Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Neal Smith
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes, East (me) questioned the ruling at the table.
Sept. 18, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I want to thank everyone who has taken the time to vote and comment. Obviously the situation is not as clear-cut as I might have thought, and that helps me a lot in coming to grips with what happened here.

By the way, I was East.
Sept. 12, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That's right, West did not ask.
Sept. 12, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
EW were playing inverted minors so West can answer yes and the EW convention card proves it.
Sept. 11, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There is more to the story. To fill the movement, there was a playing director. Yes, North was the Director and ruled in his own favor.

Yes, NS was a last minute partnership.
Sept. 11, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
West's hand:

9862 J6 QT942 K7

South's Hand:

JT43 A842 A QJT6

East's Hand:

K75 QT975 86 985
Sept. 11, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Matchpoint club game.
Sept. 11, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Phoenix Botanical Garden is worth a visit.
Sept. 10, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
John, I'm a flight C player, but if you bid 5C without a C control I'd be the one dumping you as a pard!
Sept. 8, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm sorry Ivan, you may not declare 4S. But you could be dummy.
Sept. 8, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yuan, if open has AKxxx xxx Axx Ax, there are 12 top tricks.
Sept. 3, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In 1Dx, NS need to take 10 tricks to do better than a likely game in 3NT.
Sept. 2, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I voted pass (forcing). I think the match situation matters. The opponents need a swing. It's possible the 5C bidder pushed it an extra level in an effort to make something happen. Will our teammates, ahead in the match, choose to make a 5 level red-white preempt? Perhaps not.

It's entirely possible the bidding at the other table could go 1H - 4C - 4H - All pass. If so, we could lose 10 IMPs if we bid on and there are only 10 tricks, or we could lose 14 IMPs if both 4H and 5C make.

Sept. 2, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Huh? What was North thinking? He's way too weak for a responsive X, and if he wanted to show spades why didn't he bid 3S?
Sept. 2, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Are we playing Bergen raises? If so, partner has only 3 trumps and a more pessimistic view is appropriate.
Sept. 2, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well, this one fooled me. I took pard's 4H as showing slam interest (and exposing South's 3S as a bit of a psych).
Aug. 30, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If the convention card says 23+ HCP or 9+ playing tricks, then the 11 diamond hand fits the definition with two tricks to spare, so 2C does not misrepresent the hand and is not a psyche.

On the other hand, if the convention card says 1C is 15+ HCP, then an 11 point hand is a gross misrepresentation.

See the difference?
Aug. 29, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Wow! As a less experienced player, I find this discussion amazing. When I pull a card from the bid box, I look at it. When it hits the table, I look at it again. If I fail to check it, and later see that it's the wrong card, I take my medicine.

Example: intend to bid 1NT, pull the 1S card; pard raises to 4S and we go down on a 2-5 fit. We lose IMPs. We do not expect the director to bail us out.

In this case, some say the intended bid may have been 1D. Well, the 1C card was put on the table. You can't expect the director to fix the problem caused by your mistake. Take your medicine - in this case a penalty for an illegal psyche.

Allowing the “oops, pulled the wrong bid card” excuse is license for unethical players to break the rules and get away with it.
Aug. 27, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Abstain because I would have showed the D suit instead of the second X.
Aug. 23, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2H bid is not alertable.
Aug. 23, 2013
.

Bottom Home Top