Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Neal Smith
1 2 3 4 ... 42 43 44 45
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Wrest hand: QJTxx x Jx Kxxxx. East hand xx AT9xx Axxx T2.

With both red Ace's in the East hand, this did make at both tables for a push and a loss by 1 IMP.

I did not ask about East's 2 as I didn't want the opps getting any UI. It seemed most likely that it was “no like clubs” as someone mentioned above.

Yes, I should have shown my hearts with a 2 response to Stayman. We do play 4-way transfers as discussed above.

Thanks to everyone for votes and comments!
May 21
Neal Smith edited this comment May 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There is a lesson for NS here: never start a match without a brief review of the opponent's convention card. If none, call director. That's what I do, and I'm nowhere near “screens” level.
May 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Abstained, as I don't have enuf experience defending multi. In aCBLs published defense, option 1, a X of 2 would be takeout of spades, which would have worked well here. But I don't know if that defense is commonly played, or is even playable.
May 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yep. Board 15 shown above is as played in the women's event.
May 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm a strong option 3. I respect the strong bridge knowledge of the commentators and their willingness to take on the role. That said, I think they are often failing to comment on important points of the current hand, perhaps because they're busy watching the other table.

As an example, consider USA 2 semi final, segment 5, board 6. Cohen is declaring 3 diamonds, and faces a tough decision at trick 4. Depending on whether the clubs are 3-3, the trumps are 3-2, and the A is onside, he should either lead a top trump, low trump, J, or a low club to ruff. Even though Cohen thinks for a long time, the commentator never says a word about this board. He does provide several comments about the action at the other table on a previous board, the fact that Schaumburg is in Illinois, and the fact that the Harris team withdrew. What, no weather forecast?
May 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would have watched the women's final 7 & 8, but I was unavoidably detained - by a bridge game.
May 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'll bet I could review every board from every women's match and not find a single instance of a 2NT opener that included a 6 card major.
May 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Works on this layout, but I can't see entering the auction red/white on 4-5 in the majors headed by QJ. You're a braver man than me!
May 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
gesundheit
May 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Abstain because we mere mortals lead lowest from an honor. Sure, west could have led the 6 from 65, but it is one card less ambiguous than the 7. We always cover that Q, too, but if there had been a poll choice “blame the methods” that would have been my choice.
May 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm as annoyed by psychs as anyone, but this is simply a mis bid. Some advancing players are so thrilled by the notion of a gambling 3NT that they can't wait to get one. Months go by, no suitable hand. They get one with seven solid and a side king, and don't open 3NT. Then they get one with 8 solid and no side A or K, and don't open 3NT. More time goes by. They get this hand. Bingo! I'm waiting no more! 3NT!
May 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“The first thing you should think about, before counting tricks or planning the play, is: What do I know about my opponent's hands?”

Wow, that's excellent advice.
April 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
fyi, the results page is not quite working as intended (I think). The instructions say:

“If the score is colored. you can click on it to see the match scorecard.”

Scrolling over the score does show the match IMP result, but clicking does nothing.
April 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Spoiler alert: experimenting is a nice word for West's calls. 4-1-5-3 shape and 11 HCP.

I was North but didn't have the nerve to X 1 spade (which would have yielded at least +500 for a top or near top. We settled in 3NT, making an overtrick for average+.
April 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I wasn't aware that a player can leave the table to seek advice or a ruling from a director. How would that be fair to the other players? On the subject hand, suppose 6 had made. Now a director is called to the table, and South says
“well, you said I can bid anything I like, so you can't rule against me now.”

In fact, law 74 c 8 specifically forbids leaving the table during a round:
“The following are examples of violations of procedure:

8. leaving the table needlessly before the round is
called.”

Pity poor West, the only innocent party here. Everyone else messed up.
East, by asking an explanation.
South, who left the table, giving North UI, and then blatantly used UI from North's mistaken explanation.
The directors, who (if we believe South) gave the wrong advice when they should have given no advice unless called to the table.
North, who was required to call the director as soon as he realized his explanation was MI (from the OP it seems this was before the end of the auction). Law 20 F 4

OP, are you sure this wasn't from the flight B Swiss? It's surprising to see players in a top flight do this - have NS never had a UI/MI problem before? Yes, a PP is appropriate.
April 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Not necessarily. It means that 3 of 5 don't realize it's a legacy game for old folks.
April 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It is most certainly feasible; we do that in D20.
April 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think what Tom is saying is that, when you skip a hand, the app shows you a different problem, but then brings back the problem you skipped. I chose to skip a bidding problem based on a 7-6-0-0 hand, and it kept repeating later back several times.

New rule for the software: once skipped, never show the user that problem again.
April 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The last 4 on Larry's list won the Sunday open Swiss. AFAIK there is no multi-day pairs event.
April 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hey, John. If you stare a bit at your avatar, you will see a beautiful woman looking down and to the right.
April 21
1 2 3 4 ... 42 43 44 45
.

Bottom Home Top