Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Mike Ma
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Randy, you are confusing incentives for joining to no extra charge for non member.
Aug. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This would be a tougher problem if E has one more and one less .
Aug. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The point is your daughter is an adult.
Aug. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Your daughter is an adult. Anyone can contact her through all kinds of correspondence. if she ignores him or even tells him to go to hell, and he persists, then that would be cause for concern. You do know that FB sends out Friends request automatically in many circumstances?
Aug. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Craig, the difference between 1 - (P) - 1 and the negative X is that in the latter, if partner has 5+ , his hand is limited to < 10. That cuts down the number of hands with 5+ .
Aug. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Barry, you learn by discovery. That is how we all learn. If the teacher tells you a rule is sacred, that is bad. But if the teacher tells you the rule is a guideline you grow out of, it is an efficient way, I have no idea what Mel or other teachers tell their students, so I cannot comment on how good or bad they taught. Like I said, many students, even intermediates, find it hard to not bid with an opening hand when their partner opens weak 2.
Aug. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The issue is not whether 2N 18 -19 ever occurs. If it does not, fine, then the 2NT bid can just be dormant except for the rare case. However, to mix in that hand with the support X is recipe for disaster. Opponent now bids 3 or even just 2, and there is no way responder knows what to do. To create a bid to distinguish 12 from 13-15 in a highly competitive auction is counter productive and totally unnecessary.
Aug. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Craig, in my opinion, players are over-killing the good bad thing at the detriment of much more useful bidding. First if you want to show a good hand here, you can simply double and then bid 3 next round (see also Michael Rosenberg's comment in this thread). Second, to use it to show “bad” 5-5 m hand is a very special case that has no usage if the opening suit is and not . Third, there have been 4 bids, one of which was a QB, what is the chance opener has a “good” m hand?

If you want to play support X here, I have no quarrel. But to say we need to reserve 2NT for good-bad is to me overkill of good-bad.
Aug. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You don't need good bad in this situation. You X and then bid 3.
Aug. 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Not to mention letting them bid 5.
Aug. 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Phil, I didn't mean you. I meant if a person bid 5 and won't sit for 5, then he is making the last guess. I have no idea what you would do or would not do, or what the hypothetical table feel might be.
Aug. 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you won't sit 5, you are making the last guess.
Aug. 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Actually there are many players at my club, with wide range of abilities, who are always afraid you are stealing game or slam from them. They are readily goaded into bidding one more.
Aug. 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Bidding 3 over 2 is not a preempt. It is just Bridge.
Aug. 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Bernard, for many players, they hate to pass when they have opening hand and hear partner open 2M. The rule fo 17 is really about whether responder has a decent hand or not when she has a balanced type of hands, not some distributional freak. It is not about whether you should bid 4M over 2M when you have 4 + trumps. It is fine to criticize the Rule, but at least we should know what the rule says before criticizing.

Similarly, the Rule of 2,3,4 does not say how to count 2.3.4 for e.g. 7222 vs. 7141 hands.
Aug. 7
Mike Ma edited this comment Aug. 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Bernard, you are missing the point. You have a chance to double their 6 for a lead that partner can and will make 100%. It costs nothing as you are intending to bid 6 anyway. Should you skip this chance worrying that they will now double your 6 instead of bidding 6, and instead let them bid 6 walking into your trap?
Aug. 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Bernard, what level players do you think these rules are for?
Aug. 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No matter whether you play penalty or negative when they overcall 2x over your partner's 1NT opening, after (1x) - 1NT - (2x) - , X has to be negative. Advancer has no idea what the 1NT overcaller's holding in the suit x is. It may be Kx, it may be AQT9, so how can she possibly make a penalty X of 2x?

By the same token, I prefer that doubling of 2y be penalty. The exception is if y = , where it will be system on, ie.e stayman, just for the reason it is easier tor remember.

All other bids are system on.
Aug. 6
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ed, that was not what I said. I said that if you partner psyches once, then you know he is capable of psyching. There is no reason to expect he won't do to again unless you and I agree to never do it again. To have an agreement to psyche is an oxymoron. You can agree NOT to psyche, but there is no partnership that agrees to psyche.
Aug. 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ed R, after one psyche, the agreement is that you CAN psyche, the same as you CAN open 1NT with 13. Unless you and your partner agrees never to do it again, you now have an agreement that you may do it.
Aug. 5
.

Bottom Home Top