Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Mike Ma
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I am not sure I understand not making a game or GF bid. Qxxx, QJxx, xxx,xx from partner and you have legitimate play for 4. Will partner raise 3 to 4 with that hand?
Nov. 24, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why is this even debatable? If you play raise of 1M to 2 can be based on 0 points, should that be alerted? How is raising 2C to 3 different?
Nov. 24, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Where I would deviate from Steve is I would QB 4H first and then bid 5C if partner bid 4S. I am good enough to go to the 5 level if partner bids 3S GF and slam seeking. So I should not distort my first round vs. second round control. Once I show first round control in H (I can't be by-passing C to show 2nd round control in H), responder has easy 4N bid.
Nov. 20, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Following Berkowitz's book, 3M shows 4M, and opener must QB or bid 4M with 4M, otherwise bid 3N allowing responder to bid 4C with 4M and 5+C slam interest hand.
Nov. 20, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The thread is not about what opponent should feel or not feel, it is about what you should do ethically knowing what you know. Unless your ethical decision depends on what you think opponent(s) would feel.

Opponent has every right to call the director if they feel you use UI.
Nov. 19, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As I have stated in previous replies, the purpose of my post was to learn what is right given the circumstances presented. It is not to get vindication one way or another. If you don't believe the circumstances, you have every right to that, but you are not responding to my question. I did not ask whether my judgement of what partner was thinking about was right or wrong, only that given my judgement, what was the right thing to do.

To explain why I was so sure he was thinking of doubling would not be fair to him.
Nov. 19, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes, I am fully aware of the self-serving aspect. I want to know what is right ethically, and the degree of certainty given the circumstances, hopefully in a way that I can generalize to other hands. There have been many helpful comments on this thread.
Nov. 19, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In 6N, a to the Q in enough for 12 tricks.

I have a question about SuitPlay, if it shows a particular combination, e.g. missing KJ, and having 10 and 9 but not showing the 8, and not having a separate entry which includes the 8, does that mean the 8 is irrelevant?
Nov. 19, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This discussion is getting out of hand. The point of my question is if you “know” that partner's hesitation was thinking about doubling, whether it is from evidence, from intuition, or from whatever, or any combination, what is the right thing to do given you planned to bid 4N over 4H when you bid 4D.

If your intuition about partner's hand is wrong, you should be ready to pay the consequence if you bid on.
Nov. 18, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Is option 4 meant to be a joke?
Nov. 18, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If I pass, I would ask myself if that is ethical. If I bid, I would ask myself if that is ethical. Does that mean both P and bid are unethical? If so, what should I do?

The quandary for me here is that normally (not always) the BIT would call for P. But here, evidence + intuition or whatever suggest the hesitation was thinking about X, and N had intended to bid 4N over 4H when he bid 4D. It was clear that N should not X. But the ethics of P vs. 4N was not clear to me. Hence the article and the poll. Note that in vacuum, many people are saying it is not obvious what the BIT suggests, so the feeling that it was for doubling is only based on N's feel at that point.
Nov. 18, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What if your hand did not indicate partner's hesitation was intending to X? Would you then have to pass even if your original intent was to bid 4N. If so, then are you obligated to interpret partner's hesitation based on your hand and bid 4N? That is the ethical quandary.
Nov. 17, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I know what you mean by flexible X and sure thing though. You open 3S, LHO bid 4H, partner tanks and then passes, now you X.
Nov. 17, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I am not sure Kit is saying the same thing. Waiting for his clarification.
Nov. 17, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So which bid(s) is legal and which isn't? I am perfectly happy to obey the law. It makes life easier.
Nov. 17, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks. I understand your perspective. And I respect anyone who abstains whether it is because bidding 4N now (and/or 4D before) is not bridge, or because they don't believe the case as presented.
Nov. 17, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes, bidding 4N would be rolled back if partner has the right hand, but not when it is right in spite of partner's hand (a hand he wanted to X). If I was W, I would not have my cake and eat it too. I would call the director and ask to forbid the 4N bid, or I would let N bid 4N and proceed from there, but not both. But I know it is within his rights to get a ruling where he can take the better of 4H or 5D X.

Whether it will be rolled back is different from what is the ethical thing to do.
Nov. 17, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Once again, the point of this poll is not whether the bidding makes sense merit wise. As stated in the poll, you “know” partner's BIT was he wanted to X. The question is what to do ethically based on that. Obviously, if partner shows up with 4D, doubleton S, and Kxx in C, you are in trouble and should be willing to roll it back to 4H.
Nov. 17, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As I said, don't judge the merit of the bid. You have to be in on the completer context of the game.

I am saying, given the case as described, what would be the right thing to do. If people don't believe the case, that is fine. This poll is for my benefit only. I don't intend to use it for any other purpose.

May be I should have presented the bidding and the thought process without showing the hand.
Nov. 17, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This partner would not understand flexible. If i double, that would be it.

I guess i should not have said what the results of 4H vs. 5D would be.
Nov. 17, 2014
.

Bottom Home Top