Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Matt Muir
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If an American can't figure out (from context) what Brits mean by “Don't lose your hair”, then s/he isn't smart enough to appreciate much of this poem, anyway.
It's a great little “Ballade”.
Nov. 23, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Tomasz, of course he would've taken four trump tricks by playing the J…or, indeed, any card.
Nov. 21, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“All bridge tournament directors do their job properly as they would stop getting paid otherwise.”

Boy, I hope this is meant to be ironic. Have you ever known of anyone who did not do his/her job properly…and who, nonetheless got paid?
Nov. 4, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Shakespeare was not illiterate; it's well documented that his parents were married.
Oct. 28, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I once played the Double card, and an opponent immediately bid. I said, “Wait; I didn't intend my X.” The Director, called, advised me that I could only retract a mechanical error. Since the X didn't look like a bid, he was expecting to rule that it would stand.
I explained that my intention was to pull out the Stop card, and then to make a jump bid. The Director allowed that action, of course.

(Dangit, I miss the Stop card. I have one at home that I use as a bookmark.)
Oct. 14, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
For FWIW, I prefer the EBU rule. The ACBL interpretation allows for too much subjectivity. What means “nearly touching the table”?
Better to hold the player responsible for his/her bid, as soon as s/he makes the intention to bid clear, even if the exact bid is not seen by opps.
Oct. 14, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Perhaps, but that's an irrelevant comment. This has nothing whatsoever to do with “political correctness”. I suggest that you google the term—and those who “liked” your comment would be well advised to do the same.
Oct. 14, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Alan Frank: Me too. The last time a director asked to see my private score, it was because I'd botched a 1NT contract—gone down big, when I could've made overtrix. I handed him my score, saying “It's true.”
Oct. 14, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Alain, that's why Ray Yuenger's advice makes so much sense. It allows the Director to investigate the evidence, before any accusations go further.
Oct. 13, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I see what you did there, John Portwood.
Why don't you abide by the BW guidelines, and leave politics out of it already?
Oct. 13, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Actuary, my question was in response to Dan's question (“If North bids 3♠ or 3NT over 3♥, how does South know he has more than 4 hearts?”).
What I meant was: South must know that North has more than 4 s, because North is showing power, almost certainly at least 5.
Butt, again, I ain't no expert.
Oct. 13, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm no expert, butt why would North ever cue 3 with a blah 4- holding?
Oct. 11, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If it's constructive criticism from a strong player, I welcome it. Butt even there, there can probably be too much of a good thing.
Oct. 8, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Tom: Agreed. Not too long ago, I saw a bunch of college-agers who'd won their Swiss Teams section. They were high-fiving one another.
And why not? That is celebration, not gloating.
Oct. 8, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
John, what is wrong with the word “unexplainable”? Seems to be a synonym for “inexplicable”.
I get that it's a newish word which hasn't yet had the test of time (first known use is ca. 1711, accordion to Merriam-Webster), butt the language can occasionally accommodate new stuff.
Oct. 8, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That's what leapt to mind for me, also. It's part of why you'll find more upsets in the NFL than the NBA: seven-game series will tend to favor the stronger team, whereas a one-game “series” carries a greater probability that the objectively weaker team win, due to having a good day.
Sept. 22, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Rotate the bidding, yes. I was confused by the 2 bid, thinking it was some sort of weird weak 2. Now I understand, duh. Thanx.
Sept. 20, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ed, yes, the LOOT stood. At the time, I thought that was a correct decision. Upon reflection, I'm not so danged sure.
Sept. 19, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Giles, if you're talking to me: That is not what I mean.
Please note that not all leads are made at Trick One. In fact, only 1/13, or 7.69230769230…%, of leads are made at Trick One.
Sept. 19, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
A director recently told me that, as Dummy, I couldn't call him. After the session, he read the paragraph from the rule book to me.
I asked him to read the next paragraph, which thereby informed him that Dummy could call the director after attention had been called to an irregularity.

Jest last weekend, when my P led out of turn, a very experienced Dummy exclaimed. When the director was called, the OOT lead was described. I then pointed out that Dummy had called attention to it. Director ruled that the Declarer had no right to rectification.

It didn't matter to the play, as it turned out. Butt I really didn't want the lead at that point.
Sept. 18, 2018
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13
.

Bottom Home Top