Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Mike Ma
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't understand how declarer can duck a . N can have another and 3-1 with Qxx with S. Anyway, if you are convinced N has 7 spades, there is no reason to finesse ?
Aug. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In principle, it is better to figure out what to do with the after you know the location of the honors in the other suits.
Aug. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Rohit, the situation is unfortunate because the bidding has told them you have 4 . But you may be losing the first to the person with doubleton . Anyway, the main thing is if the finesse loses, you are in really bad shape if you shorten your trump ruffing trick 2 even if things behave well for you.
Aug. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The point is shortening your trumps will lead to trouble even if trumps 3-2. 2-5-3-3 is niot impossible, but unlikely because that means W has 7 . Finessing at trick 2 is not for doubleton K, you don't mind if it loses.
Aug. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How can you run 3 ? You are missing the K T 9. You will ned K doubleton with E, basically impossible once W has 3 . E down to nothing but after winning 3rd would mean W had 7 . Not impossible, but not indicated by bidding.

Much simpler to take the finesse on trick 2.
Aug. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As I said, if you ruff in your hand, you will need a lot of luck. Obviously, if the finesse loses, they will draw dummy and your last trump, and you will go down at least 2. So say finesse wins, now what?
Aug. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Richard, it is more than that. Advancer must have support to make the X if it is thrump, since intervenor will have to bid 4 without stopper. So what hand can advancer have which has no stopper? If he has short spades, his hand was not right for TO double initially. If he has “long” spades but no stopper, his partner must have enough spades to even think of a stopper. Not impossible of course, his hand could be xxx, Axx, Kxx, Axxx for example. But I think that type of hands are just as if not more rare than a hand with outright penalty X.Opener just walked into a trap with an 8 card fit.
Aug. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If E wins the A (no cover from W of course), she will play a 3rd . If you ruff in your hand, you will need a lot of luck. If you ruff in dummy, you just set up W's Q rom original Qxx.
Aug. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think you 1) acknowledge BIT when it happened, 2) call the director after the hand is over if the opponents bought the contract. Otherwise, if your side is declaring, call the director when bidding is over.
Aug. 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So no one has commented so far on the elephant in the room. I doubt these world GLM or equivalent want to play in restricted events to boost their credentials. but why would they turn down the “green” points?
July 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Your system should be geared to not defending when your side has (32) in their suit.
July 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Look at how many Europeans have “English” names now. What is Chekov's background. Maybe his forebear went to USA, got his name bastardize, then someone in the family went back to Russia and Chekov the ST guy descended from that.
July 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How does N know the slam is doomed? One trick does not a slam set. And how can she be sure S will lead instead of after a Lightner X. Be glad that W bidding gives you a chance to call for the D lead at no cost, and don't be greedy.
July 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You think in the Star Trek time, Russian names will still be the same as they were in 1960's or even today?
July 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think the question is what advancer led.
July 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
At DC, the top seeded team faced one on one vs. the junior team that was going to represent USA. Top seed did not know what hit them, down by some humongous amount at the half. But juniors take and they can give. They self-destructed in the second half, and handed the match to the top seed.

I asked the same question for the main Spingold, if it is better for high seeds to play low seeds one on one or be in 3 surviving out of 4 matches. For the main draw, it probably does not matter. But for 0 -6K, it is very dangerous for a high seed to play a low seed.
July 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Stig, check out the articles on preempts by andrew gumpertz. They were really helpful for me. He pointed out that a big factor in preempt in not about going -800 or -1100 whatever, which is all the 2-3-4 stuff is about, but at least in MP, it is going down -200 when it is a hand of partials.
July 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When partner opens 1, she has 5 spades. When she doubles, she promises 3 spades, maybe has 4, almost never has 5.
July 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
To put it simply, there is a big difference between partner having 5 spades and having 3 spades.
July 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Mel's rule of 17 is about when you should invite. More than what you should do when you have Mel's 17 or more, the best use of the rule is to tell you when you pass.

When the preempt is at the 3 level, you don't have an invitational bid, so Mel's 17 cannot be applied. As Steve pointed out above, you should look at how many losers you are covering for partner and how many tricks you are providing her.
July 25
.

Bottom Home Top