Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Mike Ma
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agreed with everything you said. However, if X of 4D meant use your judgement as to whether to save over 4S, and W had the singleton J of S, then there is some (not sure how much) justification of bidding 5D. W did have a “pure” hand after all.
April 17, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Partly it depends on whether E's X of 4 has specific meaning.
April 17, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“ Shanghai will never go away. We knew it at the time and we still know it. ”

Personally, I think people who are still obsessed about Shanghai do not have the well-being of the organization at heart. Just my opinion, just like it is your opinion that certain BOD that you don't like do not have the welfare of ACBL at heart.
April 11, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The funny thing about Shanghai is people on one side of the issue all think 100% of people agree with them.
April 11, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What makes he/you think you will have a chance to bid again?
April 11, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If by asking, declarer is indicating he does not hold both missing honors, then by not asking, he is indicating he has both missing honors, and the defense can use this information.
March 30, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks. So these two are the lowest ranked of the 6 teams from China, not just in USA, but also in China.
March 27, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Please excuse and correct me if some of the assumptions or facts presented below are wrong.

It seems the last few years there have been one or more teams based in China doing well at the Vanderbilt, beating some top seeds on the way to QF or SF. Mostly they are/were four handed and probably eventually ran out of steam. Given the population of China, and strong interest in Bridge, it is not surprising that in time China will be one of the top countries in Bridge, so the good performances of these teams, in spite of no name recognition in the USA, are understandable.

What is not obvious to me is why they seem to appear once and then not show up again at the Vanderbilt? Is it because their expenses are paid by the Chinese Bridge Confederation, and the confederation will only pay once? Or they got beat out the following year by other chinese teams for the right to come?
March 27, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Isn't it the other way round? If responder is wrong, declarer has the obligation to correct the misinformation. If responder is right, declarer is not (but i think he/she should) required to say that he/she has made a mistake.
March 26, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If partner continues the K now, and declarer ruffs, you will not have a safe exit when you win the .
March 24, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I prefer that the P vs. X meaning be switched at the 4 level.
March 18, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
First, there is no way to tell if partner has the A or A (as you pointed out) if at all. Second, while it is likely that one of opponents is void in from the bidding, it is not 100% sure, so partner having the K behind dummy's A or KQ will allow you to set if is an entry to his hand. I can't really see barring double dummy defense of not leading a singleton .
March 17, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't know if it is right or wrong to overcall with the S hand. Personally, it seems no matter what I do with a hand like this, it always ends up being the wrong thing to do. What if you overcall and they end up in 3NT, and N leads a with Axxxx in ? Is that any more or less likely than they playing in 4 and your side having a game or sacrifice in ? One of the guidelines of leading against NT when your partner has overcalled and you have a suit is that if he has points, his suit may not be that good, but if he does not, then he has a decent suit. This hand would violate that. It also violates all 3 “principles” of overcalling - 1) you are likely to win the competitive auction, 2) not much if any obstructive value, and 3) lead directing.

They did overcall against us, and then after 4, then 4, and then 5 over 5. It takes a lead of the doubleton by W an and duck by E to beat 5. We did not find the duck at the table. I can't blame my partner for not ducking as ducking would be wrong if I have singleton . A slight bias towards ducking is that he has to give me the A to have a chance of setting the contract, which means my lead may be singleton or doubleton, but doubleton is more likely probability wise.
March 17, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you bang out AK you will have communication problem when the opponent with A (assuming he does not have the winning ) ducks the K. You have no entry to the board unless you cash your 3rd now. But you still only have 11 tricks. Now they can cash when you play from your hand. And if you don't cash the , you only have 10 tricks, and knocking out the A only gives you 11, while setting up winners for them.
March 15, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Since I am the only one to vote for ruff a , I guess I should state my line of play. Play for 3-2. Ruff a , cash AK, go to board with a , ruff and repeat that. Assuming is 3-2 and Q did not drop, and everything lives so far, you have 8 tricks.

Play A. If no one ruffs, you have 9 tricks. Play your 4th . What happens next depends on whether someone has 5 D and if was 3-3. If someone ruffs your A, your last trump is the 9th trick and he probably has to play for you.
March 14, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Can have different meanings at this point, but it should be NF. Most likely is a lead directing bid either to defend 2 but more probably for if they bid 3 after advancer bids 3 over their 2 and they choose to bid 3.
March 9, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The last time i doubled with a similar hand, the opening was 1, and my partner did penalty pass to my horror. But opener saved the day by rebidding 2 :-). Then I got my in, and they got their in. Then everyone started bidding like crazy. I wasn't going to defend so I bid 6 over their 5 and bought the contract doubled, making on a slight misdefense.
March 9, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Any statement about waking up prior to the alert is self-serving.
March 7, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks. Seems logical to me.
March 7, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Personally I don't care how ACBL awards points as long as it makes players want to improve (even if it is not the best way). Objectively, there may be a problem with double-dipping. If a B pair comes in second overall and first in B, they should get whichever is the more points of the two, and not both.
March 7, 2014
.

Bottom Home Top