Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Mike Ladd
1 2 3 4 5 6
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
could very well be the case
15 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Whatever the way the policy is eventually implemented (I expect some minor changes to what was stated), there are two very key dates. An obvious date is September 25 when those unsure of attending may very well cancel before penalties occur. The second is the date the Spring Regional in Philadelphia can be booked with guaranteed penalties for canceling.

One thing to watch is attendance as this policy seems to me to generate fewer players. Those in a 50-50 attendance situation, may decide not to go. The top players will not be impacted but those under, say 2500 points, may very well decide that the lure of a National is not worth the cost unless they are 100% planning to attend.

Another interesting point is for me would be the Summer Nationals. I booked rooms in Toronto through the first Sunday in case I qualified for a GNT spot. I highly prefer staying at the tournament site rather than somewhere else. When that dream was misplayed away (in early February), I cancelled immediately (5 months notice). Next year, that will not be an option. It will be another factor in even trying to qualify.
18 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I presume this only applies to reservations made thru the ACBL.
Aug. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
an “m”
Aug. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Since the directors never brought it to our attention, the thought never crossed my mind. I know that a 2 bracket CKO can be handicapped but (I believe) not a 3-bracket event. I knew we were not in the 1st bracket but had no idea how many brackets there were - and why should I really.

I have played in handicapped CKOs before but we always knew about the handicap prior to the conclusion of the 12-board round. That said, without being told, I did not think about it. It never crossed my mind.
Aug. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It can be unknown when neither team is informed of that fact prior to submitting results. In other handicapped events I have played, during the round, the team captain was informed of the handicap. But not today. I doubt if a handicap that small would have impacted the way you play.
Aug. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I first learned about bridge in high school when my mother (who never played bridge) bought a plastic table cloth with basic bridge bidding rules in front of each player. But I never really played until college. Jump ahead to college in the student union at Illinois. I watched and then participated in the constant pickup game(s) there. Easily the best player was a grad student named Kit Woolsey. The other eventual highly successful ACBL player in those games was Cheri Bjerkan before she married Jim (I don't remember her maiden name).
Aug. 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
the suit in mention was 8-5-4.

Club games in Northern Virginia are treated a bit more seriously than some places. Not ruthless but very few instances of a pair just having fun.
July 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
very few 8-5-4 holding have ever been considered lead directing. I had not really thought about the disruptive concept. I understand they even have some systemic bids after 3rd seat openers. I cannot totally confirm that fact nor do I know if they have a means to determine if this type of bids was made. To me, I just seem very wrong in a club game. In the Spingold, when your methods are made available to opponents (I believe that is true), I would be good for anything goes.
July 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
FWIW. the suit was three very small
July 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I presume the 2 voter was thinking Flannery. In the ACBL world, opening a Flannery with fewer than 10 HCP will bring about a rather severe penalty.
July 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When you put the cursor over the DBL, what did it say? As I recall, it always says what the Robot means even in the most obvious times. I got to the point I never even made a bid without checking to see what the robot thought it meant.
July 6
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The worst convention is any convention your partner falls in love with and semi-forces you to add to your card. Then they promptly forget it the first AND second time you bid it. At that point in time, it becomes the easiest convention to drop from your card.
June 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you had not previously passed, is the meaning of the XX the same 6+?
May 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
and I suspect it is in violation of ACBL rules
May 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It almost sounds like you are confused on how Strata rankings are determined. A “C” player could win overall. He also wins both the “B” and “C” strata but he only gets point for “A” as they would exceed and “B” or “C” awards. Essentially, the high “B” and high “C” are vacated. In a 11 table event, if the top four finishers are “C” players, I am pretty sure they would be the only pairs winning points as they also would have been the top pairs in both “B” and “C”. There would be no other “B” or “C” players winning point.
May 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Unless something strange happens on the final day, this will be only the third NABC to have fewer then 9000 tables going back to 2004. The lowest Spring NABC was the Spring 2008 event in Detroit with 8553 tables according to old bulletins. The current lowest is the Fall 2006 in Hawaii with 8248 tables (but it is Hawaii). Those are the only NABCs with fewer than 9000. Detroit in 2015 squeaked out 9059 to avoid being a fourth under 9000. I'm not really sure what this means but it cannot be something making the ACBL smile.
March 19
Mike Ladd edited this comment March 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
One must presume we are dealing with two unpassed hands. I prefer playing 1M-3M as invitational and absolutely promising 4+ card support. For all those voting for 1NT NF & limited, these partnerships allow that jump to show as few as 3 card support. I am not one of those people.
March 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Is this the same concept if declarer detaches and then places a card on the table after which realizing he effectively followed with the Queen from his AQ suit when defender followed with a King?
Feb. 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This happened in Europe where the rules may differ from the ACBL where I play. In the ACBL-World's rules and regulations, where is there a reference to a “slip of the tongue” in play? Just wondering.
Feb. 24
1 2 3 4 5 6
.

Bottom Home Top