Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Mike Ma
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The question is is there a difference between this sequence vs. (1C) - 1S - (P) - 3C?
Sept. 8, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Steve. While I agree that P is called for after the BIT, I do not agree that P is automatic. The modern style preempt is not always one bid and out. Looking at W's hand with 6 losers (granted not all losers are the same) and a void in S, there is a lot to be said to X showing extra distribution.
Sept. 2, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Peg, I know it is cheating, and I would never do it. The problem is a lot of players don't actively cheat, but they won't know this is cheating, and they still won't know it even when it is explained to them, because they “know” they don't cheat. And they honestly believe that is true.
Sept. 2, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So if BIT prevents 5C or X, what stops some E players from deliberating tanking to make sure W passes 4S?
Sept. 2, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why is everyone so eager to bid 8 over 8 (not even counting they actually have 7)?
Sept. 2, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
While that allows for stopping at 2D/H/S, it does not per se allow one to avoid playing in 2N with 10 opposite 11.
Aug. 29, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Stu. Yes, my partner psyched a standard 1C intentionally and a Precision 1C unintentionally. Yes, he was ethical and continued to bid as if without my alert, but my bid would have been forcing whether he opened standard or Precision 1C. We realized that it was murky, but I think we all have responsibility for the integrity of the game to keep it non random. It surely is not too much to ask that a Precision pair remember they are playing a forcing C. I believe the fair thing would be we take an average minus or the actual score whichever is worse for our transgression, and our opponents take the table score since they were not damaged, but in fact knew more about our hands than if the “psyche” did not happen. I do not know if the rules allow that. I also don't think our club director was really qualified to figure out how all the rules apply to that situation, and it was unfair to ask him to do so.
Aug. 27, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't agree with that, because the “masterminding” is a direct result of the erroneous 1 bid. Without the 1 bid, the advancer would not have been in the position to make the judgement, whether the judgement itself is good or bad, provided it is not a crazy decision.
Aug. 27, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
A few weeks ago at the club, one of my regular partners forgot we were playing Precision and psyched a 1 opening with 2 points. We only played Precision with each other, but it had been over 6 months since we last played. When he passed my natural 1 positive response, we called the director on ourselves. I had 19 points and ended up playing 1N making 2, which would have been a top. However, due to the psyche of the artificial bid, the director ruled we should get average minus, which we readily accepted in spite of the PSYCHE OF THE ARTIFICIAL BID being unintentional, and even though the opponents were not damaged since the psyche was revealed. The only thing I thought and told the director was that since the opponents were not damaged, they should not benefit from our mistake at the expense of their competition, and they should not get average plus for letting me make 2N, and that only our side's score should have been adjusted.

I think if you play Precision, it is minimum duty that you remember what you are playing a forcing 1C. And when you forget, you deserve and should readily accept the penalty.
Aug. 27, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
AFAIK, the illegal psyche should be reported after the game even if it was not reported then.
Aug. 26, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That is a psyche. I believe it is illegal to psyche an artificial call, 1C in particular. You are entitled to redress, and your RHO receive admonition.

OTOH, you invited, and your partner had extra, why did he decline? How did he decide you had 12?
Aug. 26, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So what is the official answer to whether it is against the rules for opener to pass 1D? Normal defense against Precision is to come in after the dust has settled with a good hand. But one cannot do that if there is a danger that the 1D bid would be passed.
Aug. 23, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why? Look at some of the discussions here on various threads. Even experts cannot agree on the ethics. It is too much of a burden and confusion on inexperienced players. At least in the USA, they need to “sucker” as many people in as possible. After awhile, people can drop out because they are not “good enough” or they don't like the rules including ethics. Life Master seems to be a good transition point.
Aug. 22, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
From the dealing with conferences, there are two models. One is the organization pay more or less full price on the meeting rooms, and the hotel offers discount prices for some number of hotel rooms for attendees. The other is the organization pay discount price for meeting rooms, but will have to guarantee the hotel a minimum of people will stay at the hotel at price which will not be that great. I don't know which one ACBL chooses.

No matter what, I think it is naive to think the conference hotel room price will be equal to what one can get shopping for the lowest on the internet, especially if we are including other hotels. The best ACBL can do is offer its members a reasonable price.
Aug. 22, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Some kind of online test for those who have internet access. You can take it as many times as you want (easy to have multiple test). Make it an educational experience where they actually learn something.

When players start playing duplicate, they just want points. It is not that they are unethical, just it is irrelevant to them. To them, life master is a milestone, and as Stan Lee said, “with great power comes great responsibility”. It is time they know the birds and the bees.
Aug. 22, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I propose that a knowledge of bridge ethics be requirement for life master.
Aug. 22, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would not bid 4S after 1C - 4D, let alone 5S after 1C -5D if i were E. My hand isn't that distributional. I'll just X. If partner has an offensive hand, he would not pass the X. So if he passes, I am safe in imps. In MP, playing 4D X has two ways to win compared to bidding 4S.
Aug. 20, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Of course the opening is 1C with the actual W hand, and now E has an easy 3S bid. The point is if W had opened a limited 1H, then E knows game is unlikely and should bid accordingly. Thus, I did not give you permission to bid 3S if I had opened 1H :-)
Aug. 20, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Playing Precision, it is different. You have a weak 2 hand, partner opened a limited 1H, chance of game is small if partner cannot act over 3D.
Aug. 20, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you are going to bid 4S over 3N, you may as well bid 3S now and get it out of your system.
Aug. 20, 2013
.

Bottom Home Top