Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Niels Foged
1 2 3 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Standard for me too, but what about (1)-P-(1)-D, (2/)-2NT?
April 30
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Ben: there are 10 s and 7 s distributed between opponents hands (not 9 and 8, respectively as you mention). T (odd/discourage) indicates s are 5-5.
Nov. 22, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks Bill for also commenting on trumps 3-1, where Declarer's chances a priori seems to be KQ doubleton (any hand), K or Q singleton (LHO) or KT or QT or T (RHO) - all which require some correct “guessing”.
Catching 3 s and ruffing the may guide us: If LHO has 1 and 5 s (5125 vs 5332 or less likely 6115 vs 4342), or if RHO has 1 and 5 s (5332 vs 5125 or 6322 vs 4135).
Another thing to consider may be, if RHO, when you lead low from table, would ever play T from T5 (e.g. when holding 5-1-2-5)? Actually, it would be very wrong, since LHO then holds KQ8, but maybe (s)he noticed from your convention card, that your middle name is Chagas!
Nov. 22, 2018
Niels Foged edited this comment Nov. 22, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I should have mentioned: Opponent's general agreement is “udca”, so T tends to be odd/discourage.
Nov. 22, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
To Deb: After 1-3NT, 6 I doubt West will dare to duck the first heart with Kx - may not look so smart, if declarer has a 6-card -suit :)
Nov. 13, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Craig: You play control responses after 2, and therefore get to know about partner's A and missing K, already in 1st round - very nice, so you know very early, that you are not stopping before at least the 6-level.
On the other hand, unless you bid 2, your partner's response push you to the 3-level before natural bidding commence - not so very nice, and obviously demanding further agreements to what is cuebidding accepting opener's suit, and what is natural bidding from responder!

However, to get the best out of that situation, I would still recommend opener to bid 3 rather than 2:
1) Your partner may bid 4, then you can RKC and investigate Q/extra length(=4+) - that is if(?) you use RKC despite having shown controls!
2) Your partner may bid 3 naturally w/o support. Nothing lost, and you know he has 4+.
3) Your partner may bid 3NT (w/o support and most likely 3 or fewer ), in which case you may - depending on agreement be able to cuebid or RKC, while apparently insisting on as trump, which still makes Q a KC.
4) Your partner may bid 4Mi (natural or cuebid accepting according to your agreements) - then you continue as in 3) or 1), respectively.
In the end you may choose to correct to /NT on the 6-/7-level.
May 17, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You (and currently 55 unanimous Bridgewinners, who voted for T) are right!
Though A is the best play from AJ9, it gains no imps in this field. The only positive(?) effect of playing A first time is to show Declarer, what he is up against!
April 9, 2018
Niels Foged edited this comment April 9, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Not knowing the details of the newly developed artificial “SMART” system played by NS, I cannot reply to your comments, and even my suggestions of the meaning of the alerted bids are dubious. However, it seems clear that both North and South pushed (too) hard for slam. Probably South bid 4 because AQ in seemed to be two safe tricks after the Dbl of 4 by RHO.
April 9, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I believe a LHO holding AKJ9 in trump would try to force a trump on table by leading a 3rd round of , since his J would then secure 1 down in 5. Actually, this would not work since Opener surprisingly not only had doubleton , but also doubleton , and therefore could also trump in hand.
April 9, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Exactly Kieran, this was the simple point of my poll.

Actually, the national team level LHO did hold AJ9, but played low, so Declarer won the scary 5 easily.
I believe that holding the 9 (no chance of Declarer playing for finessing the J wrongly), and knowing that Declarer had exactly 4 in hand (no risk of partner holding K singleton), LHO should have played A first time to challenge Declarer.
April 9, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't like this post and its title: neither the OP's public “shoot first, ask questions later”-criticism of the commentator, nor his apparent unfortunate comment, which may have reflected a moment of poor bridge judgement (we have all made that), and/or a spontaneous joke, which came out poorly (we have all tried that).

