would be served by having a mechanism (which would be costly and time-consuming) for such an electronic log.

We allow psychs to be recorded on player memos, but generally prefer that they only be recorded when there is some suggestion of “fielding” by partner of psycher or it appears to be habitual or disruptive (as opposed to the purpose of trying to achieve a good bridge result). I attach an article I wrote recently that hasn’t yet been published on this subject.

Best regards,


Robb Gordon
National Recorder
Dec. 6, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ed, It was 4-card support as I verified today. This was the last hand of the game and I left in a hurry to beat the rush hour traffic.
Dec. 5, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Actually E-W play 2-Way reverse Drury with 2D showing 4-Card support. I verified this today. West just forgot. Now I am wondering why East didn't bid 3 Hearts. Makes the two Spade bid even better.
Dec. 5, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We follow the rule of 20+ in first and second seat. HCPs plus length of two suits adds to 19.
Dec. 5, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As Kit explained N-S is not due an adjustment. This is what I wanted to learn from the post. Also I never appeal a club director's ruling. They get offended.

“Note that NS do not deserve a ruling on the basis that EW have a misunderstanding, i.e. take back 2♠ AND force east to complete Drury to 2♥.”

“In most clubs you have the opportunity to appeal but if you ask here it's probably too late for that. Clubs should encourage appealing director's decisions at this is usually a learning experience for all involved.”
Dec. 5, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I really appreciate Kit's lucid explanation. It certainly helped me to understand how this kind of situation should be handled. I had not thought of the UI, but having been on the wrong end of a UI case when my partner forgot Lebenshol I can see that might be the case here. After all West held 10HCPs with the Heart Ace and a good diamond suit (AJ109X).
Dec. 4, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As I said above, my purpose in putting this on Bridge Winners was to understand how these cases are usually handled. As I understand Kit, its tough luck for N-S but there maybe other considerations for E-W. I could see a ruling of N-S
-200 and E-W -50.
Dec. 4, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Also my reason for putting this on Bridge Winners is to see what others have experienced when this has happened to them. Maybe that's just the breaks of the game, although it seems every time I or my partner forget a bid we get penalized for it. For example the time my partner forgot my Lebensohl 2NT response to his T.O. double of 2H and the director adjusted the result to down two at 5 Clubs when 3 NT made on the actual defense.
Dec. 4, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No explanation. Just “Drury”. I assumed 3 card support as that is the way it is taught in this club.
Dec. 4, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Agree David. It wasn't lack of alert but West forgetting their system which apparently is two-way Drury. If South held one Heart as the bid and alert indicated, North-South rated to be down one at most in 2 Spades and a Spade lead was certainly wanted in case E-W bid 4 Hearts. Without the miss-bid on West's part North should never bid 2 Spades.
Dec. 4, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes it was marked
Dec. 4, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
West just forgot and apologized profusely
Dec. 4, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Probably 3 card support although just said Drury
Dec. 4, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree that 3D would have worked out better, but South could have held something like:AQXXXAXXXXX-KX and with what looks like 4 tricks would be happy to defend 2S doubled. Interesting no one played 3D. How do you think so many got to 4H and one to 6H?
Nov. 19, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You didn't offend me. I put this problem on Bridge winners because I thought it showed the importance of doing what I call “second loop thinking”. Your first thought is this is penalty, but on second thought as obviously Craig did, it must be some kind of offensive oriented hand that partner underbid on his second bid.
Nov. 18, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Would your partner have jumped to 3H? “no prd of mine would have bid like that”. I think there is a lot to be learned from this exercise. Experts get these decisions right more times than not because they stop and think, viz-viz 5 minute tanks.
Nov. 18, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I believe those that ended up in 4H and 6H(???) bid 3H at their second turn. there is no substitute for good judgement at the bridge table.
Nov. 18, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
East and West hands were: East KQ43AJ84910952, West J108210KJ1048763
Nov. 18, 2018
.

Bottom Home Top