Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Mike Ma
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Bernard, what level players do you think these rules are for?
Aug. 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No matter whether you play penalty or negative when they overcall 2x over your partner's 1NT opening, after (1x) - 1NT - (2x) - , X has to be negative. Advancer has no idea what the 1NT overcaller's holding in the suit x is. It may be Kx, it may be AQT9, so how can she possibly make a penalty X of 2x?

By the same token, I prefer that doubling of 2y be penalty. The exception is if y = , where it will be system on, ie.e stayman, just for the reason it is easier tor remember.

All other bids are system on.
Aug. 6
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ed, that was not what I said. I said that if you partner psyches once, then you know he is capable of psyching. There is no reason to expect he won't do to again unless you and I agree to never do it again. To have an agreement to psyche is an oxymoron. You can agree NOT to psyche, but there is no partnership that agrees to psyche.
Aug. 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ed R, after one psyche, the agreement is that you CAN psyche, the same as you CAN open 1NT with 13. Unless you and your partner agrees never to do it again, you now have an agreement that you may do it.
Aug. 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Greg, “Bidding Agreements are disallowed unless they are specifically allowed.” The first time you psyche with a partner, it is not an agreement. After that, you have an agreement wiht same partner that you can psyche, which is not allowed in Basic Charts, because it is not listed as allowed. Anyway, the whole point is moot, because if you psyche in a game of Basic chart, you need to have your head examined. Go play in a game of Open Chart.
Aug. 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In Basic charts, only bids explicitly allowed are allowed. If Basic charts do not mention psychic bids, then psychics bids are disallowed period.
Aug. 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ian, even if X is for leading , the pause could be for doubling or for bidding 4 (which would have been a winning action). So now S is not allowed to lead a , and she is not allowed to lead a ?
Aug. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why can't the hesitation be N thinking of doubling for a lead (if that is the way they play it)? So now if S leads a , the director would be called. And if she leads something other than , the director will also be called?
Aug. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't understand how declarer can duck a . N can have another and 3-1 with Qxx with S. Anyway, if you are convinced N has 7 spades, there is no reason to finesse ?
Aug. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In principle, it is better to figure out what to do with the after you know the location of the honors in the other suits.
Aug. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Rohit, the situation is unfortunate because the bidding has told them you have 4 . But you may be losing the first to the person with doubleton . Anyway, the main thing is if the finesse loses, you are in really bad shape if you shorten your trump ruffing trick 2 even if things behave well for you.
Aug. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The point is shortening your trumps will lead to trouble even if trumps 3-2. 2-5-3-3 is niot impossible, but unlikely because that means W has 7 . Finessing at trick 2 is not for doubleton K, you don't mind if it loses.
Aug. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How can you run 3 ? You are missing the K T 9. You will ned K doubleton with E, basically impossible once W has 3 . E down to nothing but after winning 3rd would mean W had 7 . Not impossible, but not indicated by bidding.

Much simpler to take the finesse on trick 2.
Aug. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As I said, if you ruff in your hand, you will need a lot of luck. Obviously, if the finesse loses, they will draw dummy and your last trump, and you will go down at least 2. So say finesse wins, now what?
Aug. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Richard, it is more than that. Advancer must have support to make the X if it is thrump, since intervenor will have to bid 4 without stopper. So what hand can advancer have which has no stopper? If he has short spades, his hand was not right for TO double initially. If he has “long” spades but no stopper, his partner must have enough spades to even think of a stopper. Not impossible of course, his hand could be xxx, Axx, Kxx, Axxx for example. But I think that type of hands are just as if not more rare than a hand with outright penalty X.Opener just walked into a trap with an 8 card fit.
Aug. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If E wins the A (no cover from W of course), she will play a 3rd . If you ruff in your hand, you will need a lot of luck. If you ruff in dummy, you just set up W's Q rom original Qxx.
Aug. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think you 1) acknowledge BIT when it happened, 2) call the director after the hand is over if the opponents bought the contract. Otherwise, if your side is declaring, call the director when bidding is over.
Aug. 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So no one has commented so far on the elephant in the room. I doubt these world GLM or equivalent want to play in restricted events to boost their credentials. but why would they turn down the “green” points?
July 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Your system should be geared to not defending when your side has (32) in their suit.
July 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Look at how many Europeans have “English” names now. What is Chekov's background. Maybe his forebear went to USA, got his name bastardize, then someone in the family went back to Russia and Chekov the ST guy descended from that.
July 28
.

Bottom Home Top