However, I find the bidding interesting, not because of the route it took (it seems splendid to me), but because I have in similar situations playing with screens handed a note to my screenmate, when I made the trialbid (here: 3) stating: “I am not passing, if partner signs off!” (here: bids 3). I am not sure, if that is a correct/acceptable action, but the intention is obviously to avoid a suspicion of my bidding on (here: 4) being affected by UI, if the tray came back with a break in tempo.
March 17, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Don't worry Ian, this is great gymnastics!
March 15, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If Zia holds AA, you know that 14 is the right answer, but Zia does not! From his viewpoint, Declarer could hold AQ (12) and you could hold AQQQ, or Declarer could hold QQQ (12) and you could hold AAQ!
March 15, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
To Mike (Tanner, not Mike Declarer!), I agree with your calculation, but not with your conclusion:
If Zia holds AA, there would - seen from his side - be 12 combinations, where Declarer has 6 hcps beyond the shown 6 hcps (KK): AQ (2x4=8 ways) or QQQ (1x4=4 ways), but there would be 14 combinations. where Declarer has 8 hcps beyond the shown 6: AA (1x1=1 way) or AQQ (2x6=12 ways) or QQQQ (1x1=1 way).
However, I am quite sure Zia would not settle for a mere 54% guess of Declarer holding 14 hcps - when he can chose a psych-Pass, that probably(?) will cause you to misguess!

The corresponding chances - also seen from Zia's side - are:
If Zia holds AQQ: 6 combinations of 12 hcp and 6 combinations of 14 hcp
If Zia holds AAQ: 7 combinations of 12 hcp and 7 combinations of 14 hcp

PS: I believe Zia passed first round, since according to OP, Mike Declarer would immediately announce a loss or win for any active bid! Also my interpretation of the note from Mike Declarer is that Zia did pass (since he wasn't immediately declared winner or loser).
March 15, 2018
Niels Foged edited this comment March 15, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
3 for sure.
I play bridge for fun - and it will absolutely make my day, if LHO plays low from an original holding of J98.
I don't need a chance to come near 50%, if it can make my day!

PS: If I make this one, my bridge friends have to hear about it repeatedly for many years to come, so even 10% is fine!
Also I will try to explain the situation to friends, who don't know anything about bridge. They will not understand it, but they surely will recognize how it made me very happy!
March 3, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I do understand that the decision to win the trump lead immediately was made at the table, and not part of the problem posted by you, Jeppe!…
…however, I would have felt quite tempted to hold back A, and rather allow Declarer to make the first trick, and convey the problem(?) to him of what to lead in trick 2:
- either from table, where the suit chosen and partner's signal may help me find the right defense;
- or from hand, where Declarers decision to overtake Q with K will tell me a story about the quality of the trump suit, before I (most likely) get in on A.
Surely, I may have blown the defense's chances already, when not winning trick 1!
Feb. 23, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks Roland
This is an exciting board and article representing the best in bridge!
I believe Leif-Erik and you advocates - and I agree - that Declarer should plays when in on A (OBS Leif-Erik: not in on Q, since North took over J with K).
However, if we now swab A with one of partners s (93), the tempo is not really there for a squeeze, but maybe(?) Declarer will make it anyway. After the first 8 tricks (6-2 in Declarer's favor), Declarer can play J from table (duck in hand!) and continue with 2 (discarding 4 from hand):
North: T98(7) / - / (x) / 2
West: - / - / QT72 / J
East: Q4 /- / - /K97
South: - / - / J8y / T8
where x and y represents 3 and 9 either way.
If x=9, North must have discarded it on , in order not to becoming stepping stone, but South will be truly endplayed,…
…, but if x=3, South is actually endplayed, but Declarer will have a final guess, when South in on 8 continues with 9!
Feb. 15, 2018
Niels Foged edited this comment Feb. 15, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks Ben - and sorry for missing the information about 4 being a re-transfer.
Maybe, I can use this opportunity to ask a related, but more general question:
If re-transfer is agreed upon, will bidding of 4Ma be a cuebid in the suit used for transfer for example:
2-2, 2NT-3, 4-4=slammy with cue-bid in (but not in )
or
2NT-3, 3NT(3,not 4333)-4=slammy with cue-bid in (but not in minor)
Feb. 7, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The above bidding to 7 would have stopped at 4, if I was North. I would have assumed the 4 bid in South to be a hand without -CB, e.g.:
* KQx / AQx / Jx / AKQJx or
* KQxx / AQx / Jx / AKQJ or
* KQxx / AQ / Jx / AKQJx or…
The 4 rather than 4NT from North begs for a -stopper, and South's 4 denies it!
Feb. 6, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As I read it, West has 4 's (987“low”), so West is probably 4-5-0-4, 5-4-0-4 or maybe 3-6-0-4. West's discards of a and a indicates 5-4-0-4 (or 3-6-0-4!), since with 4-5-0-4 discarding 2 's seems simple and keeps the pressure on the 4th (in case Declarer has Kx in with 2-3-5-3 distribution!).
PS: West is very unlikely to hold 6's, since East would/should Lightner-Dbl with a -void.
Feb. 4, 2018
Niels Foged edited this comment Feb. 4, 2018
1 2 3 4
.

Bottom Home Top