Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Michael Shuster
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Axxx, AKxx, Ax, Kxxx makes an excellent 7 and a rather cold small slam (even without the spade ace, you have play in 7)
Oct. 31, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
unless an unusual treatment is in effect, 3 is Stayman. Why wouldn't it be?
Oct. 31, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
shouldn't you give the next round of the auction starting with 3 and response. At this point, you should get a unanimous response.
Oct. 31, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When they bid it, they will make it. What is so exciting about your heart holding? And what part of partners bidding or your hand makes you think you are cashing a black trick (when they bid seven?)

Bidding 6 is mandatory; would it shock you to make it?
Oct. 25, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My vote for an immediate 7 is a joke - I'm assuming I'll wind up there later. But seriously, you'd let them play a grand after your partner showed an offensive hand with the black suits? They probably have 17 tricks.
Oct. 24, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Might as well bid seven and save a round of bidding.
Oct. 23, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I have a rule… at MPs, never pull your partner's penalty double to a sure minus score.
Oct. 18, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
but you are more likely to be going -800 in a phantom.
Oct. 16, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Lots of bad calls to take aim at. Why not 2 over 1?? But the 5 call is straight from the loony bin.

It would also help to know the form of scoring.
Oct. 16, 2012
Michael Shuster edited this comment Oct. 16, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Feels like a UI problem.
Oct. 11, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I voted for pass, but if playing weak NTs, I'd bid 2
Oct. 9, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I disagree that you've denied diamond help with 3. If you have heart support you need to tell partner, and that has priority over 3NT - especially since there is still room to investigate 3NT over 3.
Oct. 6, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Because he would have raised clubs. He doesn't have that hand. And opener can have the club ace - or is a sound preempt so unheard of nowadays? Wouldn't you open 2 with KJTxxx of diamonds and either the spade king or club ace (in 3NT you have to guess which to play for). And many (including me) would open 2 not 1 with xxx, xx, KQJxxx, Ax.
Oct. 6, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No one is at all worried partner has xxx, AQJxx, Ax, xxx? First he tried to get you to bid 3NT in case you had Qx(x) in diamonds. So even 3NT is in danger on a diamond lead; you have to guess where the entry is. Meanwhile, 4H is much better.
Oct. 6, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
DONT is on my short-list of worst conventions ever. How else can you play your 4-2 fit instead of your 5-5 fit?
They open 1NT, you bid 2C with 5-1-3-4 shape and your partner passes with 5-5-1-2 shape. Well done!!
Oct. 4, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't play a big club, but making a negative response with this hand seems like a blunder to me. I'd force game opposite a 15-17 NT opener.
Sept. 19, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The director can and should restore equity.
Sept. 12, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
4NT, but not as a psyche… if partner has two aces we shouldn't save at all.
Sept. 11, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I believe the director can also, at this point, cancel the final pass and give the NOS another chance. That won't affect their ability to get an adjusted score though.
Sept. 11, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You think 3 will be doubled by a player who can have at most the queen of trumps with no spots, so you choose to defend 3 with a 5.5 loser hand. Meanwhile you don't give partner credit with doubling the opponents with 9HCP, a stiff in our suit and four trumps with two secondary honors? In that world, both people are just doing their own thing. And there is nothing about this auction to indicate a bad heart split. RHO overcalled, he didn't double, so he'll have heart length. Replace RHO's 2 call with a X and bidding would be more dangerous (but I'd still bid).
Sept. 10, 2012
.

Bottom Home Top