Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Neill Currie
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 19 20 21 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Diamonds scores better than NT. Woolsey's book on matchpoints is pretty clear on these decisions.
Sept. 17, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why think about this stuff so much?
Oct. 23, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Cool duck.
Remind me to never be Declarer against you two, especially in 3NX vul ;-)
Oct. 22, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well, the NY Times thinks he originated the Tray:
http://www.nytimes.com/2002/09/28/arts/bridge-unsung-hero-of-sliding-tray-shows-his-declarer-skill.html

While the ACBL says he invented the Screen:
www.acbl.org/learn_page/bridge-terminology/
American Contract Bridge League
SCREEN. An opaque barrier placed diagonally across the bridge table so that no ….. It was invented by Henny Dorsman of Aruba and introduced at the Central .

I used to play with Henny a couple of decades ago, he definitely told me he was the inventor of the Screen, and was instrumental in them being used in a major Bridge event held on Aruba.
Oct. 16, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No idea if this might help, but Henny Dorsmann from near Staunton VA was the originator of the screen when he lived in Aruba all those years ago….screens were just above-the-table affairs then.
Maybe he might know something? I don't think he's on BW though, and I have no contact info.
Oct. 15, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
They seem to be opening SAYC pretty much in 3rd, except the upper range seems to be lower. Why should anyone have to alert what is a “natural bid”. Like you say, all inferences can be made, and they have fulfilled their agreements as per Rules and CC.
IMO far worse is generally acceptable in pretty much any system once you start digging deeply enough.
Oct. 5, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I found it nice to read such a positive article. Thanks, and good luck in the future to both you and the field.
Sept. 14, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“World Class” might be like pornography: isn't one supposed to know it when one sees it ;-)
Sept. 14, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Depends upon the day of the week, or how I feel, or how I think the previous hand went, etc etc.
I think it's a pretty pointless exercise, but I am sure it'll generate discussion, and I don't object to taking part in it at all.
Sept. 14, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Isn't North pretty good on the auction? A very solid 5 losers, opposite a 2/1, which usually is 7- losers. 24-(7+5) and all that.
July 11, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Funny-strange. Whenever I post questions about this area of competitive bidding here, I feel scolded by the “But that's just Bridge” crowd.
July 9, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think your beef should be with your partner, not the opponents. Surely a Double of the 2H bid is in order, or bidding heart him/herself at some level. Got to expose the BS.
I also agree with many, that the 2H bid “agreement” is reasonable, and could easily be one of their more general understandings.
Further, to assume against the opponents being truthful about every irregular happening at Bridge will likely be viewed as cynicism (or drive you crazy).
June 29, 2016
Neill Currie edited this comment June 29, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Maybe there should be a checkbox on the CC for “Frequent thinking whenever critical cards are either held or not held”.
There could also be a sub-division for “On Defense” and “As Declarer”.
End of problem ;-)
June 29, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes, great, so it seems you only play perfect Bridge, and never make mistakes.
I live in the real world, where mistakes are often made, I make a s**t-load, and I am trying my best to see how to improve and make fewer……….so please spare me the judgements, and don't take the time to write useless replies.
If I weren't feeling good about life right now, I'd really tell you how to get off.
June 25, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Retracted. Trying hard to remain more positive and PC.
June 24, 2016
Neill Currie edited this comment June 24, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
4D is just nuts IMO. After 4D gets doubled N might as well issue a nuts XX, then S can bid 4S comfortably…………but really, after 4D all logic tends to crumble.

In reality, 4D was just a transfer to -1700.
June 24, 2016
Neill Currie edited this comment June 24, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I had a somewhat similar situation happen to me recently. It differed in that a local player who knows me pretty well, asked me during the session “Did you bid 6 or 7 clubs on that hand?” when he had erroneously (ignored the rules, and) forgotten that there was a Skip in the round, and we hadn't played it yet!!
I alerted the Director immediately to what happened. Later we got to play what was obviously the board. It was a clear slam hand, and also very clear to me that this probably was the board asked about. The Director sat at the table. Fortunately my Partner made the crucial decision to bid 7. This was “good” in that my partner wasn't privy to the earlier UI, but it was “bad” in that the Grand had to go 1 off, despite being a roughly 70+% likelihood.
June 22, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Richard, Afraid this opens a whole ethical can of worms, including: deliberately exposing one's hand to declarer whilst deliberately having hidden a potential keycard.
Whilst it may all be within bounds, do we really want the game to be played this way?
June 22, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think that if you need partner to have a decent 5 card spade suit, and short hearts, to render the double somehow “better/more justifiable”……….then partner can also bid their major over your pedestrian 1 overcall. So what have you lost?
Competition may well vary this possibility of course.
June 18, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes, the 4 bid looks suspect to me too, clearly at this vulnerability. Surely a pass would be forcing (since 3 was GF) and now South has a clear Double. North could still bid on with undisclosed extra shape if warranted.
June 18, 2016
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 19 20 21 22
.

Bottom Home Top