Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Mike Ma
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What is the big deal with Our Game being a chinese company? Do people not think they can hire commentators who can speak english? Even if they would only hire in china, there are plenty of people in china who speak better english than many in USA.
Sept. 30, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That is why if I am playing with someone who I knows underlead Ace frequently (say two sigma deviation from norm), I would probably preannounce it to opponents who are not familiar with him/her.
Sept. 30, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
But how can declarer ask about it? If he says “tell me about your lead”, the answer he will get is 3rd and 5th etc. So he has to ask “how often do you underlead A”, and that question is real problematic in several ways.
Sept. 27, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you underlead the A more than “rarely”, and you are not playing with a new partner, do you have to announce it in advance? Or is it “just bridge”?
Sept. 27, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If finesse loses, and a comes back, you can go down a few. I would unblock the and then concede a 4th round of to RHO, making 6 or going down 1. You tie or beat 6.
Sept. 20, 2013
Mike Ma edited this comment Sept. 20, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Unfortunately, there have been differing opinions posted here, most by people who know what they are talking about (e.g. John Adam). If knowledgeable people like you and others cannot come to a consensus about the rules, how can peons like me know what is right and what is wrong? Why can't ACBL clarify something as simple as this?
Sept. 16, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It is not so simple. If someone gets you with a good play WITHIN THE RULES, you should praise them, but not if it is against the rules. For example, I only learnt recently here that apparently opening a Precision 1D with less than 9 points is illegal, so if I do that, opponents have every right to call the TD on me. However, not too long ago, there was an article here that said that top ranked Precision players psyche 1D 3rd seat automatically. ACBL really needs to clear up all these confusion.
Sept. 15, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes, the hand is too strong for 3 after 1. But “faking” a 2 reverse can cause big problem unless responder is never allowed to raise 2 directly to 4 (and even then). This is not the same is bidding 2 after responder bids 1. There, if he raised 2 to 4, he has 5 's.
Sept. 13, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Is 6 a good contract on a trump lead?

In both of your two auctions, it is independent of whether you open 1, 2, or 1.
Sept. 12, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It is certainly the wrong hand to double even if you have 8+ points. How is the 1C opener going to know to pass or bid 4H? And if he takes you seriously, he will bid 5N pick a slam or 4S or 5S or whatever. Bidding 3N is possible, but opener will be real concerned you are missing a cold GS. I don't see where 1C gains over 2C when they bid 3S.

If they don't bid, then of course 1C is superior to 2C.
Sept. 12, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In general, I don't think trying to stop on a dime in 4m is winning bridge.
Sept. 12, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If 3 is non-forcing and 4 is gerber, how you do bid a hand that you were going to jump shift to 3?

Sept. 12, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Although it is correct to play the J on the second trick is this hand, in general playing the !J asks partner to unblock for you (obviously cannot be right with this dummy) while playing the !Q tells partner you are unblocking for her. I guess W just plays automatically without looking at this particular dummy.

Anyway, the solution after the first two tricks is on the third trick play 9 quickly if you want and slowly if you don't want :-) Ducking.
Sept. 12, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Steve, after 1 - 3 (or as you said 4) you are no better off. I think what this shows is that you should be happy you were able to open 1H. Now you can X and partner can bid 4H with 3 small.
Sept. 12, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It is very strange. They have a 10 card fit, but it was one bid and out for them.
Sept. 12, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think E should have bid 5 over 3. After that, 6 by W seems pretty automatic.
Sept. 10, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sorry for my ignorance, what does “fielding a psyche” mean?
Sept. 9, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No BIT => count. BIT => smith. Long BIT => smith but uncertain whether to encourage or discourage.
Sept. 9, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So it seems like he gave partner some leeway that 2 was a lead directing bid.
Sept. 8, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So did E lead a ?
Sept. 8, 2013
.

Bottom Home Top