Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Neal Smith
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Wendy, you sound like me. Post mortems at the table put too much pressure on your less experienced partner. Make time to have those discussions later.

I was sorely tested recently when partner bid an unusual NT, Vul, with 4-4-4-1 shape (Singleton in the other major). And then raised my 3 to 4 to show extra HCP. After the play concluded (-300) RHO said “unusual unusual.” Partner said “I thought it was brilliant”. LHO gave me a look and I merely said “I thought about raising to 5.”
Aug. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
East can X at first, second or third turn. Pick one. Maybe East doesn’t have a red card in the bidding box.
Aug. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
East cannot have a double shot. He wants the benefit of having overcalled 1, without any of the risk. With some different layout of the hands, his overcall may well have led to a poor result, when a lead might be the only lead to let 3NT make, or a costly competitive decision by partner.
Aug. 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This is all a bit confusing. Was it the 2 that was called a psych? If so, partner's 3NT doesn't sound like it was fielded.

Did declarer not count HCP shown by the 4 hands and realize someone had lied?

It would be nice to see the hands.
July 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Partner made a bid that fairly narrowly defined his hand, and we said were minimum. He has no business bidding again.
July 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Partner is captain here. Why would it even occur to you to save or pull partner’s X?
July 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What is the ultimate objective of this system?
A. To reach optimal contract as often as possible while giving opponents as little information about declarer's hand as possible?
B. To conserve bidding space on “our hands” while using up bidding space on “their hands.”
C. To so befuddle the opponents that they are unable to draw reasonable conclusions about your hands based on your bidding.

A and B are bridge. C is not bridge.
July 26
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What an amazing event this is! For the price of an entry, you can play a match vs. The best in the world. All you need is a team with the fewest seeding points and you’d play Zimmerman.

This just doesn’t happen in other sports. Play a round of golf with open winner Shane Lowry or basketball 1on1 vs LeBron James? Not happening. Even in mind sports you won’t get a match against world class chess or backgammon players, at least not a match that counts.
July 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you can find seed #80, you should be able to find #19.
July 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Wait. The royals play bridge?? Will, Kate, Harry and Meghan for mixed teams! Now that would be great publicity for the game!
July 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
For our non-US readers, the US federal constitution, Article 1, Section 10, reads:

No State shall enter into any Treaty, Alliance, or Confederation; grant Letters of Marque and Reprisal; coin Money; emit Bills of Credit; make any Thing but gold and silver Coin a Tender in Payment of Debts; pass any Bill of Attainder, ex post facto Law, or Law impairing the Obligation of Contracts, or grant any Title of Nobility.

So it would seem Stevens had a solid basis for his dissent.
July 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Just count your blessings that they don't have a penalty X available in direct seat.
July 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Good comment, David. That's the fundamental reason I had a problem at the table.
July 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Nope. Dummy still has the 7, so leading the cannot create a trump promotion even if you exchange the K for the 4.
July 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Before deciding whether I would X 1NT, I pondered my opening lead. While a might work well (when partner has a real suit) it also could be disastrous when declarer holds, say, KT98. But it would be a shame to lead a major if partner didn't find the switch when he gets in. I concluded that I really don't want to be on lead against 1NT (X or not), so I would X in hopes that NS would run.

My question is, would w-c players be thinking about the opening lead during the auction, or is this simply wasted mental energy, given that 1NT may not be the final contract?
July 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Congrats on your retirement, Fred. Now that you're retired, you'll probably need some bridge partners. Just PM me;)
July 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In defense of our director, he almost always makes correct rulings, communicated in a way that educates rather than punishes. This day, he was directing 2 sections, including a 5 1/2 table 99er game, and also filling in as a player in the open game. Trying to do too much, perhaps.

I was the one who put a D in with my hearts, and I'm ok with taking some lumps for my mistake, even if the ruling wasn't correct.

Purpose of this poll was just to educate myself on the rules. Thanks all who responded.
July 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thank you, Dave. I was looking for the right word; now I know!

Folks may have guessed - director ruled a 2 trick adjustment. One trick for the revoke, and a second trick because “the 6 could not take a trick in the normal course of play.” Asked to cite a rule, he refused, although he may have been thinking of 64C1

“When, after any established revoke, including
those not subject to trick adjustment, the
Director deems that the non-offending side
is insufficiently compensated by this Law for
the damage caused, he shall assign an
adjusted score.”
July 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“I cannot get more details about this hand from BBO Vugragh Archive.” Being a curious sort, I wondered why. Turns out the bidding and play for this session are in the archive starting with board 19. I guess the VG Operator was a bit late getting set up.

Pretty nifty job of giveaway by the South declarer, who had 2 trump tricks by force and 3 side aces.
July 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Or E4?
July 1
.

Bottom Home Top