Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Mike Passell
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If the Mixed couldn’t be scheduled as the last event why couldn’t the conditions say the winners couldn’t compete in another event. Why is that a difficult decision. Fair to all everyone could decide which event to play in .
May 30
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The point no one has made is the Winner of the open can’t continue in any other trials but the winner of the Woman’s trials can. What message does that carry ladies ?
May 30
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Saying the Usbf needs the readers on here to help their decisions is like the Supreme Court needing readers to help theirs. I am happy with these knowledgeable individuals being in charge. no one is infallible. They made a huge mistake and my thought is to not let it happen again.
May 30
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Years ago when the Trials consisted of 4 teams the winners of the Vanderbilt Spingold Reisinger and Grand Nationals Katz and Cohen won 2 events on different teams so a bidding war among the 2 clients ensued.. So now a client who is in the last event - this year the Seniors has to make sure they are out paying the sponsors from the other events to make sure they get the player or players they want. I played in the Open Trials my team mates for the Seniors including our sponsor were aware that if I had been lucky enough to win I wouldn’t be playing the Seniors. I certainly don’t blame the players who chose to play multiple events - they all followed the rules set out for them. I saw Geoff’s comment about speaking up earlier but come on do you think what people wrote on this site would influence the organizers in any way? This was a huge error in judgement. George it is a done deal. It didn’t affect us in any way. I think we both are writing not to bad mouth the Usbf but to keep it from happening again.
May 30
Mike Passell edited this comment May 30
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don’t think posting the winners names was either productive or fair. They played and were declared the winners. Unless they intentionally turned in the incorrect score I can see nothing they really did wrong
May 30
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
A kind statement Rick. I have known you for as long as I can remember and have never heard you complain about anything. I can’t even imagine what is going through the minds of you and your team mates. Obviously the inmates are running the palace.
May 30
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I am glad George has the big Brass ones to bring up what I have been screaming about. how can this be allowed to happen? If the Usbf is going to allow a player to play multiple events the team that player leaves must be replaced by the team they defeated. Is the team going to be allowed to augment to replace the player leaving or is the US going to be represented by a weaker team? This is inconceivable to be happening before our very eyes. No player on the winning teams at the open trials decided to enter the Seniors although at least a few could. So the Usbf actually is demeaning the Mixed Teams since it is the only event anyone is jumping ship on. A very simple solution would have been to hold the Mixed Team trials last -then there would t be any overlap and a fair event would have been held
May 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
More insanity. How can you possibly decide to come from 7 teams to 3 instead of 4 how can a team win the round robin and win both matches and not win? How can the incorrect score get recorded? An up and coming young junior plays his first big event and sees this debacle? Surely the Acbl will find a way to intervene now? Or maybe not.
May 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I had the opportunity to attend with a sponsored team but after I explained the situation she immediately declined going .Another 6 players staying home
May 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I was one of the players polled by the directors. I was given the auction and immediately asked if my opponents were top level and was told they were. I lead a diamond because my right hand opponent didn’t bid Blackwood over the 4 club cue bid but did when after his partner denied a diamond control and then confirmed he had a void by not bidding 5 nt at matchpoints confirming all the key cards to allow a 7 nt contract. I did have an advantage of spending the day on the beach by not playing well enough to make the finals and was well rested to think this through. This being said there is so much more to this case- my opponents remark which might have woken me up, to the slow screen indicating partner had an ace which 100 percent had to be the aceof Diamonds. It all came down to the Acbl laws some of which make sense and some do not. It is hard to condemn the pair who felt the hesitation helped find the winning lead. Hard to condemn the directors who worked well into the night to try to be fair. Obviously the so called new process without committees isn’t working. On top of everything the cameras in the room recorded all but the 2 tables in the room away in the corners and this was 1 of the 2. Being able to determine both the length of the hesitation and the length of time it took for the screen to return it would have helped. In the mean time it is a done deal and I offer congratulations to both pairs the ultimate winners and my friend Chris Compton
Dec. 9, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This thread is to congratulate the winners. Another thread can discuss the ruling. Great job by both pairs
Nov. 30, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Congrats great win by a great group of guys
Nov. 27, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Dbl seems pretty auto here. Move a heart to the clubs and it would be unanimous
Oct. 10, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My tournament playing with Eric in Bermuda was the most fun I ever had playing bridge. Eric was a great player and a greater person
May 22, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
John was 1 of a kind. I was lucky to have him as one of my best friends. Loyalty and integrity were his long suits. John battled this dreaded disease for 12 years. Johns will to survive kept him going. He was my hero and will miss him dearly
May 13, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Great win
March 14, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
According to the player he called the director when he was alerted by a very ethical player before the dummy came down and said he would have bid 1 spade knowing his partner was Short in diamonds and had a likely fit. I agree he might have bid anyway but with the alert it would be automatic. Whatever the ruling the chief director was not aware of this fact when he made his original ruling and could have let it slide and no one would have complained
March 12, 2018
Mike Passell edited this comment March 12, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Great win for a great pair
March 12, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The facts are they didn’t rule 3no trump down 1 they split allowing the 2 hand s holding 25 highs to play 5 clubs down 1 half the time and 4 clubs making the other half. The chief director was not apprised of the fact that the player holding the 5 spades had 5 diamonds would know his partner was short in diamonds and always bid 1 spade. He called the director before dummy came down when North was kind enough to mention the failure to alert . The chief director was never made aware of this until after his initial ruling. No one was looking for something g for nothing as the director was called at the proper time The chief director did change his ruling
March 12, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Both of you are correct. We play transfer Bart our auction was 1 spade by me 1 nt by Marc dbl. I bid 2 clubs he bid 2 diamonds. We never discussed if it was on in competition. The funny thing 2 diamonds in the 7-1 fit was down 2 off the top while 2 hearts went down 3 I thought we would lose 2 imps never dreaming our team mates would bid and make 4 hearts
Dec. 5, 2017
Mike Passell edited this comment Dec. 5, 2017
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
.

Bottom Home Top