Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Melanie Manfield
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 85 86 87 88
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@John
Yes
3 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sorry, I meant to just say 501© –
3 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think that is likely.
4 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The round had not started – there was a break.
IMO it would be different if the round had started.
What happened was, I came back to the table (again, before the official start of the round) and all 3 other people at the table had already bid. I did not realize that I felt rushed, but subconsciously I must have, because I misbid by bidding 2 over partner's 1NT when I had – Hearts. I realized it right away, but I didn't think that I could take the bid back. Naturally, we ended up in 4 (I held KJ of that suit) and got a zero.
10 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Joe Hertz,
Thanks for your support!
10 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Here is a separate question – I do have a reason for asking it here, though – and it is not worth starting a separate thread.

What do you opine about this situation: there is a break round. The break is not over. Two members of one partnership and one of the other are sitting at the table. Dealer (he and his partner are at the table) takes out his hand, sorts it, and bids. His LHO is at the table.

???
11 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
IMO the majority of players are unaware of the 2017 Laws change.
Therefore, most players are at a disadvantage, because they wouldn't call the Director under the circumstances described here. I know that I would not have, and I have been in this kind of situation.

So – now I know!
11 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I certainly agree that there are reasons why one may want to know if partnership agreement is A from AK, whether or not it is on that particular hand.
My problem is that declarer usually does not ask until the lead has been faced. Then, if for example, partner leads the suit, and I have the King, what do I say? So, usually, I just don't say “Ace from Ace King.”
But then, that leads to the problem described, where Declarer gets annoyed about having to ask explicitly, because that gives away information.
I do normally have a card filled out, so in that case, perhaps looking at the card is the best solution.
12 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
On a somewhat related topic:

It somehow entered my consciousness belatedly in San Francisco that my daughter would not be able to play in the North American Swiss unless she renewed her ACBL membership (I didn't know it wasn't current). At the last minute, on Friday morning, she and I ran up to the 2nd floor of the Marriott Marquis. We literally had no idea which way to turn. Fortunately, I saw a bridge player I know, and he told us to turn around and go in the opposite direction. We did find the appropriate office, and renewed her membership (after reading this thread, I realize that some of her points have gone by the boards, at least for now – she's probably unconcerned about that).

We came close to not playing in the event. Yes, I realize that that's our problem, etc., etc. – but maybe it would be a good idea to publicize more that it's important to have your membership current to play in certain events, and have someone present at the entry desk who can sign up members?

I just want to add that the person who renewed my daughter's membership was extremely helpful the next day about a different matter that arose subsequently
12 hours ago
Melanie Manfield edited this comment 12 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In response to Jonathan –

I agree that there are other forms of bridge.
You mentioned kitchen table bridge: I played it over Thanksgiving. I enjoyed it.
It was different enough from my experience at the San Francisco NABC that I still
hold to my belief that the ACBL largely has a monopoly on face-to-face, competitive duplicate bridge in North America.

Regarding the ABA – I have not had the pleasure of playing in an ABA tournament.
I probably will play in their spring tournament in Baltimore (I won't be in Columbus).
I look forward to that opportunity.

Nevertheless, IMO, the ACBL is largely in its own category. And I don't think that I see it that way because I'm “blinded by my love of masterpoints.”
12 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ray,

I don't know. I do know that this issue was raised on BW by a young man without a large number of masterpoints, who was part of a winning (Open) Grand National Team earlier this year. He commented that his win meant that he wouldn't really be able to play with his friends any more. He did a poll, and it seemed that most people who responded (obviously not a scientific sample) thought that people in his category (a U.S. player having won an Open event) should be able to play in 0 to 10K events at NABCs, but not in lower-level events.

It probably is not a large group. But, I would be surprised if there are not some folks out there, who won something years ago and have not heard about these new rules, who are in for an unpleasant surprise.

Of course, I do understand that I, personally, am not the target of these new rules. They do affect me significantly, though.
13 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
However, what if you know partner has led from Ace-empty, even though your partnership does lead Ace from AK?

I have encountered this situation – asked about leads and carding, I gave a brief general description – then received the follow-up question about A from AK. I answered yes –
Should Ace from AK just always be included, each time an opponent asks about leads and carding? I suppose that is what you are saying. I do say standard Honor leads if that appears to be in question with the lead (e.g. Jack is led).
13 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks, Mike.
13 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My partner and I also played in the event against the Polish juniors who were disqualified after the first day. I also wish that they had been allowed to continue in the event.

In addition, I think that it would have been a good idea to print a short explanation in the Daily Bulletin. Of course, people in the mini-Blues were chatting about this disqualification and speculating about why it had occurred.
14 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hi Mike M.,

There are other options regarding the issue that you mention –such as assessing the levels of experts from abroad separately (and leaving the U.S. experts who have fewer than 10,000 points alone until they reach that level), coming up with a current rating system (such as there is in England) to go along with our total masterpoint system, etc.

That being said – since the ACBL Board is implementing these regulations (I think the vote was approximately 14 to 11, with one abstention) – then yes, I do think that since these regulations are being applied retroactively, there should be some procedure to ask to be “grandfathered” in, have one's level reassessed, etc.
14 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Peg,

I am very sorry to hear that you were not treated well in your “roaming reporter” role.
14 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
And I wish to add the following –

Yes, I'm only one person. However –

Our team in Orlando in the fall of 2018 that won the World Mixed title, was the only U.S. team that won a major title at that championships. I believe that we acquitted ourselves honorably.

Yet – the very same clique of people (and again, it is my understanding that this was a split vote) that pushed hard for a player from another country (I believe that the person's initials are M.L.) who had been thrown out for cheating to be readmitted to play in the ACBL with no admission of guilt whatsoever – is the clique that decided upon the rules that effectively dump all over me (with no possibility of “grandfathering” or exceptions of which I am aware).
17 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hi Ray,

I agree that these plights are related only tangentially.

However, I would argue that they are somewhat related, because the ACBL effectively has monopoly power in North America – perhaps in the same way that Facebook effectively has monopoly power at this time in its own category.

For me, as a competitive bridge player, the ACBL's effectively “dumping” me from events that are appropriate to my level, is a greater consequence than if Facebook dumped me.

For someone with a very visible, professional position with the ACBL – such as Editor of the Bulletin – to sneer at members' concerns, is relevant in my opinion to those who have serious issues with the ACBL and believe that the ACBL should endeavor to be fair and open-minded.

And again – the ACBL is not a for-profit company. It is a non-profit MEMBERSHIP organization. It actually should be all about the members.
17 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hi Shawn,

I don't know Amir, and therefore, of course I know nothing about his financial situation.

However, not everyone feels comfortable broadcasting information about income and financial status. As someone who is fortunate financially, I think that it is less likely someone in my situation would be stewing about this, rather than someone on a limited budget.

In addition, since the ACBL is a 501©(3) non-profit membership organization (not a for-profit company) – and since some members are on a fixed income – I do argue that it is insensitive for employees or ACBL representatives to call paying $150 rather than $50 a “simple solution.” That may not be a simple solution for every ACBL member.

After all (and this is totally off topic), 1.4 million people in the U.S. (and this does not count folks who live in Puerto Rico or folks who are without a home entirely) lack running water/indoor plumbing. So, we have all kinds of different circumstances.
18 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
And (adding to Richard W.'s latest comment),

Since the ACBL is a 501© non-profit membership organization, listening to members and showing them respect could be considered an even more important task than for a for-profit company.
19 hours ago
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 85 86 87 88
.

Bottom Home Top