Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Nicholas France
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 50 51 52 53
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
East pass of 3 didn't imply any heart values it just showed only 5 spades, no singleton or void in hearts, and probably not 4 hearts.
11 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you believe in the law the answer is easy. West is to blame. East is in the direct seat and has neither an extra trump nor a singleton (or void) in hearts. West knows his side has 9 trump and the opponents probably have 8 trumps.

With 17 trump, 3 over 3 is right unless you have a very good reason not to do it. Here West doesn't have a reason not to follow the law.
23 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As I thought pass was a big favorite. For the record, I really hate “do something intelligent” doubles that are made just because you are at the top half of you very limited raise.
Jan. 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
thanks for the link
Jan. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Too bad not playing 2 way game tries. Then 3 as shortness would be nice.
Jan. 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2 shows my hand and allows partner to sign off in 2NT or 3 of a minor if he wants.
Jan. 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I play a system that modified an idea of Klinger

1 level bids are exclusions
2 level bids are DONT
1nt is a single suit
Double of 1C is takeout of clubs

After 1 -(P)- 1 all the bids are the same except the double of 1 is a takeout of diamonds.

System is off against any higher responses.

Basically, the system is a law of total tricks competition and doesn't look for game same as the original concept of DONT was not to look for game after a 1NT opening
Jan. 6
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Something is a little off here. How to some get to 3NT. Was responder strong enough to invite? Was opener a little strong for his 1NT rebid?
Jan. 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Henry you covered the main point of if you should rebid a 5 card major with a weak hand. If you rebid as you do then rebidding a balanced hand with a 5 card suit is a loser. If, however, you don't rebid 1NT with a singleton and rarely raise with 3 (as I do), then rebidding a weak hand with a 5 card major is a big winner. There were plenty of simulations done over 20 years ago that supported this.
Dec. 31, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Anyone who bids 3NT with the given hand has a terrible bidding judgment. Also, You really shouldn't post the 2NT hand.

While I bid 4, those that bid 3 will have an easy path to 6 whether the openner bids 3 or 4.
Dec. 31, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
if after 3 partner bids 4 (showing 4 hearts and hand he likes for hearts) what will be your next bid
Dec. 31, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm going to bid slam unless partner only has 2 aces. A gamble but unless I have firm agreements, hard to find the spade stopper. 6 is up for consideration.
Dec. 30, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I have a problem with people thinking that the third hand shouldn't take his time to thinking about the hand on the first trick.

The problem here is we can't even evaluate the play as we don't know the whole hand. In this case just based on the suit an encouraging signal seems right but is the 7 high enough or do you need to play the 9. Also, might it be necessary to discourage becuase it was more important to set up a side trick (no way to know here).

Third hand should always take some time to play to the first trick no matter how obvious the actual play is. This is the time to think about the whole hand. I take my time even if I have a singleton. The point being is I play the singleton quickly partner would know I have a singleton.
Dec. 25, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I voted for 2 but if I thought it was a limit raise, I'd raise 2 to 4. The knowledge that you have a 9 card fit would make the hand good enough for 4 if you thought it was a limit raise to begin with.
Dec. 22, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
To me it shows the minors with good values. 2NT just wants to compete.
Dec. 21, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree with Eric here. It becomes a lot easier to make a play if you have seen or been taught the basic concept involved. Patterns are something I have always thought where important (maybe that is because I learned chess first where recognizing patterns is important).

A series of books by Pottage and Smith entilted “Golden rules of …” with a subtitle of ‘and when to break them’ never really seem to have been too popular in the US but they were a great series of books to learn patterns and rules and when the rules didn't apply (My favorite was the “Golden Rules of Defense”).

When an advancing player hasn't seen a certain type of position, it becomes very hard for them to find the right answer. As another example (different from this one), the concept of a “surround play” is only difficult for an advancing player if he has never seen it before but once shown becomes almost second nature.
Dec. 17, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Looks like I am in a minority here but don't think the play of the queen is that hard and isn't any harder than in a standard “par event” where the suit is lead by a partner who doesn't have much.
Dec. 16, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If I pass the 7 of spade holding what holding in spades am I hoping for if the Queen of hearts doesn't fall doubleton.
Dec. 15, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
A little confused here. I passed but do understand those that want to balance. What I don't understand is why I would double instead of bidding 2NT
Dec. 15, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sorry deleted my comment as I didn't realize you were talking about the modified hand on page 2
Dec. 12, 2018
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 50 51 52 53
.

Bottom Home Top