Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Mike Ma
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think I would rebid 4 over 3 with Qx AKQJxxx x xxx. As for whether W denies a control with 5, for me there is a difference between Q'ing at 4 level and 5 level. When you Q first or second round control at the 4 level, you can check to see which it is with KC after establishing controls in all suits. But you can't do that over 5 level Q's. I am sure you experts don't have any trouble figuring out your side is missing first round control in two suits, but it is not as simple for regular folks.
Aug. 18, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
For some of us, the change is real. That is because some of us decide that the ACBL old rule was not meant to be one where you just ignore as you wish even if it meant making bad bridge decision by following the rule. I don't care what experts do because I am not an expert. I consider it taking advantage of the opponents I open 1NT with a singleton when they won't even imagine i may do so. For example, it is often recommended playing Precision 2D, that one opens 1NT with singleton K or Q of D. My partner and I agreed to not do that even though that is good bridge in many ways.

I apologize that my post was not constructed very well, and the poll was also not written well. But the purpose as I have said is to compare what was with what is for people who the rule affects. And it is not useful to say that the new rule should have no effect because people should have been opening 1NT with the appropriate hand anyway. That may be true for experts, but for a large number of rank and file, that simply is untrue either because they think perhaps wrongly that it may be a little unethical and/or they lack the imagination or knowledge to know when it is appropriate.
Aug. 17, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How about I play the 9 but not for the reason you gave?
Aug. 17, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Give dummy Tx if you wish, or make the lead the J (not denying the K). As I said, the purpose of my post was to see if the possibly enhanced probability of a singleton K results in playing A more so than in the past. I did not spend s lot of time constructing hands where singleton K is a compatible with the lead and dummy. It wasn't meant to be a trick question.
Aug. 17, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Just because I phrase something as a question, it does not mean I don't know the answer already. Is this site only for people who already know what is going on?
Aug. 16, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well, I stated clearly that we are assuming you would play the Q under the old rule. The whole point of the poll is to find out if the new rule changes anyone's thinking.
Aug. 16, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Without the 2 bid, 4 over 2 shows a slammish hand. Since 4 now, according to Kit, is just a “game try”, is responder supposed to bid 3 or bid another suit which she will correct to 4, after 2?
Aug. 16, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I played the A on trick 1, and i am playing it again on trick 2, then trick 3 etc. They go down 9.
Aug. 16, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Interesting, once you have a way to ask about singleton honor, you have a way to ask about any singleton period.
Aug. 15, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
First, we are talking about a situation where the declarer mistook a Q for a K, got stuck in hand while drawing trumps, failed to make a second discard before getting stuck on his hand, and you are saying what a half asleep declarer would do? Second, what if declarer could “tell” that W had the K, which the the way is the only explanation why he played the way he did. Now wouldn't his play be hog like?
Aug. 15, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Mike, or maybe you have the J and he just got suckered out of his K?
Aug. 15, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Agree.
Aug. 9, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So is this just the age old “8 ever, 9 never”?
Aug. 8, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well, if S has AKJx, Kx, AKxx, Qxx, 6 is also making, and that would be an obvious 2N opening.
Aug. 8, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ken, you wrote: “But Mike…we who think South undervalued his hand think you bid well. ”

Yes, improving bidding includes knowing if I did right as well as if I did wrong. That is why what I did at the table is one of the options in the poll.

Thanks everyone for your helpful comments.
Aug. 8, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The flip side of that is if N has a small singleton instead of K, the hand is still making 6. Presumably far less people would think transfer to 3 and then bid 4 is too feeble with Qxx, AQTxxx, xxx, x?

Personally, I don't think two AK combination and the K of trumps are average control count. But the purpose of my post is to learn to improve my bidding, so I am not so interested in what S should have done.
Aug. 8, 2016
Mike Ma edited this comment Aug. 8, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Richard, since she played for the drop, the entry to dummy was not necessary. That entry however was also her 12th trick. It happened to be a Q in the suit she had AKx. My teammates are very good players, so whatever they did, they did it for a reason.
Aug. 8, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sorry folks, declarer has 8 trumps in her hand, dummy has 1. I know the probability before RHO follows with a low trump. Too lazy to figure out if and how the probability changes after the low trump is played.
Aug. 8, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The suit isn't so great now, and xx is hard to judge. But there is no way partner can think I have a hand that I originally intend to be 3 card limit raise if I don't bid 4 now.
Aug. 6, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That does not apply here, because 3 can be just 2 cards. Standard is 4 is 3 card limit raise.
Aug. 6, 2016
.

Bottom Home Top